Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Algorithms and Complexity by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
389 ratings
82 reviews

About the Course

You've learned the basic algorithms now and are ready to step into the area of more complex problems and algorithms to solve them. Advanced algorithms build upon basic ones and use new ideas. We will start with networks flows which are used in more typical applications such as optimal matchings, finding disjoint paths and flight scheduling as well as more surprising ones like image segmentation in computer vision. We then proceed to linear programming with applications in optimizing budget allocation, portfolio optimization, finding the cheapest diet satisfying all requirements and many others. Next we discuss inherently hard problems for which no exact good solutions are known (and not likely to be found) and how to solve them in practice. We finish with a soft introduction to streaming algorithms that are heavily used in Big Data processing. Such algorithms are usually designed to be able to process huge datasets without being able even to store a dataset. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

EM

Jan 04, 2018

As usual, complex arguments explained in simple terms!\n\nSome problems are really tough! (e.g. there's a problem from Google Code Jam).\n\nThank you for this course!

CS

Aug 26, 2019

Very Very Challenging Course , it test your patience and rewards is extremely satisfying. Lot of learning on a complicated subject of NP-Hard problems.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 80 Reviews for Advanced Algorithms and Complexity

By Fabrice L

Apr 05, 2018

A lot of material covered in this course. The assignments are more challenging than in the previous courses of the specialization.

It is overall a great final and a very complete specialization.

Thank for putting together all this work.

By Timothy M

Jun 05, 2017

Learned a lot. great material. Tough homework

I appreciated that the grader demanded good implementations but I think it would have been good to have a little guidance as to how to get there.

By Teguh S

Nov 29, 2016

The problems are really challenging, thank you! However, the instructor is not very active in the discussion forum, which is a pity when you really need help and get stucked in the problem set.

By Jason M

Jul 26, 2019

Very Educational and Enlightening. The only criticism I have is that the starter files generally need more modification than indicated to create a successful program.

By Radim V

May 07, 2018

The only thing I missed in this course (and specialization) was more visual, intuitive approach to explanation. Programming assignments are rewarding.

By Vasily V

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent course. One star less just because there are not very clean test cases for one particular problem among programming assignments

By Bharti S

Nov 29, 2019

Thank you so much. You are doing such a great work but i appreciate if you explain week-2 (linear programming) in detail. Thank you.

By Rihaan S

Apr 07, 2019

Very informative course with challenging assignments. It will surely make your data structure concepts clearer.

By D V S S R

Mar 16, 2019

nice and some difficult

By Ak@sh

Jun 20, 2017

Good course!

By Yuzhe T

Sep 21, 2016

有点难。

By Alexander M

Jun 29, 2017

.

By Niraj S

Jan 12, 2017

While I like the content of the course but I felt too much of topics were crammed into one single course. I had to struggle a lot to grasp the concepts on advanced algorithms by just relying on video lectures so I had to look around in the internet for additional resources. Nonetheless it was a satisfying experience though it took me a lot of time and effort to complete the assignments.

By John B

May 07, 2018

A lot of really useful algorithms are covered in this course, however some of the presentation is annoyingly sparse on details (particularly in the section on network flows).

By Juho V

Sep 13, 2018

Lectures are mostly good. Assignments not. They are often very difficult in an uninteresting way such as unintuitive input formats and / or template code.

By Daniel P

Mar 31, 2018

Too much emphasis on implementation details (99%), so one doesn't get a great intuitive understanding of the logic of algorithms.

By HussamAldeen S

Aug 27, 2019

Course content is very good, however the lectures are hard to follow because the examples are always at the end.

By Saurab D

Oct 15, 2018

The lectures are very abstract so, I had some difficulty in solving the assignment problems.

By Ahmed A

Aug 15, 2017

Some of the material was not sufficiently covered or explained

By Vlad

Oct 07, 2017

Too much material for the time given :(

By JICHEN W

Jan 29, 2018

very challenging

By Jose P E

Nov 02, 2017

I'd give it more stars, but, sadly, when I started the specialization, the professors were very responsive and active in the forums, giving help and guidance.

However, more than a year after the specialization started, (this is the fifth course), the professors were totally absent, precisely when I needed their help!

I hope they'll be back or assign someone else to answer the questions of the students in the forums.

By Yue S

Oct 22, 2019

I really dislike Daniel Kane's teaching style!!! His slides are rough and lack of details, the structure of his lectures is loose. Every time I met a Unit taught by Kane, I have to spend much more time on videos and assignments than other Units. This makes me very annoyed -- why can't this teacher be more serious on teaching just like other teachers in this course??? :-(

By Dmitri M

May 09, 2017

I have finished the specialization. The first 4 parts were more or less useful. Unfortunately, Advanced Algorithms and Complexity is a poorly implemented course. Some interesting assignments but lectures are pedagogically lacking (e.g., the Simplex Method isn't covered at all).

By Julian

Dec 12, 2016

Inadequate student and teacher participation on forums, leaving students to figure things out without assistance or collaboration. Insufficient explanation of math concepts required to fully understand lectures.