Chevron Left
Back to Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
208 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

This second course in the Good with Words: Writing and Editing series will help you become an effective architect of information, both with your sentences and with your paragraphs. You’ll learn that the traditional advice to “Show, don’t tell” is incomplete and that skilled writers actually switch back and forth between showing and telling. You’ll also learn more about the menu of time management techniques introduced in the first course of the series, including “deep work,” “studio time,” and “the Animal Farm Principle.” And as with the other three courses in this series, you will get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1)the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2)two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; (3)a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

Top reviews

AD
Nov 21, 2020

Great course! There's plenty of materials and opportunities for practice. There's a sense of continuation from one topic to the next; coherence is impeccable.

DS
Sep 10, 2020

Excellent and inspiring and at the same time very informative and beneficial. Great teacher. Beautifully presented and organised.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization

By Brandon L S

Jun 2, 2020

I enjoyed the videos and the content within them, but I felt they were often too short and needlessly broken into shorter videos. I understand that this was probably done to break things into more digestible content, but it became rather annoying having to sit through several < 1 minute videos in a row.

I felt a bit overwhelmed with all the reading, not because of the content, but rather the number of options offered.

I would have liked to have seen more practice offered. The quizzes weren’t terribly helpful because they seemed to test your ability to recall information such as author names; this wasn’t particularly helpful for reinforcing the ideas in the videos and reading and provided a source of frustration, rather than information.

There’s even errors in some of these quizzes (Battle and the Ballot); not a good look on a writing course.

By Ardak K

Jun 18, 2020

expected something more than was given. moreover, nevertheless it is said you can do courses in any order there are too much references to the 1st course.

By Kat Z

Jul 10, 2020

This course taught by Professor Barry gave me many new ideas and perspectives on how to write better-structured writing. He communicated this information in an engaging and entertaining way. Thank you for creating this course!

By Jorge A G

Aug 13, 2020

Everything I expected—and a little bit more. Excellent, consistent structure.

By Eduardo J K

Nov 29, 2020

O curso é incrível. Conteúdo interessante, apresentado de forma didática e leve. O professor é didático e engajado. Apesar de ser dedicado a alunos do curso de Direito da Universidade de Michigan, pode ser aplicado a qualquer área do conhecimento. As dicas sobre o uso da língua inglesa são muito boas e proveitosas. Recomendo este curso para todos(as) que desejam escrever de forma persuasiva.

By Bernice A

Dec 15, 2020

This course has been super helpful. It gave me a variety of readings. My instructor is very smart. He knows the concept at his fingertips and he really takes time to teach. I like how he invites his students to share at the end of the class what they remember from the class. He is a gem.

By Jennifer M

Nov 30, 2020

Professor Barry excels in organizing and communicating ideas in ways that are engaging and revelatory. This course will give you the tools and resources to improve your writing in every area of your life, and the ability to express your ideas effectively and persuasively.

By ajenkins67@hotmail.com

Dec 30, 2020

This course was very good. I am learning a lot of good writing skills from both of the first courses that i have taken. The only thing I would do DIFFERNTLY IS MAKE MORRE ASSIGMENTS AND LESS PRATICE QUIZZES.

Allan JENKINS

By Analeil D

Nov 22, 2020

Great course! There's plenty of materials and opportunities for practice. There's a sense of continuation from one topic to the next; coherence is impeccable.

By Deborah S

Sep 11, 2020

Excellent and inspiring and at the same time very informative and beneficial. Great teacher. Beautifully presented and organised.

By Si

Dec 21, 2020

Excellent class. Very clear and interesting instruction that is supported by videos and additional reading material.

By Ewurajei

Sep 30, 2020

This is one of the best self-paced online courses I've taken. Thank you for sharing top-notch learning materials.

By Maria C

Nov 7, 2020

I really enjoy these courses. Not only do I learn to write better, but I also learn about authors I didn't know.

By Paul W B

Dec 20, 2020

I may not be a law student, but this was an excellent course to test and rethink my writing strategies.

By Kathleen S

Oct 9, 2020

Professor Barry is an amazing fountain of knowledge and advice about writing skills.

By CHIRIKI C N

Oct 23, 2020

It was an awesome experience for me and I am priviliged to be a part of this course

By Ronnie G

Nov 17, 2020

Insightful and lots of different techniques about writing will find you.

By MANAS S

Jun 7, 2020

Good stuff, practical and instantly beneficial advice.

By Margaret L y

Oct 25, 2020

Excellent, informative and well-structured course!

By Samin Y A

Oct 3, 2020

Extremely good. Everyone should take this course!

By JESUS G D

Jun 18, 2020

One of the best writing course available online.

By Hazel L L

Dec 8, 2020

Five star for me since I love this course.

By Fatima R B

Nov 3, 2020

Two thumbs up! Everything went right!

By Pablo G Q

Nov 4, 2020

Great class, definitely worth taking

By Waseema N

Jan 1, 2021

Highly professional and rewarding!