Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Basic Game Development using Scratch

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Basic Game Development using Scratch by Coursera Project Network

4.7
stars
473 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this guided tutorial, you will create a basic game using an introductory, web-based coding program called Scratch. Learning to code will allow you to build basic coding or computer science skills and a fundamental understanding in order to grow your programming abilities. Learners will engage in the design process in order to develop an understanding of how to develop algorithms that control programs, use event-driven programming, and debug a program. Note: This tutorial works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

MA
Dec 19, 2020

This course is good, extremely good for beginners. Easily understandable. Since game development is a long journey for anyone, I think it is a good start.

AB
Apr 1, 2021

Scratch is a great tool. This was a great guided project course for learning something new. But I feel, it is too short.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 80 Reviews for Introduction to Basic Game Development using Scratch

By potharasi t k 3

Feb 28, 2021

good

By malepati n d v 3

Feb 15, 2021

good

By mansoor t

Feb 9, 2021

Good

By MUKUL P K 8

Jan 10, 2021

good

By THOTAMSETTY P

Jan 9, 2021

good

By P A R 2

Jan 7, 2021

good

By BADANA V S S 1

Jan 4, 2021

good

By GUDLA H V 1

Jan 4, 2021

good

By Mani R

Jan 2, 2021

GOOD

By Sufia F

Sep 7, 2020

good

By Mubasshir S

Jul 10, 2020

good

By Divya K

Jul 20, 2020

It was a good experience learning something new and of your interest. I would love to learn more from coursera different coursera.

By AISHWARYA U

Jan 15, 2021

Coursera is helping me to practice the projects which are done in our python classes

By aramati m r 1

Feb 26, 2021

It is very good. The mentors are very experienced. The teaching model is very good.

By bollepalli d p 1

Dec 31, 2020

nice and for begginers it is excellent one

By yerra s v 1

Feb 17, 2021

it is a good course for learning

By GANESH G G 1

Mar 7, 2021

enjoyed the class,thank you

By konduru m

Jan 2, 2021

that is good

By Abhimanyu M

Feb 6, 2021

pretty good

By SUDDABAVI A 3

Mar 8, 2021

Good

By GBV K R 3

Feb 11, 2021

good

By Thode R

Jan 27, 2021

nice

By PALLEMONI S K

Jan 7, 2021

Good

By Lajapathi R

Aug 21, 2020

Good

By Rufus F R j

Dec 7, 2020

To begin, this course should place the learner on notice of any minimal computer resource requirements prior to taking the course such as computer hardware system requirements, software requirements and browser requirements. All should be clearly stated prior to undertaking a guided project to ensure that the learner is able to benefit from all aspects of the guided project and to be able to make use of all of the commensurate functionality associated with the Rhyme computer environment. For example being aware of any media software requirements that needed to be installed on one's computer prior to taking the guided project; being aware of any current hardware graphics accelerator that is needed; being aware of any current web browser needed, or any browser update required, or any specific web browser type; being made aware that all driver updates for hardware and software should be implemented prior to undertaking the guided project, plus making any computer system and browser system configurations prior to taking the guided project. In short, after many hours of searching and investigation, I determined that my computer was (and is) too old for utilization in a Rhyme environment. Although understandable, learners should also be advised that they will have limited time to make use of the guided project space and limited time in the Rhyme environment prior to taking the course because the impression is that the course takes two hours to learn, but learners are not advised of any restriction to access. The overall layout of the guided project is good, however the instructor seemed either confused or unsure of what steps she was presenting to learners at times. On the upside, she was easy to follow, easy to understand and a pleasant communicator who is knowledgeable of the subject matter. Moreover, she and the course content ensured a neophyte sufficient understanding of the subject matter such that a beginner could pass the course-quiz plus be able to make use of the Scratch editor. Please understand that my criticism is meant to be constructive criticism and not meant as negative criticism for criticisms sake; and please know that I genuinely appreciate the Coursera platform and courses offered. Moreover I appreciate the instructors who have a love of knowledge and who equally love sharing that knowledge with others for a reasonable and modest fee. In conclusion, please be assured that I am grateful to the universities, businesses, organizations, content experts, and to Coursera for providing me with the opportunity to learn in such a diverse environment. I am enriched by the Coursera experience, and eventually I will be able to give back to humanity and society because of the Coursera experience.