Chevron Left
Back to Writing and Editing: Drafting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing and Editing: Drafting by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
137 ratings
27 reviews

About the Course

This third course in the “Good with Words: Writing and Editing” series will give you a number of strategies to help with what is often the most intimidating, even paralyzing part of the writing process: getting started. You’ll learn about the “planning fallacy” and “temptation bundling.” You’ll get a chance to experiment with “freewriting” and “writing before you are ready.” And you’ll continue to benefit, through our ongoing “Good Sentences” and “Takeaways” segments, from the models and advice of a diverse set of writers. As with the other three courses in this series, you will also get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1)the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2)two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; (3)a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

Top reviews

JE
Jan 3, 2021

Patrick Barry has put together a terrific series of courses! Skills in the nuances of writing, organizing complex ideas, planning, how to get around 'blocks' and get started. Well worth it!

MC
Oct 10, 2020

Really great writing course with lots of real world examples and great context given. Would absolutely recommend to a friend.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Writing and Editing: Drafting

By Eduardo J K

Nov 29, 2020

O curso é incrível. Conteúdo interessante, apresentado de forma didática e leve. O professor é didático e engajado. Apesar de ser dedicado a alunos do curso de Direito da Universidade de Michigan, pode ser aplicado a qualquer área do conhecimento. As dicas sobre o uso da língua inglesa são muito boas e proveitosas. Recomendo este curso para todos(as) que desejam escrever de forma persuasiva.

By Kat Z

Jul 10, 2020

Another wonderful course by Patrick Barry. This course walked me through important principles of drafting and overcoming the barriers of a blank page and unresolved research. This is a course that is at once engaging and educational.

By Hanan B A

Oct 1, 2020

Such a wonderful course! The ideas, the flow of information, the recourses, everything was so beneficial. I highly recommend it whether if taken alone or after the first two course. You'll always find something to take with you!

By Maleeha B

Nov 16, 2020

Amazing course! Well planned out and Professor Barry is an excellent instructor. This course also helps in writing better sentences. I really enjoyed taking this course and would definitely recommend it.

By Jennifer M

Jan 3, 2021

Patrick Barry has put together a terrific series of courses! Skills in the nuances of writing, organizing complex ideas, planning, how to get around 'blocks' and get started. Well worth it!

By Mikaela C

Oct 11, 2020

Really great writing course with lots of real world examples and great context given. Would absolutely recommend to a friend.

By Jessa I

Nov 9, 2020

This course opened me up to more ways to write creatively; emphasis on the use of the semicolon and however.

By Charles G R

Sep 4, 2020

Fantastic, well worth the investment for anyone who wants to learn to communicate their ideas better.

By Osama I E

Jul 26, 2020

A wonderful, very interesting course, in which I learned the correct formulation method.

thank you

By maureen t

Jul 6, 2020

This course is helping me make my Critical Reading and Writing class for freshmen stronger.

By Margaret L y

Dec 16, 2020

Excellent course! Tons of great tips on writing and editing!

Thanks!

By Sptw

Sep 21, 2020

Nice course. Provide many useful insights not limited to writing!!

By Michele E B d S

Sep 9, 2020

Wonderful course! I am so glad it is available as a MOOC!

By Bedadyuti M

May 26, 2020

The explanations and references were perfect.

By Samin Y A

Oct 8, 2020

One of the very best courses in Coursera!

By Orjuwan M A J A

Jul 29, 2020

Thank you for making me writing better .

By PENTAKOTA S V P K

Jan 3, 2021

Very nice and easy to understand

By Sydney M

Jun 9, 2020

Loved it! Amazing professor!

By Khushalee c C

Jul 18, 2020

very nice exprince

By SHIVEK

Oct 19, 2020

good course

By Nasir M

Nov 30, 2020

Excellent

By Mona A A

Sep 18, 2020

good

By Santosh S

Sep 4, 2020

Generally a good course on drafting. The learning can be applied to any settings -like academic writing, fiction writing or non-fiction writing. What I liked about the course is amazing inputs of various books, newspaper articles, and videos that faculty points us to. Thanks for it.

By Sonia S K

Jul 19, 2020

I liked this course a lot. It really motivated me to start writing instead of waiting for ideas or being stuck with writer's block. The only problem is that the graded quizzes are too theoretical and superficial.

By Franco A M

Dec 30, 2020

It was a little bit less technical than other courses, but more practical. It has some precious tips or insights into drafting.