Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Secure Coding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Secure Coding by University of California, Davis

4.3
stars
57 ratings
18 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the principles of secure programming. It begins by discussing the philosophy and principles of secure programming, and then presenting robust programming and the relationship between it and secure programming. We'll go through a detailed example of writing robust code and we'll see many common programming problems and show their connection to writing robust, secure programs in general. We’ll examine eight design principles that govern secure coding and how to apply them to your own work. We’ll discuss how poor design choices drive implementation in coding. We’ll differentiate between informal, formal, and ad hoc coding methods. Throughout, methods for improving the security and robustness of your programs will be emphasized and you will have an opportunity to practice these concepts through various lab activities. A knowledge of the C programming language is helpful, but not required to participate in the lab exercises....

Top reviews

SS

Feb 17, 2020

The course was an exceptional one. And helped me to lot to understand what Robust and Secure coding really means. Thank you so much tutor.

SJ

Sep 03, 2019

Matt Bishop is an excellent Secure Coding Trainer. I enjoyed the sessions all the way and it was totally engaging with practical examples.

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Principles of Secure Coding

By Sanjeev J

Sep 03, 2019

Matt Bishop is an excellent Secure Coding Trainer. I enjoyed the sessions all the way and it was totally engaging with practical examples.

By Sayan S

Feb 17, 2020

The course was an exceptional one. And helped me to lot to understand what Robust and Secure coding really means. Thank you so much tutor.

By Paolo D R

Feb 26, 2020

Very interesting course! The teacher is very clear and provides clear and useful samples! For sure I recommend it!

By Rameshkumar A

Jan 05, 2020

Nice course for secure coding.

Learnt how the code should be and how the code should not be.

By Giorgio B

Oct 28, 2019

Very good overview of Secure Coding principles!

By Rhicha S

Mar 27, 2020

Course content is really good, well explained.

By 😷<img s o

Nov 04, 2019

Good Foundational Learning for secure coding.

By GuoweiYin

Feb 24, 2020

I learned a lot, Thanks very much.

By Mohankumar S

Dec 11, 2019

Very good videos

By Vijay V

Jan 21, 2020

Great course!

By Woratham N

Nov 25, 2019

Thanks a lot

By Samantha P C F

Dec 03, 2019

Good

By Tobias A

Oct 13, 2019

Good introduction, at times the explanations are a bit dry and lengthy. A couple more real world stories would spice things up and make principles more memorable.

By Pradeep K S

Jan 29, 2020

A good course on secure and robust programming

By Manu A

Jan 02, 2020

a good introduction to the specialization

By Pranjal G

Feb 21, 2020

Good one

By Philippe T

Feb 09, 2020

Good introduction of fundamentals. Basic concepts are very well explained. Practices classes are less useful as there are some missing explanations/in-depth analysis to catch the whole picture.

By Ben

Nov 07, 2019

I felt the scope of this course is too narrow and focussed mainly one a few examples in C code. I would've got more out of it and found it more interesting if the scope was broader and the examples were a higher level, perhaps written in pseudo-code.

By MD B

Mar 02, 2020

0