Chevron Left
Back to Visualization for Data Journalism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visualization for Data Journalism by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
26 ratings
11 reviews

About the Course

While telling stories with data has been part of the news practice since its earliest days, it is in the midst of a renaissance. Graphics desks which used to be deemed as “the art department,” a subfield outside the work of newsrooms, are becoming a core part of newsrooms’ operation. Those people (they often have various titles: data journalists, news artists, graphic reporters, developers, etc.) who design news graphics are expected to be full-fledged journalists and work closely with reporters and editors. The purpose of this class is to learn how to think about the visual presentation of data, how and why it works, and how to doit the right way. We will learn how to make graphs like The New York Times, Vox, Pew, and FiveThirtyEight. In the end, you can share–embed your beautiful charts in publications, blog posts, and websites. This course assumes you understand basic coding skills, preferably Python. However, we also provide a brief review on Python in Module 1, in case you want to refresh yourself on the basics and perform simple data analysis....

Top reviews

DC

Jul 13, 2020

Well organised and with a lot of commitment from the faculty. I would like to see deeper discussions on most of the topic in the future. Thank you

HH

Sep 24, 2019

Thanks very much for great content and the instructor did a great job, and her materials were very use helpful and relevant! Great experience!

Filter by:

1 - 11 of 11 Reviews for Visualization for Data Journalism

By Harold H

Sep 24, 2019

Thanks very much for great content and the instructor did a great job, and her materials were very use helpful and relevant! Great experience!

By Yonggang

Apr 24, 2020

Great course. Very informative and practical.

By Dr S B

Apr 26, 2020

It helped to learn a lot about Visualization and enabled with the desired skills of presenting data using python and Jupyter notebook.

By Amjad A

Jun 12, 2020

Comprehensive course to helping us how to use data for journalism as well as will help us in understanding data in newspapers.

By Miki G

Jul 13, 2020

Good for fundamental knowledge of data visualization in a journalistic perspective.

It is also inspiring for young people like me to get ready to step into the world of data visualization.

Great course!

By David C

Jul 13, 2020

Well organised and with a lot of commitment from the faculty. I would like to see deeper discussions on most of the topic in the future. Thank you

By Sarah J

Jun 29, 2020

The professor introduced the topic of data visualization in a very interesting and straightforward way. The class is very useful - especially data visualization is so important nowadays to convey findings and results to laypersons. I liked that the classes because they covered a wide range of topics which are all SO useful for my future presentations. The slides are so well-made and attractive for learning. They are great example for data visualization!

Worth the time taking and strongly recommended for all disciplines who aims to present their findings in an attractive and simple yet understandable way. It would be great if the classes have more modules! Happy learning.

By Emily E

Sep 23, 2020

I took this course with a graduate student friend of mine for leisure during the summer. We thought visualizing data will be an important tread in every subject. Without any regret, we were having fun time learning online and learn lots of useful skills for presenting data in this course. However, we'd recommend Coursera to provide students with more technical support (e.g., printable notes access) so that we can keep every copy of the lecture or jot down some detail for future use.

By Queenie Y

Sep 23, 2020

Love her way of teaching, very clear and in a very good pace. I hope she can have more classes on Data journalism.

By Maha B

Jun 21, 2020

The content is good however it is very difficult to follow the Professor whose English is heavily accented. There is nothing wrong with having an accent but in this particular case it gets in the way of the student's comprehension of the content. One is more focused on deciphering what is being said rather than the content itself.