Chevron Left
Back to Introduction To Swift Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction To Swift Programming by University of Toronto

3.9
1,230 ratings
317 reviews

About the Course

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top reviews

SI

Jan 14, 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU

Jan 31, 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 312 Reviews for Introduction To Swift Programming

By

Dec 06, 2018

This course is severely out of date, it requires Xcode 7 and swift 2. As I write this the current versions are Xcode 10 and Swift 4. Xcode 7 can't even be run on the latest versions of MacOS.

By Christian L P S

Dec 08, 2018

It looks good, but it's not updated. They are talking about swift 2 coming soon when the newest version is swift 4.2.

By Adilson M

Apr 26, 2019

The course is not updated - the version of Xcode cannot be higher than 7.3.1, but this version is not compatible with latest macOS Mojave.

In my opinion this course should be updated or removed from the list of paid specialization.

By Phil P

Mar 28, 2019

The course uses Swift 2.x and Xcode 7.x. These are versions from 2016 and certain aspects of both Swift and Xcode have changed dramatically, to the point where one of the sample playgrounds just doesn't work with new versions. At the time of writing, it is 2019 and the gap is just too big for something that should be relatively easy to update.

By Vincenzo T

Feb 28, 2019

Sadly very outdated. You can't install Xcode 7.3.1 on Mojave.

By Filip V

Nov 22, 2018

Good course, but could really use updating to latest Swift version. Xcode 7.3.1 can't even be run on macOS Mojave, resulting in a lot of people submitting their assignment with newer version, which then can't be run in 7.3.1 making grading others impossible.

By Benoit C

Feb 19, 2019

Great introduction. Nonetheless, removing the 5th star as it is based on a quite old version of Swift

By victor t y

Jan 20, 2019

excellent course, you should update to swift 4 but excellent experience

By Hitesh P

Jun 04, 2019

Not updated. Does not work with new mac versions

By Tanzim A

May 30, 2019

This course is seriously outdated. It runs on Xcode 7 and swift 2, while the swift 5 is here!

By Kishore A

May 27, 2019

With in short course covered the things that are required for basic swift programming. Basic information provided about the xcode tool and the shortcuts to be used. Looking forward for more interesting content in future topics.

By Stolyarenko K

Mar 12, 2019

Simple Base course

By V.A A

Mar 06, 2019

Good learning online course for freshers.

By Polimatica s

Feb 19, 2019

I learned all the basics to program in IOS, even something more

By Rengaraju B

Jan 26, 2019

Very good course

By sourabh r

Jan 13, 2019

good

By Bernardo A P d M

Jan 09, 2019

Interesting course. Problem: outdated version of XCode is recommended.

By Danish K

Dec 05, 2018

very Good

By Amrit M S

Nov 25, 2018

Should have been updated, but it is in old version.

By Mustafa A

Nov 05, 2018

Not for absolute beginners in programming, and very poor content.

By waqas j

Oct 30, 2018

Excellent course to start programming in IOS

By zuhair a

Oct 30, 2018

Content is not updated as course asks us to use xcode 7.3.1 and its not even supported by macos mojave

By Arjun R

Oct 21, 2018

Awesome!

By Chithra S

Aug 19, 2018

great course. but it would be very great if it's on latest swift

By Akarsh S

Jul 22, 2018

I was able to understand the programming concepts of Swift. Thank you for making this course.