Chevron Left
Back to The Data Science of Health Informatics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Science of Health Informatics by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
178 ratings

About the Course

Health data are notable for how many types there are, how complex they are, and how serious it is to get them straight. These data are used for treatment of the patient from whom they derive, but also for other uses. Examples of such secondary use of health data include population health (e.g., who requires more attention), research (e.g., which drug is more effective in practice), quality (e.g., is the institution meeting benchmarks), and translational research (e.g., are new technologies being applied appropriately). By the end of this course, students will recognize the different types of health and healthcare data, will articulate a coherent and complete question, will interpret queries designed for secondary use of EHR data, and will interpret the results of those queries....

Top reviews

MM

Jun 9, 2020

It gave me a very in dept understanding of different DataBases and how they are being used in the modern health care space. I would recommend it to someone who has some experience in health care.

ML

Mar 21, 2021

Definitely the best course in this specialization. Lots of tangible and good resources for health practitioners to learn how to pull data and function within the U.S. Health Informatics universe.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for The Data Science of Health Informatics

By Karinne C M

May 6, 2020

I´m very disappointed! I´ve been waiting my final grade for a week now. I just can´t conclude this because I need someone to review my report. That´s a big flaw - there must be someone from Coursera´s team to review it! I really regret the money I spent on this.

By Mitul

Jun 10, 2020

It gave me a very in dept understanding of different DataBases and how they are being used in the modern health care space. I would recommend it to someone who has some experience in health care.

By Smita S

Aug 4, 2020

The data query or fetching information from sources can be explored more.

By ALI H B

Jul 2, 2020

best information with good teaching staff during all this course i was thinking to to john hopkins university to continue my education

By GINA L H

Mar 16, 2022

The material presented and the instructors ARE great , but the assigment is not toally clear, plus not all the resoruces to use are available. It was rally hard to finish this assigmente when there was not all the data for the statistics. Finally, Iwas waiting almost 2 weeks to be graded, I had to res-submit my assigment

By Muhammad A

Jul 6, 2020

The part where we need to submit the assignment and peer review the submissions, that part is NOT user friendly , you need to improve the textual help and instructions for the students

By Levin Y

Aug 20, 2022

While I enjoy and appreciate the (paid) opportunity to learn and expand my knowledge with the highly professional team from Johns Hopkins University, I will not recommend it to anyone who wishes to gain the certificate. This specialization in general and the last course, "Culminating Project in Health Informatics", in specific are using the "peer-grade" method, which in theory is great. Still, it is not practical, so learners had to wait and bag in a shameful way for other learners to evaluate their work. Some "waiting to be reviewed" are over two years old.

By Catherine F

Mar 29, 2021

Good course! Have enjoyed all the presenter's lectures. The peer-reviewed assignments are a little frustrating. In two courses now have had to wait a long time for grading in order to complete the course. Some peer grades have marked the assignment down with no feedback to understand why. Personally, I would like to know if I'm doing something wrong on the assignment so would like to get feedback.

Overall though, the experience has been good.

By Hamada H A

Feb 22, 2020

Great overview of the more technical side, mostly database management, of health informatics.

By Leah K

Dec 31, 2019

Really enjoy the real-world projects to utilize knowledge developed in the course!

By DR A

Jun 30, 2021

Best course of this Amazing Specialization

By Safeer M K

Jul 8, 2020

This course attracted me very much .I learned the different types of health and healthcare data , how to interpret queries designed for use of EHR data, how interpret the results of those queries.

Excellent!!!

By Michael L

Mar 22, 2021

Definitely the best course in this specialization. Lots of tangible and good resources for health practitioners to learn how to pull data and function within the U.S. Health Informatics universe.

By Nanak K B

May 11, 2020

This course is learning by doing. The assignment at the end is really beautiful approach to handle Database Research approaches.

By Iszaid B I

Nov 19, 2020

Very Good. I Enjoy So much this course. It is really easy to understand and the presenter are excellent. Very recommended.

By Javier I

May 21, 2020

Great course for learning the basic competences about data bases and formulating queries in healt informatic.

By Adriana d S A

May 6, 2020

Allows you to have an insight on the importance of data in the Health department!

By FRANKLIN E I

Sep 8, 2022

this was exhirilating and intence..its worth going for...

By Ajith s

Jun 28, 2020

This course is very nice. And useful for medical students

By Rayees A L

Sep 4, 2020

Great fully satisfied.

By Smriti P

Sep 25, 2019

great experience

By matias i s c

Sep 11, 2020

excellent !

By Brahm S

May 18, 2020

Good course

By Princess S

Aug 9, 2019

GOOD COURSE