Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels by IBM

4.7
stars
288 ratings
53 reviews

About the Course

Getting Started with the IBM Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels is a mostly hands-on in an IBM Mainframe z/OS Environment. A total of seven labs will provide live access to an IBM Z server. The labs are designed to teach you the fundamental practical skills to navigate and work in a z/OS environment. This includes the use of ISPF/PDF dialogs, and TSO/E commands. On successful completion of this course, the learners are eligible to claim the Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels badge. More information can be found here: https://www.youracclaim.com/org/ibm/badge/getting-started-on-mainframe-with-z-os-commands-and-panels...

Top reviews

AT
Sep 4, 2020

Instructions are not rightly mentioned, it was tough to really make sense of the instructions passed in few of the excercises.\n\nHope that the semantics used in instructions is taken care of

AK
Feb 7, 2020

Please to add more power points or presentations while explaining topics. more visual material, better understanding for everyone.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 53 Reviews for Getting Started on Mainframe with z/OS Commands and Panels

By Abhishek K

Oct 14, 2020

good to revise all command

By Antonio A M J

Sep 24, 2019

Nice course a leard a lot

By Juan B

Nov 9, 2019

Very usefull course!

By Muhammad S J

Sep 23, 2020

awsome experience

By Vinicius M L

Jun 28, 2020

Very nice course.

By NAHUM I G A

Nov 3, 2020

very good course

By Khanh D

Jul 1, 2020

Awesome lectures

By Aditya M P

Sep 28, 2020

Good course

By Anderson N

Apr 22, 2020

Muito bom,

By ERNAZAROV U K o

Sep 27, 2020

very good

By Ramyakrishna J

Nov 2, 2020

Helpfull

By Peter S

Jul 17, 2020

Awesome!

By ARTHUR D S B

Sep 25, 2019

Perfect

By Raju P

Jul 26, 2020

Good

By Routhu S b

May 30, 2020

It's really great to start with this course and the lectures are very simple, ease of knowledge transfer.It will be appreciated if the vm time is extended and the little more TSO/E commands to be explained in the course itself.

Finally thank you very much...

By Heide A

Jun 3, 2020

Very informative. VM was a little difficult at first because I've never worked on z/OS mainframe. Lab instructions could have been a little more detailed for beginners.

By Makenzie M

Feb 14, 2020

Some of the exercises were exceptionally challenging as someone who has never worked with ISPF or TSO commands. Some additional hints in the workbook would be helpful.

By edward h

May 13, 2020

It was a good course but it could be better. I think a little more hands on after each lecture would be helpful

By TRACY R

Jun 4, 2020

Great job, Jeff!

By PRAKHAR G

Aug 26, 2020

Thanks a lot.

By Amarendra S

Oct 30, 2020

NA

By Ed S

Aug 13, 2020

Disappointing. Poorly laid out, sequence was confusing, and there were syntax and nomenclature errors throughout.

Some documents (ex:TSO manual) were not included, and I found that to manage through some of the labs, I had to google many topics.

The lectures were a high level overview of what might occur in the lab, providing little insight into why the tasks were being illustrated.

Quizzes should have been after the labs instead of after the lectures. While most of the information in the quizzes were covered in the lecture, it lacked relevance to the lab. One lecture "how to allocate a dataset, started with "Now that we have allocated a dataset, let's go ahead and use it" (I thought I had missed a section)

Some of the hints were syntactically incorrect (ex. exercise 4: sort x a 2 13 a 18 31 is incorrect, the manual shows ascending or descending arguments after the range). Some entries in the lab noted incorrect screen options.

Still, I derived som benefit fromtaking the class. I feel more comfortable moving around the ISPF screens and using TSO. I also think there is potential for the course to be much better if it is reviewed and proofread.

By Deleted A

Aug 11, 2020

Así como hay vídeos de intro a cada tema, también se deberían visualizar los vídeos de practicas o ejercicios y no estar registrándote en otros lugares dejando tus datos personales por todos lados, como sugerencia los ejercicios o practicas se deberían realizar sobre un caso de la vida real.

By Deleted A

Jul 7, 2020

I felt the labs a little messy explanations , I rather videos and learn from them not a PDF

By zain m

Nov 25, 2019

It was tough and also most of the steps of the exercise were not cleared.