Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
3,517 ratings
860 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

RT
Jul 4, 2020

For an introductory course, this is very efficient and effective in learning terminologies and get a good high-level understanding of Process, types and common techniques used in Design process :)

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 854 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By ayala g

May 7, 2018

thank you!

By Chelsea D

Feb 16, 2018

T

h

e

o

n

e

By Atrem V

Aug 30, 2016

Thanks!

By Azhar M s

Oct 21, 2020

Good

By 丽丽 万

Jun 28, 2020

good

By Zohra A

May 6, 2017

good

By Andrea R

May 21, 2020

This was okay for a theoretical-only and very basic introduction to user experience design. There was a LOT of repetition of previous content in every video, which may be great for some users but which was boring and annoying for me. I also found the layout of the video unhelpful (slides on the left, person on the right) and would have preferred it the other way round. I often didn't even realize that a slide had changed because my eye kept being drawn to the lecturer instead of the slides and because there was little visual differentiation between the slides (fonts, sizes, colors). The slides were often hard to read because the text was very spread out and therefore hard to grasp at a glance. There also often was more text than I could read in the amount of time it was visible (so I had to pause frequently) and the lecturer didn't always refer to everything that was shown. I did not feel motivated at all to do any of the suggested exercises, mostly because there was no feedback system for whatever I would have produced (and because the exercises weren't available in writing anywhere, just in the middle of the videos). The quizzes were fairly thorough, which I think was good. Overall, I probably would have learned the content better (and much faster) with just a few pages of text instead of all the videos because the video format didn't offer any extra benefit for me.

By rachel f

Nov 3, 2020

feedback about quiz in no order:

1) "Tertiary stakeholders may not use the design at all, but are directly affected by the design in either a negative or a positive way." -- this would be the cashier at the store. If the payment doesn't go through the cashier could be affected.

2) "main pitfall of requirement gathering is not knowing all of the appropriate techniques" a pitfall is a hidden or unsuspected danger or difficulty. There are no dangers or difficulties inherent to requirement gathering. A pitfall of rock climbing is falling to your death. Better question would be "a main challenge to successful Requirement Gathering could be non-communicative participants".

Question 18:

Secondary stake holders: "do not use the design directly but may do IT indirectly".

Do what?! What is "It"? Do the design? The function? Task? Secondary stakeholders will be affected by design's changes and updates, and may have a to accommodate or react. A user likes the new expense report interface (primary) but it takes AP longer to process the payment because the expense categories are not aligning with cost codes.

So far I like the course and look forward to completing it. But I find myself wanting to edit the manuscript, and reword the quiz questions.

By Laura L

May 12, 2020

The information provided was comprehensive and useful, but I found the presentation to be incredibly boring. It took me several days to get through the material because I couldn't focus on more than one or two videos in a sitting. I would have liked to have seen one or two real-world examples (particularly on building a website) taken through the entire course. I liked the short videos, but I would have felt more engaged if the course included other activities such as games, concept matching, interviews, or examples of laboratory experiments.

By Antonio C

Oct 25, 2017

The resources are very helpful. The contents are also interesting, but at times I found myself fighting to stay awake when watching the video lessons. The introductory part of the course (before going in depth with the 4 main points of UX Design) is specially tedious and repetitive, and I have the feeling that it could have been summarized in one third.

All in all, I think as an introductory course is well worth the time.

Thank you very much for making this course available to everyone.

By Niveditha

Mar 27, 2020

Enjoyed the course! Crisp and straightforward video explanations. Coursework also provides ample online resources that one can revisit. I only wish there were some prototyping exercised that students could work on and then get back to each other for some peer evaluation. That would have enhanced the learning even further. Nevertheless, this course has engaged me well enough that I am interested to learn whatever the next level encompasses.

By Steven C

Jun 27, 2020

Although this course gives an introduction into UX, the course content contains many spelling, grammatical, and typographic errors. Additionally, some quiz questions can be ambiguous and unnecessary. Some questions appear multiple times in a single quiz, while others seem to be filler. They test the student's memory, rather than her/his comprehension of a concept.

By Raes

May 9, 2017

This course was a good overall overview of the User Exp. Design process. It is useful for a process of proposal writing, but it didn't give me real insights into the techniques itself. A better insight into the methods (for example by short example videos) would make the course more tangible. Nevertheless a very well structured and presented introduction course!

By Amanda H

Oct 29, 2020

Ironically, this course needs a UX overhaul, along with a good proofreading session and pedagogical alignment between the questions and response choices. Sometimes the pop-up questions cut off the instructor mid-sentence, and many visuals are referred to but missing, including the two referenced videos in the prototyping section.

By Kristina K

Feb 11, 2019

It is a very basic course of User Experience Design, which can explain fundamentals of UX-design process. The course gives a lot of theoretical knowledge, but lack of real examples. It is a good start for those, who are interested in a new profession, but after this course you need to take another, more advanced and deep course.

By Serhat E

Aug 15, 2017

It is a very nice, basic course (maybe too basic). I wish Alternative Designs and Prototyping sections were expanded some more. One feedback to lecturer is to look at the camera directly; she was constantly looking sideways to read the text. It was very distracting for me. Nevertheless, Thanks Georgia Tech!!!

By Anisa C

Jun 28, 2020

Pretty good course. Enjoyable to work through with great additional resources. Spelling errors were frequent and a bit distracting and the transcript could do with another edit. No practical tasks to complete but i believe the paid version has some. Great first experience with Coursera and Georgia Tech.

By Preston L

Apr 14, 2020

While the videos were good at introducing certain concepts to a novice, I found the quizzes to be lacking in helping one remember useful information from the videos. For the reading, many articles and websites were linked to, but on more than one occasion I found these to be a bit dated.

By Hannah E

Jul 15, 2020

Very good course to get a general overview of UX Design and Research. Specific terms introduced and defined and good lists of electronic resources. Was disappointed with charts and figures used to illustrate concepts (i.e. not always easy to understand purpose of graphic or confusing).

By Gautam K

Nov 16, 2020

Some of the concepts were explained well but others went a bit too quickly without examples. Thinks like data gathering and prototyping are understood by most people but other slightly complex topics like the wizard of oz could have been explained a bit better with a simple example.

By Bharath N S

Jun 1, 2020

Very basic course, could have learnt the whole content in a textbook directly in one hour. This is an explanation of some text and one method and didnt have to be a course. Could have contained more learning than just explain all basic concepts available online in Google

By David V C

Jul 5, 2020

The information is valuable. However, it may feel a bit dated (specially the examples and the links they provide), and it might be too compact. A lesson includes too much information in a very short time, so it's a good idea to watch the same lessons more than once.

By Andrew B

Dec 14, 2017

It's difficult to follow the instructor as they are reading their script. I would prefer a more natural delivery. Content was good, but I think a little more effort could be put towards the visuals as the existing diagrams were at times difficult to understand.

By AUBREY X

Apr 16, 2020

Good introductory class. Clearly structured and have relevant quiz questions to test on key concepts.

However, I was expecting more in-depth content on these fundamental concepts, and more relevant and modern examples of these in principles in applications

By Joseph D

Oct 2, 2020

While it seems this course offered a well rounded look at the iterative User Experience/Interface design cycle, the interchangeable technical jargon was ultimately confusing and I felt that a lack of definitive terms detracted from the final product.