Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting by Coursera Project Network

4.5
stars
460 ratings
95 reviews

About the Course

This course will help those new to shells and shell scripting to build a foundation with the Bash shell. We'll learn several Bash shell commands that will allow you to navigate and use the shell for everyday tasks. We will also write a Bash shell script that will back up a directory and email the compressed file, a culmination of all the commands we’ll cover. We will cover: Not only will you gain the knowledge to customize your system, you will have a solid foundation to expand what you can do with Bash on the command line and in scripts. This beginner-level guided project is perfect for those who have an interest in learning to use a Linux or Unix operating system, whether to gain new skills in IT or software development, or to use an alternative to commercial, proprietary software. Those with no experience in IT, software development, cybersecurity, and more can start here and build on necessary skills for future training and employment. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

SP
Jul 13, 2020

The course provides a very good overview of the basics if the bash shell and goes from simple commands such as handling directories to automating backup tasks using Crontab. Really good experience!

A
Oct 3, 2020

It was great course, I was familiar with shell commands but now like I have seen that there are much more capabilities to do. So thanks to the teacher, it was interesting!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 94 Reviews for Introduction to Bash Shell Scripting

By Abhijeet A

Jul 31, 2020

ALL GOOD.

By Kristi N A

Jul 2, 2020

recommend

By Doss D

Jun 20, 2020

Thank you

By Juan C O B

Sep 1, 2020

Genial!!

By Mohammed s

Sep 15, 2020

Good

By ELSHERE A E B

Sep 4, 2020

Good

By Mohsin H

Aug 15, 2020

best

By Omkar b

Aug 5, 2020

Good

By Akshayreddy

Jul 17, 2020

Good

By Shaurya P S

Jul 7, 2020

good

By tale p

Jun 28, 2020

good

By p s

Jun 23, 2020

Good

By sourabh k

Jun 19, 2020

good

By Vaibhav J

Jun 14, 2020

Good

By naveen r

Jun 12, 2020

Good

By Korrakot T

Jul 7, 2020

gg

By Ei T S

Oct 5, 2020

5

By David A M C

Jun 27, 2020

I know this is an introduction, but it really goes over the surface. Some important things as downloading and installing packages are missing. I tried this in my computer using Ubuntu LTS 20.04 on Windows Subsystem for Linux v2 and couldn't send the email. Didn't quite understand why.

I also have issues with the chmod command (it didn't change any permissions on my files). Some people on StackOverflow talked about this being a problem of the file system NTFS or FAT32. I think this exceptions are important to handle. Especially cause after the course we leave the Rhyme platform where everything works, and may get dissapointed when tryng this things on our local computers,

This may be problems of the WSL, but a think many more students will come here to try it.

But over all, It is a good starting point to the Bash Terminal.

By Dheeraja K

Oct 27, 2020

The content of the course is great. You will get to learn a lot of things within a short duration. But the course instructor sounds very monotonous, boring, disinterested and dull. She also speaks quite fast, which makes it difficult to follow along as she performs operations on the screen. I suggest taking notes along by slowing down the speed of the videos and practising on your own system to be fully benefitted.

By ali i

Jul 29, 2020

the time period that this course has is not enough for learning and practicing at the same time but the content is good and also the instructor should give some more examples or give some assignments to make us learn better or otherwise all will be in vain.

By Ali H

Jun 24, 2020

It is really a good course for all the beginners who just started linux and don't know the basic commnands, but for me it was too basic except the script part. As it was just an hour course so i guess it did fair within that time.

By Dhruv W

Jul 14, 2020

More number of scripts should be added this will the help the student to have better understanding. Overall course content is good.

By Prathamesh K

Jul 13, 2020

I almost got 85% ...only few things about the alias were a bit confusing!! But it was a good one..

By Muhammad A G Y

Jun 13, 2020

Nice and Easy course, just wish it was a bit more detailed. Wasn't clear enough for beginners

By Chia-Wei H

Dec 7, 2020

Don't expect too much into the scripting, but this course serves as a very good start point.