Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
3,838 ratings
947 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB
Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

RS
Feb 8, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 945 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Arun K R

Dec 27, 2019

had learned basic knowledge of the domain

By Yasmin A A A K

Sep 6, 2020

GOOd course, but i think it need update.

By Dakota C

Aug 31, 2020

easy to follow along and i learned a lot

By Noor E

Aug 15, 2020

Great course but a poor grading system.

By Bana F

Jun 28, 2020

It's great and the material is on point

By Muhammad R K O

May 6, 2020

Its a very good course for ui designer.

By masterGoGo

Feb 25, 2020

Amazing course for beginers like me :)

By Linda A

Sep 2, 2020

A nice way to step into the UI world

By sumit k

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very good course.Thank You

By Keshava R S

Aug 9, 2020

its short and sweet and accurate

By Romila D

Aug 24, 2020

NO SPECIALISED GRADING SYSTEM.

By Polufonía v

Mar 4, 2021

Está bueno para principiantes

By Ashphiar R R

Jan 23, 2021

The course is interesting.

By Nakwon S

Apr 19, 2020

very good online course.

By Krista T

Jan 28, 2020

Good course, well paced.

By Orlando O

Sep 3, 2020

It was great experience

By SATYAPRAKASH K

Jul 21, 2020

nice way of teaching

By Pedro A

Jun 27, 2020

basic bad good!

By Adepoju S

Sep 29, 2020

Amazing course

By Shailesh K

Jun 28, 2020

Good to start

By Akash M B

May 24, 2020

Very helpful

By Zoreen M

May 4, 2020

good course

By Tina W

Jul 3, 2020

GOOD

By Kara W

Aug 3, 2020

Instructors are passionate about the subject, which makes the class quite inspiring. I feel many points/techniques that are needed to complete assignments are left out due to virtual nature of class, short length of course, and extreme class size. There are just too many important nuggets of info and courses you need before even attempting this course. I really recommend watching a lot of PhotoShop and InDesign videos and tutorials so you can turn in sharper images for assignments.

The peer grading system is HORRIBLE. I will spend hours of time completing a project to make sure I meet all requirements of an assignment, only to receive a horrible score and have it torn to shreds by "fellow" classmates. You are given the opportunity to resubmit your assignment for a better grade, but just be aware that some classmates are not taking the course seriously, nor are they upholding the supportive spirit of the course. Then there are more experienced or overly opinionated peers that will leave quite nasty remarks knowing this is a "beginners" class. Art is subjective, but a lot of students will take off points because something is not their taste. Most of your peers are supportive in this course, but the bad apples can make for a very sour experience.

Overall, I give high marks for the instructor, though it is VERY theory driven, not even technique driven instruction. The assignments are very project based, and it would be more helpful to show plenty examples of the templates we will need to complete in the lectures and how to go about completing them.

This course is currently best geared towards quite experienced graphic designers looking to get into UX/UI design, but not newbies like me. At the very least, I am now aware of the educational holes I need to fill before attempting further UX/UI design training.

By Sophie B

Jan 21, 2020

The videos, information in this course are informative and suitable for beginners.

HOWEVER. Having peers grade your work really cheapens the entire experience and makes me wonder what I'm paying for. I would often be marked down just because my "peer" didn't understand the assignment criteria, or doesn't comprehend English well enough.

What on earth is the point of being graded at all, when you're being assigned a mark by someone who has no idea what the assignment criteria even are? And Coursera's only advice is to waste my time by re-submitting the assignment. Just remove the requirement for reviews altogether... so redundant.