Chevron Left
Back to Public Health Perspectives on Sustainable Diets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Public Health Perspectives on Sustainable Diets by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
74 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

What we eat and how we produce that food have significant effects on human health and the sustainability of our planet. But what is a ‘sustainable’ diet? A sustainable diet, as defined by the FAO, promotes health and well-being and provides food security for the present population while sustaining human and natural resources for future generations. This short course looks at the urgent need to address the sustainability of our food systems, including better understanding the complex relationship between diet and climate change. We’ll explore current research on dietary shifts needed in high, middle, and low-income countries to achieve both sustainability and food security goals and discuss evidence-based strategies to promote sustainable diets. This course is offered by the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future and draws from our graduate-level food systems curriculum at the Bloomberg School of Public Health. You may also be interested in our eight-week flagship Coursera course, “An Introduction to the US Food System: Perspectives from Public Health”....

Top reviews

RJ
Apr 14, 2021

I learned so may things from this course which can be applied in the practical world. it's these kinds of courses that should be taught in school/university to reach the wider community. Many thanks,

KT
Mar 16, 2021

Great course that everyone should be taking. It really highlights the effects of food on the environment and what methods we can do to prevent and combat climate change. I love the course

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Public Health Perspectives on Sustainable Diets

By Ana C V L

Jan 23, 2021

This course is definitely a MUST-LEARN.

It equipped me with information that is extremely important and up-to date, about what it is to consume a sustainable, healthy diet and its impact on the planet.

Its well-structured, thought-provoking material left me questioning and understanding the specifics on what we must do as a society in order to keep our planet safe, and get a better health while doing it.

I strongly believe that this course material should be taught in schools. Even better, everyone should do it, regardless on the background.

A must-do. Definitely recommend!

By Lina F L

Feb 14, 2021

I really appreciated the in-depth knowledge about all the different aspects of sustainability when it comes to what we eat and grow. Even after the first few presentations, I found myself sharing the information with friends and family. As a dietitian and avid environmentalist, much of the topics covered in this course I already knew a lot about, but not to this extent. It was greatly helpful to see these comparisons explained in graphics, and to really get an idea of where we are headed unless we change the way we put food on the table.

By Aedrian A

Jan 12, 2021

This is an engaging and concise course on food systems and their public health and environmental implications. As a casual learner on the topic at this point, I learned a lot on the details of the growing problems emphasized and absorbed at least a thing or two on doing my little part in addressing what turns out to be an existential issue. Furthermore, the course is abound with ideas for interdisciplinary research. I am looking forward to enroll in the mentioned flagship course as soon as my time permits.

By Raineer B J

Apr 15, 2021

I learned so may things from this course which can be applied in the practical world. it's these kinds of courses that should be taught in school/university to reach the wider community. Many thanks,

By Khai T T

Mar 16, 2021

Great course that everyone should be taking. It really highlights the effects of food on the environment and what methods we can do to prevent and combat climate change. I love the course

By Carolina R a

Feb 11, 2021

I found the course very informative, inspiring and professional. I would highly recommend it. I did gain a broader view on the topic and cemented fundamental ideas.

By TAMBA Z Q 1

Apr 2, 2021

All in one word, Coursera is very good, most especially the topic or subject under discussion was great and it thought a very perfect lesson.

By S G

Jan 29, 2021

Very interesting and useful informations concerning sustainability and our path to a more sustainable and fair world

By Lotte v B

Dec 21, 2020

Great sources, and nice you can see the sources for yourself in the additional readings!

By Casperat

Jan 17, 2021

Good, concise, effective information. Great lectures and data presentation. Thanks!

By Agwuigbede C V

Dec 11, 2020

If you are interested in food systems and public health then take this course.

By NIKOLOPOULOU M F

Apr 13, 2021

Really useful course for Dietetic students!

By Juanita P D V

Mar 2, 2021

Love it! Very useful information

By Jessica C

Dec 23, 2020

Thank you for the opportunity.

By Adriana F

Feb 18, 2021

I learnt a lot. Thank you!

By Charles R

Feb 10, 2021

Great course. Love it.

By Dr. Z N

Feb 6, 2021

Very nice course

By Innara

Jan 21, 2021

Thank You !

By Federica Q

Apr 17, 2021

Brilliant!

By Alicia F

Feb 1, 2021

Great!

By asish s

Jan 30, 2021

good

By Margarita C

Feb 15, 2021

Fabulous course about what we know now regarding sustainable diets. I would have given it five stars if it addressed knowledge gaps and areas of further research needed regarding changing dietary habits! Wonderful course and so important.

By Jane E S

Dec 31, 2020

The material was excellent. It is clear that a great idea of thought and effort went into the preparation of the course.

By Lori W

Mar 18, 2021

Professor was reading everything, not a lot of learning going on here. Some charts weren't legible, too small, too much information in a small space. I feel anyone could have taught this course just by reading the text. I dropped out before finishing