Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
116 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

Do you work for a nonprofit or in the social sector? Are you struggling to solve the problems and meet the needs of the people you serve? Come learn more about how design thinking, a human-centered approach to problem solving, can help you truly understand an issue, generate ideas worth testing and iterate to find solutions that make a real difference. Through global stories from areas as diverse as government, health care, and education, we’ll show you the tools, techniques and mindset needed to use design thinking to uncover new and creative solutions in the social sector. The development of this course was supported by the Batten Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at the University of Virginia's Darden School of Business. For more about the Batten Institute, see: http://www.darden.virginia.edu/batten-institute/ @BattenInstitute @DesignatDarden...

Top reviews

AM

Sep 04, 2019

I learned this course on many things that I do have a real need. Thanks for Coursera and the University of Virginia whose offered us having quality education on our destinations.

CB

Mar 30, 2020

Fascinating set of topics, really well structured in a way that makes the subject easy to understand, and interesting and engaging speakers.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

By Amy C

Sep 10, 2018

It seems minimal effort was put into making this into a course separate and built on the book this course is based on. Other than videos, there are no other materials except a short useless excerpt from the book - no accompanying handouts, nothing put into a nice table or graph or anything to take away. I guess they're just trying to get you to buy the book.

By Kwame K A

Jan 22, 2019

It is a great course that helps you rethink your idea of what a problem is by asking more questions about it. Course could do with more practical examples but a great course nonetheless

By Maria E d D

Mar 04, 2018

The course isn’t bad but I didn’t find it engaging or practical enough. Examples ran too long, I prefer courses that are more practical in nature.

By Abigail V H

Sep 03, 2019

Excellent content and knowledgeable instructors. The case studies were very helpful in reinforcing the concepts of the framework. The information is practical, and along with the field guide and the book (of the same name), provides a powerful toolkit for any nonprofit professional.

By Kishori G

Aug 28, 2019

Design Thinking for socail sector was a very useful course. the videos, clarity of concept and explaination with examples were really very good. The e- learning software was also very helpful. I am happy I completed this course. Thanku team corsera and team verginia University.

By Kalpesh B R

Jan 03, 2018

Super Awesome. The course is amazing and at the same time inspiring. Looking forward to pick up projects in the social sector for goals that are larger than life. Looking forward for continuous guidance and assistance to make a difference in the community and humanity.

By Abdulrahman M M

Sep 04, 2019

I learned this course on many things that I do have a real need. Thanks for Coursera and the University of Virginia whose offered us having quality education on our destinations.

By Chris B

Mar 30, 2020

Fascinating set of topics, really well structured in a way that makes the subject easy to understand, and interesting and engaging speakers.

By Kel K

Jan 09, 2020

Fantastic course - lots of information to digest and challenge yourself on a new way of thinking and more importantly listening.

By José L P C

May 11, 2019

Excellent course and all the new knowledge that i learnt

By SR

Feb 02, 2020

Excellent course, love the case studies... thank you!

By Tania B

May 21, 2019

Finished the videos and it was an excellent course

By margherita v

Nov 26, 2018

much needed to implement my cv! Thanks!

By Ramakrishnan V

Apr 20, 2018

Well structured and great flow.

By Vijila E

Jan 31, 2018

Enjoyed learning the course

By Nastassja Q

Jun 18, 2018

Great course!

By Jesús G L J

Jan 29, 2020

Great

By Manoj G P

Jun 19, 2018

This is a wonderful course. I liked the quality of the content, use of case studies. and exposure to the various design thinking tools.More reading material (case studies), option to gain deeper grasp of the DT Tools and interaction with the Course Faculty (like an open Webinar Sessions atleast once during the Course Term) would have made me give it a 5 star.Nevertheless, this is good introduction to the idea and concept of Design Thinking

By Sarah

Mar 26, 2018

Loved the content. It was nice to have the option to read along with the videos. Good real-world examples of design thinking in action. Some of the videos felt like there could have been more value-added in terms of visuals.

By Kapil O

Dec 06, 2017

It will be useful if the course can be extended for few more weeks to introduce few more tools and case studies. It was a great learning experience any how. Thanks a lot.

By Gregory C E

Mar 02, 2018

Though a good course, much of the content might appear obvious to anyone who has worked in the non-profit sector.

By Shreyaa D

Apr 23, 2018

Great course, super insightful case studies and the weeks were spaced out into very manageable chunks.

By Carmen P S

Apr 24, 2018

It is a good course for a general understanding about design thinking principles and it process

By Sara H

Feb 01, 2018

Super good to navigate, even in an audit situation.

By 장한얼

Nov 25, 2019

good