Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting by Coursera Project Network

4.5
stars
393 ratings
80 reviews

About the Course

This course will help those new to shells and shell scripting to build a foundation with the Bash shell. We'll learn several Bash shell commands that will allow you to navigate and use the shell for everyday tasks. We will also write a Bash shell script that will back up a directory and email the compressed file, a culmination of all the commands we’ll cover. We will cover: Not only will you gain the knowledge to customize your system, you will have a solid foundation to expand what you can do with Bash on the command line and in scripts. This beginner-level guided project is perfect for those who have an interest in learning to use a Linux or Unix operating system, whether to gain new skills in IT or software development, or to use an alternative to commercial, proprietary software. Those with no experience in IT, software development, cybersecurity, and more can start here and build on necessary skills for future training and employment. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

SP

Jul 14, 2020

The course provides a very good overview of the basics if the bash shell and goes from simple commands such as handling directories to automating backup tasks using Crontab. Really good experience!

A

Oct 04, 2020

It was great course, I was familiar with shell commands but now like I have seen that there are much more capabilities to do. So thanks to the teacher, it was interesting!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 79 Reviews for Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting

By SHUBHAM K V

Sep 08, 2020

bash shell scripting course very better course is command prompt uses

By Rodel R

Aug 09, 2020

Brief and concise. The course is easy to follow for a beginner.

By Nilamdeen M R

Jul 20, 2020

This Guided Course is very effective and very productive to be on better understanding how to use Linux base shell Scripting and come up with the examples on real time how to manipulate and history view of the last commands. it's one of the shortest guided course with better understanding on a limited time.

By Syclef

Oct 24, 2020

The course is fun and practical. Would be really nice if the screen and the text is larger. Sometimes it's hard to keep up with the instructor so you have to pause the videos. Slowing down the rate of the video to even 0.7 (which is the next one lower to 1) makes the voice robotic.

By Jeremy V K

Jul 03, 2020

Very good for bash scripting beginners. The fact that nothing has to be installed seperately is a huge plus and makes people who are new to linux and wary of the command line feel like this is something that they too can do.

By Imran H

Sep 18, 2020

The course was very well made. The instructions was clear and precise. I just wish that there was an easy way to pause the video other than clicking and trying it out on the VM and playing the video again.

By Shivam P

Jul 14, 2020

The course provides a very good overview of the basics if the bash shell and goes from simple commands such as handling directories to automating backup tasks using Crontab. Really good experience!

By Abdarrakhman A

Oct 04, 2020

It was great course, I was familiar with shell commands but now like I have seen that there are much more capabilities to do. So thanks to the teacher, it was interesting!

By Rodrigo B d S C

Jun 24, 2020

Great overview of bash shell scripting and how to use bash. I just felt too fast paced, however I managed to understand most of the content.

By SHAIK V B

Sep 25, 2020

amazing experience through this project i have learned a new concept and i wish this will help in my carrier in hacking.....!

thank you

By S.VENKATASUBRAMANIAN

Jun 20, 2020

The course was extraordinary.But the speed of the instructor was higher.Though it was a beginner course,it is meant to be intermediate.

By Aravindhan A

Sep 23, 2020

Very nice project. Easy to follow and understand. Go for it to learn bash if you are new to it

By Isaac M

Jul 05, 2020

Awesome! If you're just getting started with bash scripting, this Guided Project is for you!

By Araz S

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent Course for both Beginners & People with Basic Knowledge of Linux, alike!! :)

By Sheila M

Jul 14, 2020

The course covered a lot of material for a one hour course. That was really helpful.

By Amrita D T

Sep 15, 2020

Good course... Would be better if there was some more theory.

By Pawar S S

Jul 11, 2020

its short but its the best intro to shell i could have had

By Gaurav A

Jul 09, 2020

Great introduction to bash script. Just what I needed.

By Amy H

Oct 20, 2020

Quick and simple way to learn basic bash scripting!!

By Pritesh D

Jul 20, 2020

it was the best experience in bash shell scripting

By Kasirajan

Aug 24, 2020

Truly great experience to learn from Coursera!!!!

By Нико

Sep 10, 2020

A very simple and great introduction to Bash

By Hesham K

Aug 19, 2020

Recommended as a fast crash course to bash.

By Akash V

Aug 13, 2020

One of the best instructors on the platform

By Virginia G

Oct 01, 2020

Great course for beginners in bash!