Chevron Left
Back to Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
487 ratings
171 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to learn how to plan affordable and context-specific sanitation solutions? Be up-to-date on the newest developments in urban sanitation planning and programming? Get to know best practice examples of urban sanitation systems in low- and middle-income countries? If yes, this course is for you! This course provides you with an introduction to integrated sanitation planning, both on a citywide scale and for specific contexts such as informal settlements. You will become familiar with different sanitation planning frameworks as well as different systems and technologies relevant along the sanitation value chain. You will learn why systems’ thinking is crucial for urban environmental sanitation, and how to apply key terminology and important concepts. INSTRUCTION Eawag-Sandec and EPFL jointly offer this course with support from sanitation experts of the World Bank and WHO. LANGUAGES We simultaneously offer this course in English and French. The name of the French course is « Planification & Design des Systèmes et Technologies d’Assainissement ». MOOC SERIES This course is one of four in the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development"....

Top reviews

TN

Nov 20, 2016

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

MS

May 23, 2017

The course is very well prepared for beginner and intermediate participants and will give more elaborate discussions about sanitation techniques and technologies. I am very happy to did the course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 156 Reviews for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

By ABRIL M R V

Jun 17, 2018

Excelente curso, el material de lectura es impresionante, muy bueno.

By Carlos M

Jul 14, 2019

Un curso bastante interesante y muy bien explicado, sumamente didáctico, sin la frontera del idioma, ya que sus videos están subtitulados así como los cuestionarios. Excelente servicio

By Edwin J E S

May 17, 2019

Nice and complete course.

By KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very interesting, well explained and illustrated

By Arnaldo M C

Apr 27, 2019

Très bons modules de formation. A proposer en advanced level et pas seulement en Intermédiaire si possible.

By Karen L R P

Apr 10, 2019

Excelente me encanto muchas gracias

By Daniel D

Mar 12, 2019

Great overview and grounding of sanitation systems and technologies!

By GLEN L

Dec 16, 2018

Extremely interesting and helpful in professional and personal life

By LEO K

Nov 26, 2018

A well-packaged, detailed, and practical course, thanks!

By Twesige J

Nov 23, 2018

Its an amazing experience with EAWAAG and hoping to attend more MOOC courses online

By FORAN C

Nov 04, 2018

VERY INFORMATIVE GUIDANCE .each and every individual must have the knowledge of planning and design of sanitation technologies then only goal of sustainable sanitation can be achieved

By Imad S

Sep 10, 2018

The aims of the course are carefully selected and its subjects explained in a fun and detailed manner. It is an advanced course.

By KIMBERLY K

Aug 22, 2018

This was a VERY good review of environmental engineering solid waste management course work I took as a post-graduate student many years ago. It augmented and fortified my understanding of current best-practices. I also appreciated the review of the case studies. I found the Zambian example to be the most exemplary presented, and successfully executed, as well as being a professionally produced and easy to follow presentation.

By Karl Z

Jun 30, 2018

Brilliant course. Synthetic but well done, description and design are accurate. I like it. I think that more tests would be useful for the teacher to value us and for us to get firm view point and feedback from our preparation . karl ziegler

By Gujjuru M B

Jun 28, 2018

This course is very much useful to my research work. I currently pursuing PhD in GIS based optimization of sewage treatment facilities of Tirupati Smart City. The various sanitation systems and technologies described, their planning and design gives us an overall picture to tackle the recurring problems of sewage disposal. I strongly recommend this program.

By Jemba M

Jun 12, 2018

Interesting public health course....try it

By Joaquin C F

Jun 03, 2018

Really useful !

By juan O

May 03, 2018

Very good

By Raghu S

Apr 24, 2018

Really its an amazing course.. the lectures are very helpful in theory and practical sessions and thematic sessions are very well I enjoyed the course and I learned a lot from these course. all the topic specialists are very nice teaching. thanking you all and thanks to all the Sandec-Eawag course instructors and team. Such an opportunity giving me to learn and earn a certificate in my career. special thanks to course era team.

By Jorge Z G

Apr 09, 2018

Quite interesting course, mainly because of the introduction to very useful material, such as the Compendium or the CLUES methodologies.

By Paul R H I

Apr 08, 2018

Excellent course!

By Pedro C H

Apr 04, 2018

A global vision of whole sanitation sistems including stakeholders, so useful procedures and very interesting examples.

I recommend this course for everyone who want to know more about sanitation, if your technician better but isn't a must at all

By Mimoun a

Mar 22, 2018

Welcome to the second of the two modules

on Citywide Sanitation Services

By VC v H

Mar 18, 2018

Very helpful, up to date and inspiring to follow!

By Ajay V B

Mar 01, 2018

The policy part of the course(last week) seems a bit dry.Apart from that, the course is informative.