Chevron Left
Back to Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
823 ratings
247 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to learn how to plan affordable and context-specific sanitation solutions? Be up-to-date on the newest developments in urban sanitation planning and programming? Get to know best practice examples of urban sanitation systems in low- and middle-income countries? If yes, this course is for you! This course provides you with an introduction to integrated sanitation planning, both on a citywide scale and for specific contexts such as informal settlements. You will become familiar with different sanitation planning frameworks as well as different systems and technologies relevant along the sanitation value chain. You will learn why systems’ thinking is crucial for urban environmental sanitation, and how to apply key terminology and important concepts. INSTRUCTION Eawag-Sandec and EPFL jointly offer this course with support from sanitation experts of the World Bank and WHO. LANGUAGES We simultaneously offer this course in English and French. The name of the French course is « Planification & Design des Systèmes et Technologies d’Assainissement ». MOOC SERIES This course is one of four in the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development"....

Top reviews

TN

Nov 20, 2016

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

FA

Sep 06, 2020

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 231 Reviews for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

By ABRIL M R V

Jun 17, 2018

Excelente curso, el material de lectura es impresionante, muy bueno.

By Oussama M K

Jan 14, 2017

I really enjoyed the course, in addition to that the course was very interactive, rich in information, professional and important to every day life. Me personally I am working in WASH Sector specialized in Water and Sanitation department and honestly this course enrich my information and I acquired knowledge of planning, design, technologies and many useful information.

I would thank course organizers for their contribution and effort, and hope we meet in other useful and interactive courses.

By Neal B

Jun 03, 2017

This course has an immense amount of knowledge packed into it. Additionally it opens the door to more knowledge by teaching about numerous other sources that are available. One of the most informative and enjoyable classes I have taken. It was also motivational in that My desires to work in this field have greatly increased. I am just about ready to quit my job, role up my sleeves and go to work in the third world.

By Indumati R p

Nov 19, 2016

I like the course very much because Petra Kohlar taught us in our class in India, and I was a part of GALS workshop. This integrated course on sanitation gave me much understanding and knowledge on sanitation. It's a complete package relevant for the sanitation planning in my city Tuljapur in India. Also it enabled me to think for my village sanitation. Big thumps up. :)

By Manish K S

May 23, 2017

The course is very well prepared for beginner and intermediate participants and will give more elaborate discussions about sanitation techniques and technologies. I am very happy to did the course.

By Nabil A T

Feb 01, 2020

I am glad that I enter this course because it increases my knowledge

By Daniel D

Mar 12, 2019

Great overview and grounding of sanitation systems and technologies!

By Ricardo A E

Dec 12, 2017

Parabéns pelo curso. É um curso bem completo, para quem deseja uma visão geral sobre sistemas de tratamento em geral. É legal que traz a abordagem de custos e disponibilidades, de forma que tira da cabeça aquela visão que sistema de tratamento deesgoto é aquele tradicional dos grandes centros. A única crítica que coloco é em relação a última semana. Muitas vezes parecia que estava vendo informações repetidas. O que não muda minha opinião quanto a qualidade do curso. Já indiquei para´várias pessoas inclusive e farei questão de pagar o certificado, não porque dou valor ao papel, mas como forma de contribuir para que o mesmo continue e que novos cursos sejam dados. Obrigado pelo curso e pelo material e parabéns pel

By Alfa E

Jan 27, 2017

J'ai obtenu ma licence en eau et environnement, ma passion c'est intervenir de quelque manière que ce soit dans l'amélioration de l'assainissement de mon pays, chaque bonne bonne idée que j'ai eu jusqu'à présent s'est vue démolie par de divers problèmes que ce domaine fait face. Avec ce cours je vois d'une manière globale mais aussi en détail le système de l'assainissement de nos villes dans toute leur complexité. A la fin de ce cours je suis certain de savoir quoi faire pour apporter ma contribution.

By LILIAN M Q L

Sep 11, 2020

A really great course!!, help me to realice new tools and be aware of technologies that can be applied in rural or urban areas, thank you much specially about the compedium, I'll continue learning and this is just the start, but I'm really thankful for all the issues that were explained, the cases of study were really helpful because they didn't show only great examples but also failures to know what we don't have to do, they were really helpful, and I'll continue with the other courses.

By Raghu S

Apr 24, 2018

Really its an amazing course.. the lectures are very helpful in theory and practical sessions and thematic sessions are very well I enjoyed the course and I learned a lot from these course. all the topic specialists are very nice teaching. thanking you all and thanks to all the Sandec-Eawag course instructors and team. Such an opportunity giving me to learn and earn a certificate in my career. special thanks to course era team.

By KIMBERLY K

Aug 22, 2018

This was a VERY good review of environmental engineering solid waste management course work I took as a post-graduate student many years ago. It augmented and fortified my understanding of current best-practices. I also appreciated the review of the case studies. I found the Zambian example to be the most exemplary presented, and successfully executed, as well as being a professionally produced and easy to follow presentation.

By Thais C M

May 18, 2020

It was a pleasant experience that brought me important tools and useful knowledge and I am sure it will help me in my carrier and in the work I am planning to do in my surroundings. Thank you very much, I wish all the best for the entire crew, professors and professionals involved in this project. Thank you for providing your time and your experiences with us here in the coursera.org, which I am also thankful for existing.

By Patrick K

Nov 15, 2016

I loved this course and it was vital to my learning and understanding of the world. I lived in Kibera for ten weeks and I learned that the number one thing that they need is clean toliets and proper sanitation. This course gave my skills and knowledge to help my career. It also put into context the problems and offered some solutions to what I saw in Kibera.

By Gujjuru M B

Jun 28, 2018

This course is very much useful to my research work. I currently pursuing PhD in GIS based optimization of sewage treatment facilities of Tirupati Smart City. The various sanitation systems and technologies described, their planning and design gives us an overall picture to tackle the recurring problems of sewage disposal. I strongly recommend this program.

By I N S

Nov 13, 2016

the course is very informative, we can learn all steps for sanitation planning and design in urban context. even though I have a lot experiences in water and sanitation issues either rural and urban areas but from this course i have more lesson learn about the key factor for success and learn from the failure that present in case study in this course.

By DIBYA J P

Apr 17, 2020

Very Interesting to learn about sanitation technologies. It was indeed deep-dive learning experiences. The materials provided for reading and references are so helpful that one can try out something in their own local areas....the instructors are helpful. More personal discussion with the instructor will create more clarification and motivation.

By Jamil Y

Oct 21, 2020

I have really enjoyed and I have gained valuable skills and knowledge by completing this course; the course and materials were helpful, authentic, organised and understandable. Thanks to the Coursera and University partners that provided this opportunity for those who are keen to learn and looking for developing their skills and knowledge.

By Mujjabi M M

Nov 19, 2016

This course was spot on for me; working in urban sanitation division for Ministry of water and environment Uganda, it has discussed some of the core issues and BOPS to adopt. The challenge up our sleeves is funding such infrastructural investments.

I hope to apply CLUES in the next towns we are starting water and sanitation systems.

By Rodrigo M

Nov 02, 2016

Thank you for the course. It was a great opportunity to learn more about sanitation, especially for low-income scenarios. I think it summarized well the major concepts, tools, technologies and steps for planning sanitation systems. I'm a Environmental Engineer student from Brazil e this certainly improved my knowledge.

By Edimilson R

Aug 12, 2020

This is a great course to everyone who wants both to learn more about sanitation in development countries or remember technologies involved in alternatives waste water treatment. I recommend that to all. There is a lot of data presented that make us forget about just "planning with pipes" to planning with people.

By Tshering P

Nov 17, 2016

Thank you all the presenters and the lecturers and off course the course era team .it has been a great experience and in fact got to learn a lot of things regarding the planning and designing of the sanitation system. hope i could use this knowledge gained in my professional services.

By AYUSH K

May 12, 2020

after completing this course i have understanding of proper sanitation facilities which are required as per user, and its collection facility. Also come to know about various case studies which are complted in various demographics. learn planning and design of sanitation facilities

By Libertad G V

Nov 08, 2016

I really enjoyed this course where I learned many practical things, I acquired some interesting skills to plan and design projects. The materials presented are really useful and interesting. I want to say thanks to the whole team and congratulate them for their excellent work

By Edkarl G

Nov 20, 2016

This online course provides a solid and holistic approach for the planning of sanitation systems and selection of technology options. The compiled materials are up to date and offer a good resource for students and researches, aspiring practitioners and seasoned