Chevron Left
Back to The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
135 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry is an adaptation of an on-campus course that has been co-taught by Murray Baumgarten, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Literature Department), and Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus (History Department), for over 20 years at UC Santa Cruz. In this course, you will explore the Holocaust from the overlapping perspectives of literature and history—through memoirs, historical documents, poetry, documentary footage, filmic representations, and novels. You will expand your knowledge of the literature of the Holocaust, Eastern and Western European Jewish communities, the origins and development of antisemitism, the establishment of labor and extermination camps, resistance movements, and the Holocaust as a problem for world history. There is more than one way to take this course: You can complete all of the activities (and earn a Verified Certificate) or only the activities that are most interesting to you. Whatever you choose to do, we encourage you to find a havruta (a study partner) in your community or in the Coursera community so that you can experience the course in a more interactive and meaningful way....

Top reviews

SB

Aug 28, 2019

Lots of work, only 3 short papers, but lots of reading. Very interesting and enjoyable. Really went into depth with lots of history and literature discussed. Informative lectures.

RK

Nov 09, 2015

I want to say how much I especially enjoyed Dr Kenez and his very clear and concise lectures on the historical aspects of the subject matter. Thank you very much. Richard Kilgore

Filter by:

26 - 41 of 41 Reviews for The Holocaust: The Destruction of European Jewry

By SUSAN S H

Dec 21, 2015

Wow

By Diane N

Sep 02, 2015

So far this course is fantastic. I have taken classes on this subject before however, the personal touches and the passion of both professors is contagious !! I recommend that all high school and secondary students should take this course, lest we forget and repeat these atrocities. Thank you both for a fascinating look at a terrible time in history!!

By Sherrye B

Aug 28, 2019

Lots of work, only 3 short papers, but lots of reading. Very interesting and enjoyable. Really went into depth with lots of history and literature discussed. Informative lectures.

By Jesús M G F

Oct 12, 2015

Great course. I have learn a lot. Thank you a lot to Professors Kenez and Baumgarten and all the staff from Coursera

By Jorge E M A

Feb 28, 2016

One of the greatest experiences of my life in knowledge, is a course of self-improvement, faith, clinching my admiration for the Jews. If the intention of the perpetrators of the Holocaust is to deny the Shoah with terrifying acts that can not be talked, this course detracts the intention very high.

By Sarah M

Nov 26, 2015

This was very interesting, I had to keep listening, it made it so personal. (I had relatives who perished in Minsk) Excellent course and fascinating tutors.

By Marty C

Mar 10, 2016

Excelente

By Gemma W

Oct 28, 2015

I found this course extremely informative. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a detailed history on the Holocaust.

By Mary A Z

Jan 12, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this course very much. Excellent choice of readings. The irony in this course in that Peter who has a slower paced presentation is very understandable compared to Murray whose presentation is much more dynamic but extremely repetitive. Everything Peter said was clear and logical. I had difficulty with what Murray was trying to say when he interpreted the literature. For example, he talked about how eroticism was related to violence but the only example he gave was a boy trying to impress a girl by fighting. He did not relate how eroticism and violence co-existed with the Nazis. He talked how people react when they are victims of violence but only related it to the boy pulling off the wings of a fly. He did not discuss how the Jewish people related to the violence. Did they take their suffering out on fellow Jews? I found it difficult to understand what he was trying to say. He talked in circles on the first "This Way to the Gas" lecture. He could have cut that lecture to one sentence: "Borowoski was not writing about himself when he wrote in the first person." He never explains why people would get pleasure from reading about the Holocaust. I listened carefully to everyone of his sentences and thought them basically repeating the same idea over and over in a different way. He talks in circles. The best part was when he read from the book. He talked in circles about shoes. Just say shoes were necessary for survival. It's like he's talking off the top of his head without doing any prep work.

By Dasa M

May 22, 2016

Good historical overview. I especially liked the 'case studies' of the various European countries during the 40s. The literature part included some very good reading and interesting movies. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the topic o

By Angela T

Jul 25, 2017

A really interesting course which was packed with information. The focus on the Eastern European Jewry was particularly useful as it is not usually foregrounded on other courses. The session with Dora Sorrell was really fascinating and she is a wonderful speaker.

By Joshua J F

Oct 18, 2015

Fascinating historical, sociological, cultural, and literary journey through the Holocaust and the years preceding and following.

By Lillian L

Jul 13, 2017

This course really helped me to understand more about the Holocaust. I found the professors really engaging and really seemed to know what they were talking about. The peer review assignments were very good. Thank you so much, Coursera!

By Thaily a

Mar 04, 2016

Muito longo o curso e muitas tarefas, exige muito tempo.

By Miroslaw C

Sep 21, 2015

Course lacks wider and real socio-political context of the XIX and XX century Central and Eastern Europe. Additionally, it is full of statements that are not supported by the historical facts.

By Jasskirat S

Jul 23, 2017

No guidance terrible course, not user-friendly wouldn't recommend this to anyone such a waste of time and money