Chevron Left
Back to Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
324 ratings
92 reviews

About the Course

How do children overcome hazardous experiences to succeed in life? What can be done to protect young people at risk from trauma, war, disasters, and other adversities? Learn about the importance of fostering resilience in children at risk. During this course, participants will: learn how trauma can affect children and the systems they depend on, gain insight into core concepts, research methods and lessons learned in last 50 years of resilience research, learn how research is being applied in the real world through interventions that promote resilience, and engage in discussions with others who are working with children at risk around the world Participants are welcome to take the MOOC at no cost or to register for a Course Certificate ($49). Those who register and earn a Course Certificate from Coursera also are eligible to sign up for continuing education clock hours through the University of Minnesota. Participants can earn 10 clock hours of continuing education credit (added cost $99) from the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. Go here http://z.umn.edu/1a5q to register for continuing education clock hours for completing this course....

Top reviews

Y

Feb 02, 2019

Wonderful and very well-detailed research-based course about resilience in children. Learned a lot from the splendid instructor. Very detailed and empowering course. Highly recommended.

YS

Jun 04, 2020

Professor Masten did a wonderful job explaining the concepts and delving well into all areas of resilience. The course was no less than classroom teaching. It was perfect.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 90 Reviews for Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

By Iryna G

May 21, 2017

Great course! Very informative and inspirational. Active learning, interractive forum discussions, interesting resources: readings and videos - everything was very interesting and ernriching.

By Yaqeen S

Feb 02, 2019

Wonderful and very well-detailed research-based course about resilience in children. Learned a lot from the splendid instructor. Very detailed and empowering course. Highly recommended.

By Matheus G d L

May 30, 2020

Este curso possibilitou que eu obtevesse uma melhor dimensionalidade dos estudos e programas focados na resiliência, potencializando o meu interesse pela área de Psicologia Infantil.

By YAMINI S

Jun 04, 2020

Professor Masten did a wonderful job explaining the concepts and delving well into all areas of resilience. The course was no less than classroom teaching. It was perfect.

By veronicazhang

Jan 19, 2017

Amazing course! It can inspire every professional who is interested in trauma- informed approach or who is working with populations experiencing traumas.

By Amanda B

Jun 06, 2020

Highly insightful. I love how the teacher touch every aspect part by part, giving one the chance to concentrate easily. I loved this course!

By Dheymy S

Apr 19, 2020

Dr. Ann Masten was outstanding and the material presented was engaging, valuable, and extremely practical for my work in the field.

By Carlos G S

Jan 08, 2019

Sencillamente genial. Tanto la profesora Masten como todo el diseño del curso ha permitido que ahonde mucho más en la resiliencia.

By Chris J

Sep 16, 2017

Diverse and insightful content, compelling readings, and valuable tools and frameworks - thoroughly absorbing and worthwhile.

By SONALI S

Jun 15, 2020

i would like to thank the team for introducing a course like this which is really helpful and provides good knowledge .

By Julia S M

Jul 23, 2020

Curso excelente! Bem estruturado, com boas leituras, estudos de casos e a professora é sensacional. Adorei.

By Nash P

Apr 21, 2020

I learned a lot. I enjoyed the references, the knowledge base and it will be of great use to me in my job.

By Camila S C

Jun 21, 2020

This course is wonderful and presents information that can cover a wide variety of realities.

By Jennifer N

Feb 26, 2020

This was an amazing course!! Wish I had a follow up course for it to explore more details.

By Zein A M

Apr 08, 2017

Very informative, full of live samples and interactive learning, highly recommending it!

By JOHN Q

Dec 14, 2016

INTERESTING COURSE WITH MATERIAL I'VE GIVEN LITTLE THOUGHT TO PRIOR TO THIS COURSE.

By Kirstie J

Jul 30, 2019

Really enjoyed the materia. The real life examples made the material relateable.

By SUSHIL K S V

Aug 07, 2019

Great course for beginning to understand how the Western World views Resilience

By Sharon G

Sep 14, 2019

Very interesting course to follow with much valuable data and research shared.

By Daniel M

May 21, 2020

A very good first approach to a very interesting branch of human behavior

By Angela M

Feb 24, 2020

I loved it! very well done and accessible to do after work1 thank you!!

By Catherine B

Sep 08, 2019

Amazing! Great Teacher and phenomenally enlightening course!

By Doreen M O

May 28, 2020

A great course was very impactful. I really learnt a lot.

By Emma A

Nov 29, 2018

Informative, inspiring and interactive learning platform!