Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
373 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

Do you work for a nonprofit or in the social sector? Are you struggling to solve the problems and meet the needs of the people you serve? Come learn more about how design thinking, a human-centered approach to problem solving, can help you truly understand an issue, generate ideas worth testing and iterate to find solutions that make a real difference. Through global stories from areas as diverse as government, health care, and education, we’ll show you the tools, techniques and mindset needed to use design thinking to uncover new and creative solutions in the social sector. The development of this course was supported by the Batten Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at the University of Virginia's Darden School of Business. For more about the Batten Institute, see: http://www.darden.virginia.edu/batten-institute/ @BattenInstitute @DesignatDarden...

Top reviews

OM

Nov 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the DT course. Provided in-depth examples and explanation about how the tool is implemented. Highly recommended for those who have a little/no knowledge about the tool.

AM

Jun 23, 2020

this was my first course with coursera. i feel very motivated and found an amazing passion here learning with the greatest faculty of the greatest university.\n\nthank you very much.

Filter by:

101 - 112 of 112 Reviews for Design Thinking for the Greater Good: Innovation in the Social Sector

By Linsha V

Jun 29, 2020

the course was indeed interesting and helpful to achieve greater results

By 19uafa153 1

Jun 29, 2020

I enjoyed a lot and also learned a lot in this course

By P V G K R

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent thought provoking lectures and the course

By Sara H

Feb 1, 2018

Super good to navigate, even in an audit situation.

By Naresh K G

Nov 21, 2021

Its a nice learning!

By 장한얼

Nov 24, 2019

good

By Irina D

Aug 18, 2020

Good overview of design thinking. Good speakers, but the concept of the course with everything in video lectures (and some being more than 10 minutes long) is a bit annoying. Each chapter ends with 10 question multiple choice quiz which is also not very engaging nor efficient for learning. However, final assignment is great. You have a rubric to follow and submit to peer assessment and you also review some assignments. This is great for learning and it is also interesting thing to do. Maybe not for those who prefer to click answers in quizzes and don't want to actually apply the knowledge.

By Alienor R

Jun 3, 2021

G​ood intro to the topic, not necessarily very modern in their vision of what the social sector is however. Limited examples with NGOs, grassroots groups or coallitions. Still a good, concise intro to this important method.

By Ciro S

Dec 14, 2019

I bought their book too. I was expecting more examples on tools. They often repeat again and again the same concept. It would be better give more visual information on tools.

By Elba F

May 24, 2020

Great for understanding the basics of Design Thinking methodologies, but I would have liked to know more tools and also more detailed explanations on how to use them!

By Maitri n

Jul 1, 2020

goodd

By Ruth D H

Dec 18, 2021

Course content was good but found the format and organization difficult. I don't know if organization came from the instructor or if this is Coursa's format (this was my 1st and perhaps last coursea course).

The videos were excellent. Journey mapping video of "getting reading to get everyone out the door in the morning" was great practical example that I wanted to use on my practical projects, but the presenter's stakeholder list focused more on bottle necks and included only a few who facilited the project--the key stakeholders.

I had difficulty following subtitles and terms--weeks vs parts, steps vs processes, etc. Terms were often inconnsistently used. It would have been helpful to have the basic curved idon/graph "Steps in the Design Thinking Tool Kit" (the 4 steps) printed on each page and on each video. In a perfect world, most learners would follow your recommendation not to allow days before picking up the next module, but my schdulel does not allow for this. There was no mention of a final assignment until the course end. Was expecting to only answer the quizzzes. This resulted in not being able to schedule time to complete the 2-part written assignment. I submitted my written assignment a day ahead of the deadline, but I could not complete the 2nd surprise assignement (peer review) because there were none submitted. Clearly others were surprised as well. This assignement should be clearly state upfront.

I had alot of trouble finding things: examples-- instructions on how to get things done, how to get into discussion forum. For example, it took forever and a desperate phone call to my Dell IT team to find how to submit the final assignment--there was no link, no tab or instructions on the assignment page. Nothing. Clearly the course is not intuituve nor user-friendly-- the very subject matter of the course. There is no chat. No one to call--no customer service especially for 1st time users.

Based on thsi first experience, it is doubtful that I will enroll in another course. I would just like to get this one completed and my certification which has become a hassle. Getting this is critical to my current job search. If you have suggestions or questions, please call Ruth at 703-527-0790.