Chevron Left
Back to Functional Programming in Scala Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Programming in Scala Capstone by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
462 ratings
80 reviews

About the Course

In the final capstone project you will apply the skills you learned by building a large data-intensive application using real-world data. You will implement a complete application processing several gigabytes of data. This application will show interactive visualizations of the evolution of temperatures over time all over the world. The development of such an application will involve: — transforming data provided by weather stations into meaningful information like, for instance, the average temperature of each point of the globe over the last ten years ; — then, making images from this information by using spatial and linear interpolation techniques ; — finally, implementing how the user interface will react to users’ actions....

Top reviews

MP

Sep 08, 2019

The capstone project has done a fantastic job of drilling in some of the important fundamentals taught in the rest of the courses. It is definitely worth taking if you've done the rest of the courses.

KB

Jun 14, 2017

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 78 Reviews for Functional Programming in Scala Capstone

By Denys L

Jan 03, 2019

This is the hardest course of this Specialization, but I enjoyed it anyway. Thanks!

By Jonathan W

Mar 05, 2019

Thanks to the staff for any help, especially during a busy end of year

By John S

Mar 12, 2019

Very fun and enjoyable project!

By Subodh C

Mar 28, 2019

Thanks for designing the course.

By Henoc M

Sep 25, 2017

Great course!

By Ghicheon L

Jun 16, 2017

very gooooooooooooooood!

well organized!

thanks! :)

see you !

By Alexandr T

Apr 30, 2017

Im not finished yet, but its really nice one. Much place to play with data and optimization beyond actual course requirements. Lot of freedom in implementation wich is great. Ive already learned a lot and planning to spend time playnig with Observatory project further just for fun and experience. Thank you so much for this opportunity! :)

By IURII B

Aug 07, 2017

Thanks

By Pyshchev N

Jul 14, 2017

I love functional programming! that's fun and an great expirience!

By Clayton L

Apr 28, 2017

Incredibly well put together. The capstone project is a great exercise in assimilating all the knowledge from the other related courses in function programming package. I like that I had to learn about interesting algorithms like the Mercator projection and inverse-distance weighting.

By William H

Sep 23, 2017

Outstanding set of courses.

Just to counter comments about grader stability and lack of grader feedback - I never encountered this in any of the 5 courses.

By Jakub T m G

Jun 27, 2017

Great Hands on

By Carlos L L

Jun 23, 2017

Excellent

By Hessam S M

Apr 13, 2018

Excellent way of ending this specialization. This course covered almost everything was taught during the other 4 courses and gave a concrete real world usage of it. It helps to see the knowledge in action in a very cool way. Definitely take this course, the feeling of satisfaction at the end alone makes it worth the effort.

By Douglas N

Apr 30, 2017

Phenominal course! Well organized, good pace, great combination of "practical theory" with examples that illustrate the concepts. and very clear well-thought out explanations by Dr. Miller. Best Spark class I've seen, and best class in this series (sorry, Dr. Odersky).

By Diego D W M

May 07, 2018

Awesome project!. It is not only wrapping all the previous concepts in a real use case, but also introducing a lot of different algorithms! Calculate deviations, spatial interpolation, great-circle distance, inverse distance weighting, etc.

By Kevin B

Jun 14, 2017

Good course, some of the assignments could have been more explicit with expectations in cases where specific implementation details matter but the forums were helpful in that regard anyways.

By Артем К

Nov 06, 2017

Let's start with cons. Not often, but one have confusing exercise explanation(method docs contradict with assigment text), sometimes explanation is unclear in general. Too much geo math and in general course exercises look like "realize some formulae" definition. Grading tests output basically useless and it's sad. Tests must be the main point that explains proper way to right implementation and at some point being spec explanation.

But some pros for me exist. Geospatial is not one of my biggest-fav-domain, but it was interesting to dive into the new fields. The next thing is the oportunity to work with some kind of real world data processing scala application, it was quite interesting.

I give it four stars and a half. At the end my feelings tell me that I rather like this course than not. Yes, it has some certain rough edges, but this course help you to level up your scala and spark skills and to fill one's hand.

In the end I want to give some advices. If grader falls with out of memory, try to optimize extraction code. Spark is not always the right tool for all cases. Also, Spark has awesome web ui where you could watch what happens and where is main bottlenecks. Write your own tests... even simple test can help to find out bugs that you could think is not expected. That's all. Thanks for the good course.

By 재문 심

Jun 04, 2017

week 2,3 very hard......

By Eric L

Jun 02, 2017

Well structured. Interesting subject.

By Mykola S

Sep 29, 2017

Great course and specialization! Many thanks!

By Gaius C

Apr 14, 2017

A lot of fun and a working project at the end with which to experiment with various parallelism strategies.

By Roberto S

Jul 18, 2017

Kind of a long homework, quite open-ended in the sense that implementations are not guided step by step by the instructor. Some of the tasks can be approached in different ways and can be quite challenging at time.

By CHUI C H

Aug 15, 2017

Learn a lot about functional programming and spark, it inspires me how the data could be process in big data world.

By Andrew K

Apr 06, 2017

Thank you! Learned a lot!