Chevron Left
Back to Writing and Editing: Drafting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing and Editing: Drafting by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
85 ratings
18 reviews

About the Course

This third course in the “Good with Words: Writing and Editing” series will give you a number of strategies to help with what is often the most intimidating, even paralyzing part of the writing process: getting started. You’ll learn about the “planning fallacy” and “temptation bundling.” You’ll get a chance to experiment with “freewriting” and “writing before you are ready.” And you’ll continue to benefit, through our ongoing “Good Sentences” and “Takeaways” segments, from the models and advice of a diverse set of writers. As with the other three courses in this series, you will also get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1)the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2)two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; (3)a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

Top reviews

MC

Oct 11, 2020

Really great writing course with lots of real world examples and great context given. Would absolutely recommend to a friend.

CR

Sep 04, 2020

Fantastic, well worth the investment for anyone who wants to learn to communicate their ideas better.

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Writing and Editing: Drafting

By Kat Z

Jul 10, 2020

Another wonderful course by Patrick Barry. This course walked me through important principles of drafting and overcoming the barriers of a blank page and unresolved research. This is a course that is at once engaging and educational.

By Hanan B A

Oct 02, 2020

Such a wonderful course! The ideas, the flow of information, the recourses, everything was so beneficial. I highly recommend it whether if taken alone or after the first two course. You'll always find something to take with you!

By Mikaela C

Oct 11, 2020

Really great writing course with lots of real world examples and great context given. Would absolutely recommend to a friend.

By Charles G R

Sep 04, 2020

Fantastic, well worth the investment for anyone who wants to learn to communicate their ideas better.

By Osama I E

Jul 26, 2020

A wonderful, very interesting course, in which I learned the correct formulation method.

thank you

By maureen t

Jul 06, 2020

This course is helping me make my Critical Reading and Writing class for freshmen stronger.

By Sptw

Sep 22, 2020

Nice course. Provide many useful insights not limited to writing!!

By Michele E B d S

Sep 09, 2020

Wonderful course! I am so glad it is available as a MOOC!

By Bedadyuti M

May 26, 2020

The explanations and references were perfect.

By Samin Y A

Oct 08, 2020

One of the very best courses in Coursera!

By Orjuwan M A J A

Jul 29, 2020

Thank you for making me writing better .

By Sydney M

Jun 09, 2020

Loved it! Amazing professor!

By Khushalee c C

Jul 18, 2020

very nice exprince

By SHIVEK

Oct 19, 2020

good course

By Mona A A

Sep 18, 2020

good

By Santosh S

Sep 04, 2020

Generally a good course on drafting. The learning can be applied to any settings -like academic writing, fiction writing or non-fiction writing. What I liked about the course is amazing inputs of various books, newspaper articles, and videos that faculty points us to. Thanks for it.

By Sonia S K

Jul 19, 2020

I liked this course a lot. It really motivated me to start writing instead of waiting for ideas or being stuck with writer's block. The only problem is that the graded quizzes are too theoretical and superficial.

By Kelly R

Jul 13, 2020

As interesting as the other 3 if you want suggestions on what to read (to write better), but still not much on grammar or style.

By LOW S M

May 23, 2020

not suitable for me