Chevron Left
Back to Strategic Innovation: Building and Sustaining Innovative Organizations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategic Innovation: Building and Sustaining Innovative Organizations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
295 ratings
50 reviews

About the Course

Innovation strategy is about creating unique value for consumers by delivering a great product that satisfies their needs and capturing value back from consumers. At the core of a successful innovation strategy is a great product concept. Product is an all-encompassing term that includes physical goods, intangible services, and even ideas. There are three pillars to a successful product strategy: a clear understanding of (a) the target customers (WHO), (b) the specific elements of the product offering (WHAT) that satisfies consumer needs and dovetails with company capabilities, and (c) the tactical plans to reach end consumers (HOW). The value proposition has to be embedded in a coherent business model in order to create and capture value. But well-laid innovation plans can go awry without a consideration of the business ecosystem that includes competitors, collaborators, including suppliers, distributors, and retailers, or the contextual environment in which the company operates. In an interdependent world, fostering an integrated ecosystem is critically important for companies interested in maximizing the odds of innovation success. Drawing from many years of research, this course will offer a set of frameworks, tools, and concepts in order to develop innovative strategies in a holistic way so as to achieve leadership positions....

Top reviews

T

Nov 05, 2019

I very much enjoyed completing my first course in coursera! It was very convenient with my schedule and I will be continuing these courses until I receive full completion in this particular course.

GL

Feb 21, 2019

The course is great! The product cycle, business model and the tool that this Innovation course offers makes total sense and are useful to help you track your way to success on innovation segment.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 47 Reviews for Strategic Innovation: Building and Sustaining Innovative Organizations

By Tommaso L P

Jan 02, 2019

I would like to thank the organisers of the course for the overall outstanding quality of the course. The content is very informative and goes straight to the point. It is perfect as an introduction to the essentials of strategic innovation. I really appreciated the extensive use of examples, it helped not only to efficiently assimilate the concepts but also to view popular brands in a very different way! As for criticism, I would only suggest to add descriptions under the slides for each module, so that reviewing the classes can be easier. Thanks again!

By anil p s

Jan 05, 2019

Great course!

By Gilnei J L

Feb 21, 2019

The course is great! The product cycle, business model and the tool that this Innovation course offers makes total sense and are useful to help you track your way to success on innovation segment.

By Muthukumar S

Feb 25, 2019

Good and interesting Course

By Naveen S

Mar 17, 2019

Great Faculty, information, knowledge. Thanks to you and to Coursera!

By Eduardo J Q C

Nov 27, 2018

Great material. The instructor is awesome as well.

By Sandeep K

Apr 06, 2019

Great Learning Experience!

By Mustafa A H

Apr 09, 2019

c

r

e

a

t

ive innovative

By Josh M

Feb 19, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. The content is presented well and the examples are well chosen. I can't wait to dive back in to the next course.

By Manuel M

May 11, 2018

Awesome relevant content.

By Jeff H

Apr 09, 2018

I absolutely loved this course! Highly recommended.

By Dima S

Nov 01, 2017

Very nice one!

By Andrew C

Apr 05, 2018

Great class! Innovation is key to sustainability.

By Steve W

Apr 24, 2017

Great videos; clear communication

By M M

May 20, 2017

One of the better courses I've taken. Combined with UIUC live sessions (for iMBA students), the content makes even more sense and has much better relevance.

By Pierre L

Apr 10, 2018

Great course! One of the best course of the iMBA program.

By Steven M

Aug 28, 2018

Exceptionally helpful and interesting class! Great content, engaging instructor, and well produced videos.

By Hani A

Oct 04, 2018

Really Great Course

By Mariana I

Sep 17, 2018

Good course to start understanding how innovation works and its impact.

By Emeka J E

Apr 25, 2019

Great and empowering course for innovation.

By Alejandra A A

May 13, 2019

The course provides valuable insights and tools with which get to a better understanding of the process of sustainable innovation and competition.

By Kyoung H P

Apr 15, 2019

This class is an innovative course! I enjoyed a lot during taking the course!

By zubin v

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent. Practical. Put to Use immediately

By Andriy V

Apr 22, 2019

Amazing professors, amazing content, well worth your time!

By Swapnil D

Jun 24, 2019

I absolutely liked this course. The content is very relevant and is well paced for self-learning. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand strategic innovation.