Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to UI Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to UI Design by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,094 ratings
247 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the critical importance of user interface design. You will also learn industry-standard methods for how to approach the design of a user interface and key theories and frameworks that underlie the design of most interfaces you use today. Through a series of case studies on commercial systems - many of which you likely use on a regular basis - we will illustrate the benefits of good design. We will also demonstrate how the costs of bad design can often be severe (in user experience, money, and even human lives). You will then gain a high-level understanding of the user-interface design process. You will be introduced to common design scenarios - e.g. improving on existing designs and starting a new design from scratch - and the general design processes that tend to be used for each scenario. Finally, we will begin introducing the large body of existing knowledge on design by providing overviews of core user interface design theories and concepts. This key foundational information will help you avoid “reinventing the wheel” when you are designing your interfaces in this specialization....

Top reviews

CA
Jan 20, 2019

Has given valuable insights and new points of view. It extended my horizon, even though I am new on the field and have designed several user interfaces not according to the course principles so far.

MM
Nov 11, 2017

this course is just not about the theory it actually helps you to understand things on practical basis.The test and assignments helps you to apply the disciplines and makes you basic clear.

Filter by:

226 - 246 of 246 Reviews for Introduction to UI Design

By Aleksander H

Jul 22, 2018

Good introduction, but I felt like there is something missing. A lot of case studies, but the analysis of each case was not as deep and informative as I would like. Hope to get more applicable knowledge in next courses.

By Liliana O

Sep 6, 2017

It's a lot theory and long videos. A think a good way to improve this class, would it be to make more videos but short, and give links to go further into the subject if required.

By Beenish C

Feb 9, 2018

The videos are hard to engage with as some have wordy charts. Video production quality isn't great and makes the videos look date and unimaginative

By Mohamad H

Sep 5, 2019

as an experienced UI designer, I think it was challenging and I learnt some new knowledge in the user physiology.

By Delicia F

Jun 22, 2020

Good course, but I was it was too the point and precise. I felt like some parts were just unnecessary

By Michael G

Jul 29, 2018

The course is good, but theories and concepts prevails over practicals and implications

By Parag j

May 4, 2020

Good course but boring task, not very engaging.

By Md. M H

Apr 14, 2017

The course is too long.

By Nay H

Jan 17, 2019

intresting

By Faizal M

Nov 6, 2016

Some interesting points of view and case studies. But the material itself is not in a structured format that means you could lose your way half way through the video. Too one dimensional in terms of presentation and no opportunity to interact with tutors. To summarize, I think it is a waste of opportunity to not use the video/interactivity/collaboration platform to its fullest potential.

By Marek M

Jul 16, 2020

It's too theoretical. There is not enough real life examples, though there are some. We hear theories about theories and see formulas explained. That's seems to be not so usefull in the real life. At least not in the introduction course.

By Robinson M

Apr 26, 2020

The course needs more energy, the videos are basically text with a person talking very plain. Some instructors go directly deep into the concepts instead of first defining what a each concept.

By Andrii R

Jul 17, 2017

It's very theoretical and has lack of practical (applicable) information. Some lecturers have a huge language problem so it's sometimes hard to watch lectures

By Tresna S

Apr 3, 2021

It is too much lecturer and so out of date, the videos take too long and unnecessary, quit after watch few videos, don't want to wasting my time

By Malik A

Jul 8, 2020

This course needs to be updated, the presentation must be technically improved.

By David F

Oct 10, 2016

Mostly just common sense. And the peer review assignments are mind-numbing.

By Brenda L B

Nov 12, 2020

This course is great, but the specialization is not. When you get to the last course, the Capstone, it is designed in a way that you can not complete it. You have to use another website and you can't work without fellow students, but the students do not show up. Worse yet, the teacher assistants do not answer any of the requests for help.

This specialization is designed so that students can not finish.

By Cesar S

Sep 30, 2020

This course is very annoying and complex, most of the time the instructors are focusing in stories and not in content. The people who review the homework give me a bad note four times. This course is not well prepared the lectures are too long and most of them are a waste of time. I will not recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn about this subject.

By Zsolt G

Feb 20, 2018

Rather useless and boring. Was a complete waste of time. Lecturers go on an on for hours, but the actual information could easily fit into an article that would take 10 minutes to read. I can't believe I have paid for this and can't get a refund.

By Hannah B

Jun 28, 2018

I was not able to complete the full course, but based on the part I did complete, I found the material and professors to be a little boring and redundant.

By kaviya

Jun 16, 2020

i couldn't submit my assignment. please respond