Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,890 ratings
2,409 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM

Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

SS

Aug 30, 2018

This is very good course for every body whatever your background, your education & your job role position. I highly recommend to get this training to change, gain & create your mindset for innovation.

Filter by:

2351 - 2375 of 2,404 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Whitney M

Aug 16, 2020

the videos were too long and lost me at certain parts

By MARIA T

Dec 9, 2019

falta que todo el curso este subtitulado en español

By Busisiwe S H

Oct 18, 2020

Execution of the content could have been better.

By Fabienne L

Feb 10, 2016

A very well-done introduction to Design Thinking

By Mansour Y A

Apr 10, 2021

It is good. However, it is somewhat outdated.

By Antonio C

May 19, 2022

Should be called Intro to design thinking

By Diego V V

May 1, 2018

Need more hands on activities and samples

By Jesús Á D P

Jun 7, 2021

I did not like the course is a bit vague

By Venkat S

Feb 20, 2019

Too dry. Needs quizzes in between too

By Tarun

Jul 21, 2020

content could have been better.

By naseralmenhali

Jul 6, 2022

please help to finsind

By DEEPTHI H I 1

Oct 30, 2021

excellent explanation

By Sneha M

Apr 29, 2021

effective course

By Deepalakshmi P

Jul 24, 2020

Nice course

By Fernando S

Feb 6, 2018

Very simple

By Deleted A

Oct 12, 2018

Nice cour

By Лебедева В С

Nov 13, 2020

Middle

By Sri M S N

Dec 8, 2020

good

By HASAN N

Aug 10, 2020

good

By NIHAL A A

Jun 10, 2020

good

By Dibash A

Mar 4, 2020

.

By Deleted A

Oct 4, 2018

N

By Colin

Sep 18, 2021

I felt like all of the videos were very theoretical and conceptual, giving you very high level explanations of the value that design thinking can bring, but it never delves into any substantial depth to the point where you can extract real value, or tools that you can use later.

The biggest flaw, however, is the fact that if you wanted, you could complete the entire course by putting in only about 30 minutes of work. You could skip to the end of all of the videos (mark as complete) and then give and unenthusiastic 20 minute attempt at five paragraphs for the final assignment, which is to be reviewed by your peers and will inevitably receive a high grade as they are in the same position as you (just looking to get a passing grade).

So in summation, if all you want is an easy certificate to display on a résumé then this is the course for you.

By Yakov F

Jan 11, 2022

I struggled with this course. If this is a typical MBA course, I am not an MBA type. The course is based on Prof. Liedtka's two books for managers "Designing for Growth: A Design Thinking Tool Kit for Managers" and "Solving Problems with Design Thinking: Ten Stories of What Works". The first book introduces a design thinking framework and about a dozen design thinking tools for managers, of which this beginner's course covers three or four. The second book is a source of managerial case studies heavily used in the course, but the cases were not clearly linked to the tools taught in the course. I didn't feel the course was well organized. I also struggled with Ed Hesse's (Prof. Liedtka's teaching partner) notion "ideas are like sand on the beach: plentiful".

By Yoram

Mar 9, 2021

Relative to other courses, I thought this was slow moving - I set the pace at 1,5 and it still didn't feel concise enough. I am a rather visual learner so I would have appreciated a clear image/model that would have been built on during the course. Design thinking is an iterative process with many forms, but I would have appreciated a more structured approach to tackle (work)problems. I think the long-term learning effects would be bigger.

I liked the applicability in many different settings and learning(s) form peers. Though, as mentioned by others, stating this before enrolment would be helpful.