Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,438 ratings
361 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 359 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Sama K

Apr 03, 2019

The professor introduces the concepts of user experience in a very structured, practical way that I'm able to immediately apply as I conduct user research in my role as a product manager. The course was quick, and I was able to get through most of the content in less than two days, which was perfect for my purposes.

As a note of caution, the value you get out of this course will be highly dependent on your goal. If you are looking for a quick way to learn fundamentals about user experience, this course is perfect. If you're looking for an in-depth course teach you to be a designer and give you hands-on assignments to practice these concepts, this is not the course for you.

By Balaji G

Jul 15, 2019

I liked how the overall framework and the context was well maintained all throughout the course. I always knew the context w.r.t the overall framework. Very good design of the course.

By Agna R

Jul 11, 2019

Great overview for people who are starting their adventure with UI :)

By Andrea B

Jul 10, 2019

La profesora explica muy bien y conoce del tema pero la información no está actualizada, los recursos son bastante antiguos, tipo 2011-2014, y hay algunas cosas que ya no se hacen porque se ha demostrado que no funciona. Pero bueno igual es un buen comienzo si quieres entender las nociones básicas de UX

By Ubyrajara A C D M

Jul 08, 2019

This course is particularly good. It gave me all the insight needed to pursue a more advanced UX curriculum. The reading content is very interesting and can clarify many topics covered in the videos.

By Saurabh S

Jul 04, 2019

This is a nice beginner level course to understand basic terms, processes and overview of a lot of techniques which are part of User Experience Design.

By Jason H

Jun 30, 2019

really enjoyed this introductory course. Quizzes were relatively easy and straightforward and for the most part avoided the "gotcha" method. They were mean to make sure you understood the broad concept. Enjoyed the professor's speaking style. would've enjoyed more real world examples such as Norman's Door in the intro (maybe a picture of the door he referenced and why its design was poor). but overall a good intro and has me interested in learning more about CX and UX.

By Daniel

Jun 25, 2019

Simple to understand and concise enough for a intro course. Each modules are of the appropriate length of time - not too long or too short.

By J P

Jun 17, 2019

Amazingly well put together and concise. Not stuffed with quotes as filler or echoing personal opinions. References are from within the field of UX. I recently started the UMich UX specialization and this one from Georgia Tech is so much better on introduction.

By rachna

Jun 17, 2019

For the Quiz sections, the answers are sometimes confusing and there are no keys available for the ones you answered incorrectly to understand what should have been the right answer.

By Payam D

Jun 16, 2019

Great opportunity to learn the fundamentals of user experience design.

By Anastasiya T

Jun 06, 2019

Good

By Jack W G I

Jun 03, 2019

Great introduction to UX/UI Design. I throughly enjoyed the course and highly recommend it to anyone considering a career in UXD. Thanks!

By Carlos G J M

May 21, 2019

Para ser un curso introductorio se explica bien el proceso de diseño de UX pero no solo UX sino UX/UI ya que en todo tiempo se habla de la UI, pero para el desarrollador de Front-End este curso le daría un gran escenario de como hacer las cosas.

By DUONG V D

May 20, 2019

Very Good Ux

By Surya P

May 19, 2019

Its very useful at the beginner level of study. Gained some knowledge at the introduction level.

By Saverio C

May 13, 2019

A general overview of UX fundamentals. Many concepts are too ground level for a designer with an education background (even different than plain UX), yet brush them up is a great idea before starting a new learning path. Highly understandable and strongly recommended.

By Luyanda

May 11, 2019

Still dont have an idea of the concept

By SERGIO

May 10, 2019

Great for start in the field of UX design

By

Apr 29, 2019

It was an awesome course with great reading materials!

By Michael S

Apr 23, 2019

Good high-level understanding of the process.

By Meera S H

Apr 18, 2019

One of the best courses of UX designing I have come across.

By Maria E S

Apr 15, 2019

Very informative and insightful. Wish I could get a badge after I have completed the course, though.

By Kayley B

Apr 05, 2019

Too many links under "Reading"

By Tamires D S

Apr 04, 2019

É um ótimo curso introdutório, cheio de textos fundamentais para iniciar na área. Voltarei a revisar cada etapa!