Chevron Left
Back to Reinforcement Learning for Trading Strategies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Reinforcement Learning for Trading Strategies by New York Institute of Finance

3.7
stars
114 ratings
29 reviews

About the Course

In the final course from the Machine Learning for Trading specialization, you will be introduced to reinforcement learning (RL) and the benefits of using reinforcement learning in trading strategies. You will learn how RL has been integrated with neural networks and review LSTMs and how they can be applied to time series data. By the end of the course, you will be able to build trading strategies using reinforcement learning, differentiate between actor-based policies and value-based policies, and incorporate RL into a momentum trading strategy. To be successful in this course, you should have advanced competency in Python programming and familiarity with pertinent libraries for machine learning, such as Scikit-Learn, StatsModels, and Pandas. Experience with SQL is recommended. You should have a background in statistics (expected values and standard deviation, Gaussian distributions, higher moments, probability, linear regressions) and foundational knowledge of financial markets (equities, bonds, derivatives, market structure, hedging)....

Top reviews

MS

Mar 06, 2020

It was easy to follow but not easy. I learned a lot and I now have the confidence to implement Reinforcement learning to my own FX trading strategies. Thank you so much.

GS

Mar 07, 2020

Great introduction to some very interesting concepts. Lots of hands on examples, and plenty to learn

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for Reinforcement Learning for Trading Strategies

By Yutong X

Apr 27, 2020

I think this course is in the middle of a simple introduction and a practical course. You should not enroll if you expect to be able to be able to build a RL system. You should not enroll if you are expecting some simple intuitive introduction of RL. This is more difficult than an introduction but tells you nothing more than some introduction, so it is an introduction done in a difficult way. I think it is better to avoid it.

By Nissim

Feb 20, 2020

Disapponting.

Last project week 3 does not have any connection to the topic.

Most of week 3 lessons are hand waving general recommendations, not real teaching or discussions

I feel deceived.

By Jiaheng Z

May 03, 2020

Only learned small pieces of concepts about quant trading, reinforcement learning parts are not connected well at all, it's all about advertising Google Cloud services.

By Brian M Y

Mar 23, 2020

Really general level concepts and does not go deep into the code of reinforcement models. The labs are scarce and not helpful at all.

By Masa

Feb 22, 2020

I do not recommend this course to my friends.

Exercises are not prepared to help learners to understand ML for Trading.

By Mike S

Mar 06, 2020

It was easy to follow but not easy. I learned a lot and I now have the confidence to implement Reinforcement learning to my own FX trading strategies. Thank you so much.

By Manfred R

Mar 08, 2020

I learned new perspectives of trading - great

By Abhinandan T N

Apr 17, 2020

This course seemed like movie trailer where there many jargons are introduced which are definitely worth but the information on the same is very limited which does not make students comfortable.

This course was more towards introducing the facility in Google Cloud than on the Title of the course.

By Yun Z L

Apr 12, 2020

Very knowledgable theories from Jack Farmer and the AutoML lab was quite straight forward. However, it would've been good to have the week 3 Portfolio Risk Management code added included as an actual lab exercise instead of talking through it.

By Grigoriy S

Mar 07, 2020

Great introduction to some very interesting concepts. Lots of hands on examples, and plenty to learn

By Steve H C F

Mar 15, 2020

Good course introducing concepts in RL. Wish course provided more examples of using RL in stock prediction.

By Mohammad A S

Apr 07, 2020

It has good practical stuff, BUT not any practical RL related to trading.

By Colin E

Mar 01, 2020

It was ... OK. The lectures by the NYIF guy were immediately relevant to me, worth taking the course for. They should just have removed the Google stuff entirely and just started with an assumption of a basic knowledge of ML - just focus on the financial applications. So, bottom line: the good content is good, but mixed with a bunch of generic, time-wasting junk... that at least can be skipped over.

By Josef K

Jul 10, 2020

The content was not bad, however it was really oriented towards promotion of GCP services.

Also, there was no tutorial how to really develop a strategy with reinforcement learning ( only few advices).

By Jonathan G

Jul 06, 2020

Very unusual course. Some useful theory on RL but very little practical coded examples of RL for trading. Heavy on pushing Google cloud services.

By Chaojun L

May 18, 2020

No practical, and useless for people who only wants more details about implementation of RL algo in trading rather than details about GCP.

By DeWitt G

May 24, 2020

Really good stuff, thank you! The Deep Q networks were a bit over my head, I will need to keep studying. It was good theory, but I would have like to see these models trade in the markets to really understand how they act in live trading environments.

By Jair E R L

Jun 07, 2020

This content really is ahead of the Business As Usual.

Congrats!

By 李艳丹

Mar 25, 2020

perfect!

By J A M

Jul 19, 2020

perhaps an applied trading notebook would have been nice...I understand that liability issues might have arisen, but there might have been a reasonable avenue with repeat disclaimers, etc

By Niels S

Apr 16, 2020

Nice with the RL classes, it is a bit random.

By WAI F C

May 10, 2020

The course could be improved if the lab included stock trading related works for both RL and LSTM. I had already learned stock trading with RL and LSTM before I took this class.

By Aadam

Apr 02, 2020

It is geared more towards people who already have an understanding of the stock market and its lingo. Not much information about stock market lingo for a beginner.

By Dmitrievskiy A

Apr 19, 2020

Reinforcement learning tasks are not related to financial domain. Financial topics are superficial. Course for absolute newbies in RL and FinTech

By Oliver P

Aug 04, 2020

While there were a lot of interesting concepts in this course, I didn't feel that I learned a lot from it and certainly was nowhere near implementing what I wanted to. It pushes Google's cloud services so you're on your own if you want to program on your own computer. I've since completed a course by deeplearning.ai (not trading focussed) which I felt was a lot better, I learned a lot of theory to develop an understanding of what they're teaching as well as practical coding assignments that I felt I could actually take the code and apply to my own projects.

Google pushes its ability to learn from BigData but I really don't consider stock data to be BigData, at least if you're processing a single instrument/currency/stock at a time. If you're trying to go down to tick level data then you're going to have more problems with lag and execution making processing that amount of data a bit pointless... unless that's really really what you want/need to be doing.

To be fair to this course, it is good to know what is out there should it be suitable for your challenges and yeah, they can process a massive, huge, gigantic amount of data very quickly.