Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science with R by IBM Skills Network

4.2
stars
77 ratings

About the Course

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL and R languages. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning. As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs, you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and R. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, R, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

SS

Oct 28, 2022

Well designed course with exposure to ODBC and JDBC...

AN

Apr 11, 2022

Very useful course for those who wants to learn SQL.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for SQL for Data Science with R

By Pratham D

Jul 22, 2021

The teaching part is not so good when it comes to teach how to install the drivers and create a connection and the project part is the worst of all the staff doesn't seems to care and give a reply to your errors or problems and it takes a lot more time to get it graded....really a bad experience with this course won't ever recommend this to anyone

By Siyabonga K

Dec 12, 2021

Poor quality IBM wants people to insert their credit card when in this course they charge $200. Also the are a lot of problems in completing this course I could not complete it because the staff members say they are working on a solution but it has been months and no solution to address the problems especially the credit card issues.

Also one can not interact with the instructors and the staff through MS Teams or Zoom to address common problems you are only allowed to send text messages through the forum which is not time efficient.

I would not recommend this course there are problems which prevent one from completing the course.

By Thirafie R R

Feb 21, 2022

Many lab can't open

By Milcah M J

Jul 12, 2021

The course was well-structured, informative and easy to follow. One suggestion for improvement I have is that a cheat-sheet or catalogue of sorts be provided within the course, which collates all the coding and syntax from the course onto one single space.

This is especially helpful while taking up the course as part of the specialization series. It isn't easy to remember precise code syntax after just one or two uses of a function. As I progressed through the courses in the specialization, I found myself having to return to previous courses and comb through the hands-on labs to retrieve specific codes, functions and syntaxes. This was time-consuming and wasteful, and can easily be remedied by a list of codes (with syntax) used in an entire course.

Apart from that, great effort by the team, and a big thank you to the creators, developers, moderators and testers!

By Rafael P

Sep 28, 2021

I would put this a 3.5 instead of a three, but there is no option for that and i do not think it is a 4. The main problem with this course was that they threw at you a lot of complex concepts, functions and operations without letting you practice. Then, at the end, they put a practice lab in which you have to wrap up everything which you have learned, evidently, given the fact that this is a lot of things, you have forgotten things already. Also, there are some things that they never explain, for example the command sqlSave was never mentioned in the videos, and appears randomly at the lab. In the end, you can learn a lot of things with this course, but from week 4 and forward you will have to put a big autonomous effort to understand things correctly. Week 1 to 3 are ok, though week 1 and 2 are somewhat redundant

By Yusuf Z

Jan 17, 2022

This course is quite thorough and made me fall in love with SQL. The instructions are simple and you get to practice everything in the lab sections. I cannot wait to work with my newly acquired skills.

By Sumit

Oct 29, 2022

Well designed course with exposure to ODBC and JDBC...

By Christopher J

Feb 10, 2023

While some of the course material is great, there are some parts that require you to have more knowledge than what is being taught. I was under the impression that I would learn everything during the courses. Some of the information in the courses are not available and looking up some answers will give you information information from different systems. This would be a 5 star course if there was more information on some subjects and the right information for others.

By Sorravith J

Mar 15, 2022

You computer should run windows to make it easier, if mac it's a bit harder and involve a lot of googling. Also information about Db2 is so not cleared. The course let you look it in the website yourselves and then the website also is not cleared and not user friendly. BigQuery from Google is way better and easier. But the SQL concept of the first part of the course is good and understandable.

By Maheshwari M

May 17, 2022

Videos are informative, praticing lab very helpful but one thing is not good about this course that is getting so many errors while running the queries. not able to complete the assginment because of error. Even after using same queries recommanded in lab its not working in juypter. its quite irritative

By Charles B

Mar 16, 2023

Would it really be a problem to include videos on how to install/implement tools and labs? IBM labs is - by far - the least user-friendly solution for learners compared to courses on Coursera offered by IBM's competitors. I had huge problems with ALL of their labs on all of their modules, and where possible use external tools to perform exercises e.g. in R Studio/MySQL. The IBM support is poor (wait for days on responses to requests for help) and even worse is their Cloud assistant who navigates you to a new page to perform some corrective task & then... disappears. Attention to the user experience is minimal/non-existent, fulfilling course exercise is mind-blowing frustrating, and the whole experience inspires zero confidence in IBM.

By Akmal H

Feb 27, 2023

I recently completed the SQL for Data Science with R course on Coursera and I wanted to express my sincere appreciation and gratitude to the course instructors and Coursera team for putting together such an excellent learning experience. The course was well-structured, comprehensive, and provided me with a strong foundation in SQL and data science.

By Michael G

Jan 3, 2023

Ich habe 5 Sterne vergeben, da dieser Kurs top ist.

Leider muss ich das gesamte Kursmaterial in deutsch übersetzen, was es für mich schwerer macht und da mit etwas mehr Zeit kostet.

By Anvar N

Apr 12, 2022

Very useful course for those who wants to learn SQL.

By Janier R

Sep 22, 2022

NIce cours. Thank you

By Sand b

Oct 7, 2022

Superb topics!

By Wahab A

Feb 27, 2023

Best course.

By Odra I M

May 31, 2022

I really like the course. Only I think that need to improve the final project, inlcude a little more information in each problem.

By Hichem D

Mar 5, 2022

This skills in this course are easy to learn, the simplicity of the materials is what I like the most about IBM courses.

By Sophie T

Mar 26, 2022

The content of the course was very good!

By Shubham

Jan 31, 2022

Good

By Muhammad S

Mar 28, 2023

I have problem while accessing IBM cloud I had written to the service center many times but the problem still exist. I would say this course is totally wasted my time. I am rating is "One Star just to submit my review Only" otherwise this does not event deserve one star. Thanks.