Chevron Left
Back to Science of Exercise

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science of Exercise by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
4,102 ratings

About the Course

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Top reviews

BO

Oct 3, 2020

An exceptionally great course. I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks to the organizers for making these as easy and simple as possible. Now I can live a more healthy lifestyle with the principles learned!

NT

Apr 14, 2020

Love everything about this course. Nice module. Professor is really nice. However, I need to learn further about weight training (Pros, cons , etc). Looking forward to attend in weight training class.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,376 Reviews for Science of Exercise

By MR. P J

Jul 5, 2020

nice course for gaining knowledge.

By Tim E

May 4, 2020

Excellent course. It was fast pa

By VIDISHA M

Jun 24, 2020

It's very brief and informative.

By Alicia F

Jun 30, 2020

Great class....I learned alot!

By Yevgeniya B

Jul 9, 2020

Great course!Very informative

By Rakshita S

Jul 7, 2020

Absolutely loved the course !

By RUMAISA A

Jul 12, 2020

Helpful and so informative.

By Kerollos G P N

Jun 22, 2020

very useful great course...

By Deborah A D

Jun 26, 2020

Well discussed.

By MD A R A

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent !!!

By إبراهيم ا

Jul 6, 2020

Very helpful

By Sajith J

Jul 1, 2020

very useful

By mphatso l

Jul 8, 2020

helpful

By Rogelio I C

Jun 21, 2020

Perfect

By Aravind

Jul 9, 2020

Good

By Marianna M

Feb 24, 2022

T​he first three weeks of the course were very informative. As a senior endurance runner I appreciate knowing the science beyond the many training adaptations my coaches have offered. The course more than reinforced some of the practices I have learned in the past 10 years. For anyone who enjoys distance racing - i.e. half and full marathons this is excellent.

T​he discussion forums were not helpful. No real exchange of info and very old posts by the course mentors. The final course peer assessment was a waste. As a teacher I found the grading criteria basic and less than I would expect from high school students. All the students had to do was copy about 3 slides verbatim. Even though the sample given asked for a comp review of physiological, biometric and training adaptations, full points were awarded for much more than that. Have to wonder which mentor wrote the grading criteria and suggest that course instructor review the sample situation given and revamp what is an acceptable answer. The responses I graded evidenced no real comprehension of all the factors.

By Pravin R

Aug 28, 2017

(+ves)

Video material and presentation was good. Content was just right.

Schedule for course was reasonable.

(-ves)

Video vs transcript errors were seen. Couple of exercise questions also seemed to be incorrect. Some mistakes are not as critical as others for e.g. "fast" instead of "fats" vs. "anaerobic" instead of "aerobic"

Support from the instructors/moderators was minimal. Very less to nil interactive sessions with the course moderators/instructor. Some terms used in the videos had to be referred outside of Coursera for better clarity.

Final assignment is a big concern. Am not happy with the methodology of evaluatiing as I found atleast 2 people plagiarising. Am not sure how many peers would recognise this. What if one of the peer reviewer has plagiarised?

By Alisa K

Apr 19, 2020

I learned a lot from this course! One star has been taken off because the grading rubric for the final assignment was not properly communicated prior to submission and some of the nutrition facts are outdated. That said, I found this course to be challenging in a good way!

By Harm t M

Apr 17, 2020

It was not as in-depth as I hoped it would be, but I still learned a lot about how the endocrine, respiratory, cardiovascular and metabolic systems work together during one-time and regular exercise. Very interesting!

By Carlos E C M

Feb 2, 2022

Good content but too dense at times. I thought this was aimed at all types of learners but seems like it's more for professionals, not so much for the casual learner or amateur athlete. The BIGGEST downside is that the course was supposed to be free but you have to upgrade and pay for a certificate to be able to complete the week's assessments AND submit your final assignment to complete the course... which will never be possible if you don't upgrade.

By Christi F

May 16, 2020

This was a good course, but some of the links were out of date, and some of the activities were impractical (i.e. requiring data from a blood test). For example, the USDA Supertracker no longer works. The lectures were interesting and informative. The suggested readings took many hours and the suggested time for those activities was vastly underestimated. On top of that, there was no reference to the readings anywhere else in the course.

By Donna V

Jun 15, 2020

Course content was very informative. However, to be made to pay £39 to be able to do the course then at the end have peers grade your assignment you then have to do 3 yourself for a non credited certificate is a bit disappointing especially when I was able to do one previously including all tests without being made to pay.

By Deleted A

Jul 19, 2020

Online courses are supposed to be creative! However, this one is not! #boring

By darla m

Jun 17, 2020

No option to show course is completed without certificate unless upgrade is made

By Shreena V

Nov 2, 2019

expired course without even informing ..atleast reminder set should be there