Chevron Left
Back to AI & Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AI & Law by Lund University

4.7
stars
449 ratings

About the Course

About this Course This four-week course titled AI and Law explores the way in which the increasing use of artificially intelligent technologies (AI) affects the practice and administration of law defined in a broad sense. Subject matters discussed include the connection between AI and Law in the context of legal responsibility, law-making, law-enforcing, criminal law, the medical sector and intellectual property law. The course aims to equip members of the general public with an elementary ability to understand the meaningful potential of AI for their own lives. The course also aims to enable members of the general public to understand the consequences of using AI and to allow them to interact with AIs in a responsible, helpful, conscientious way. Please note that the law and content presented in this course is current as of the launch date of this course. At the end of this course, you will have a basic understanding of how to: • Understand the legal significance of the artificially intelligent software and hardware. • Understand the impact of the emergence of artificial intelligence on the application and administration of law in the public sector in connection with the enforcement of criminal law, the modelling of law and in the context of administrative law. • Understand the legal relevance of the use of artificially intelligent software in the private sector in connection with innovation and associated intellectual property rights, in the financial services sector and when predicting outcomes of legal proceedings. • Understand the importance of artificial intelligence for selected legal fields, including labour law, competition law and health law. Syllabus and Format The course consists of four modules where one module represents about one week of part-time studies. A module includes a number of lectures and readings, and finishes with an assessment – a quiz and/or a peer graded assignment. The assessments are intended to encourage learning and ensure that you understand the material of the course. Participating in forum discussions is voluntary. Modules Module 1. AI and Law Module 2. Legal AI in the Public Sector Module 3. Legal AI in the Private Sector Module 4. Selected Challenges Lund University Lund University was founded in 1666 and has for a number of years been ranked among the world’s top 100 universities. The University has 47 700 students and 7 500 staff based in Lund, Sweden. Lund University unites tradition with a modern, dynamic, and highly international profile. With eight different faculties and numerous research centers and specialized institutes, Lund is the strongest research university in Sweden and one of Scandinavia's largest institutions for education and research. The university annually attracts a large number of international students and offers a wide range of courses and programmes taught in English. The Faulty of Law is one of Lund University’s four original faculties, dating back to 1666. It is a modern faculty with an international profile, welcoming both international and Swedish students. Education, research and interaction with the surrounding community are the main focus of the Faculty’s work. The connection between the three is particularly apparent in the programmes and courses offered by the university, including the university’s MOOC course in European Business Law. The students get the chance to engross themselves in traditional legal studies, while interacting with both researchers and professionally active lawyers with qualifications and experience from various areas of law. The faculty offers three international Masters: two 2-year Master’s programmes in International Human Rights Law and European Business Law, and a 1-year Master’s in European and International Tax Law. Students from around 40 countries take part in the programmes which offer a unique subject specialization within each field, with highly qualified researchers and professional legal practitioners engaged in the teaching....

Top reviews

SR

Jun 27, 2021

I enjoyed all the sessions and it was an amazing experience for me. its knowledgeable and fruitful for me. i thank to Coursera , Lunds University and VGU, JAIPUR For giving me an opportunity.

YT

Nov 10, 2022

The course is informative and current. The course is geared toward anyone who wants a cursory view of how AI is used in various areas of the legal field. I highly recommend this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 107 Reviews for AI & Law

By Gustavo R L

Feb 4, 2021

The course gives you a good overview of how AI can change our legal environment and perspectives, being presented as offering better solutions to problems but also practical and potential threats if not regulated correctly. The quizes were in my opinion a bit to easy, but the course aims to give you an introduction. Some of the recommended reading materials are very good.

By Stephen A L

Apr 8, 2021

This was a very interesting course.

All the lecturers were great and easy to understand. I can't wait for the next course that the University of Lund Law school will organize.

By Atif A K

Apr 28, 2021

Amazing course. Details how law affects AI and how AI affects the future of law. Also it details AI's role in Private and Public Sector. Must take amazing knowledge.

By Morteza S

Feb 13, 2023

This course has provided me with valuable insights into the intersections between artificial intelligence and the legal system. I learned about AI's ethical and legal implications, including data privacy, bias, and accountability, and how they impact various industries and society as a whole. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in the future of AI and its role in shaping our legal landscape.

By SREELAKSHMI M

Feb 19, 2021

It's really an informative course, the topics covered throughout the lectures really shed light on the base understanding of AI technology and how it affects various aspects of Law. For a beginner like me, it's really a stepping stone to an interdisciplinary topic like this.

By Subha k v

Apr 16, 2021

As a Practising Litigant Advocate, I found the course insightful, full of innovating ideas and opening up new possibilities in my field. Thoroughly enjoyed completing the course and taking home a lot of info on AI and the Legal regime.

By Yolanda T

Nov 11, 2022

The course is informative and current.  The course is geared toward anyone who wants a cursory view of how AI is used in various areas of the legal field.  I highly recommend this course.

By Juan D M S

Mar 5, 2021

"AI and Law" was a very good introductory course to legal aspects of artificial intelligence. Recommended for all those who are looking to delve into this fascinating subject.

By Omkar V

Apr 27, 2021

It was good and informative. The basics of AI have been well taught and explained. However, it could have been a more detailed one.

By Alicia C

Jul 10, 2022

Beneficial and insightful information! I would recommend this course to get a general understanding of AI and how it's linked to the law (it doesn't dive deep into specific legislation but rather into social issues and more broad cases/ subjects). It raises very interesting questions but they are still unanswered so it's more a theoretical and informational course rather than a practical one.

If you take the reading seriously it might take you longer to complete than what is suggested in each section, I also recommend doing the legal essay.

By Mariana O N

Mar 9, 2022

In my opinion, the topics are very general. and Iwould like to know more specific topics, for example about different kind of legislations.

By Nancy

Nov 12, 2023

I recently completed the AI & Law course, and I am compelled to share my overwhelmingly positive experience. This course has proven to be a transformative journey, offering an in-depth exploration of the dynamic intersection between artificial intelligence and legal principles. From the outset, the course design captivated my attention. The structured modules provided a comprehensive overview, covering everything from the foundational concepts of AI to its nuanced applications within the legal landscape. The seamless integration of theoretical knowledge with real-world case studies allowed for a holistic understanding of the subject matter. What sets this course apart is its commitment to staying current with the rapidly evolving field of AI and its implications for the legal profession. The course content was not only up-to-date but also forward-thinking, encouraging students to engage with cutting-edge developments and anticipate future challenges. One of the standout features was the incorporation of practical scenarios and hands-on exercises. These components allowed me to apply theoretical knowledge to real-world situations, enhancing my problem-solving skills and reinforcing the practical relevance of the course content. The course's emphasis on critical analysis was particularly noteworthy. It encouraged independent thinking, challenging students to consider the ethical, legal, and societal implications of AI technologies. This approach not only deepened my understanding but also equipped me with a valuable skill set for navigating the complex landscape of AI and law. In conclusion, the AI & Law course exceeded my expectations in every aspect. It provided a stimulating and thought-provoking learning experience, equipping me with the knowledge and analytical tools necessary to navigate the evolving field of AI within the legal domain. I wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone seeking a comprehensive, forward-looking exploration of the intricate relationship between artificial intelligence and the law.

By Panagiotis k

Aug 14, 2023

The course is well designed. As a legal officer in civil service I found in the course a very good introduction to the major issues evolving around the development of AI, the interplay of AI and Public Law and IP Law , the influence of AI on digital healthcare, the various complex issues pertaining AI in the work place and the impact on competition law and more. I particularly found extremely helpful the sources provided in the Course syllabuses that helped me dive into more complex issues and concepts. It was a great privilege to follow a course offered by a renowned university. Keep up the great work!

By Dr. S M

Jun 23, 2021

This Course help me in relating and understanding AI to various discipline of Law through beautiful examples. Thank to the faculties.

By Henk B

Mar 7, 2021

Great course, also included new content from 2021!

By Diego P

Feb 27, 2021

Although the contents covered are rigorous and comprehensive, there is a lack of greater depth in some of the dilemmas presented in the lectures.

By Raditya D

Feb 7, 2021

It's clear and informative, though I think this course is just good and not like extremely amazing. Good one, though! :)

By Nijat J

Mar 3, 2022

The lectures are more theoretical, and it would be more interesting to talk about practical issues. At the same time, the subtitles do not accurately reflect the professors' conversations.

By syamjith p

May 17, 2021

i had prepared the article for obtaining the honours status. But when I login again, the course is completed and the completion certificate is issued. Is there any possibility of submitting my article for getting honours status.

By Elham T M

Feb 24, 2023

This was an incredibly practical and useful course! Whenever I study the intersection of law and artificial intelligence, I'm tempted to question what I'm interested in because there's always something new and interesting to learn. Among all the courses, this course gave me a good understanding of how artificial intelligence affects society and law in different ways. The course covers a wide range of topics, from the basics of AI hardware and software to how AI can be used in various areas of the law and what legal questions this use might raise. Topics discussed include the connection between AI and law in the context of: legal responsibility, law-making, law-enforcing, criminal law, the medical sector and intellectual property law.

By Anurag Y

Mar 2, 2024

A great course for learning the fundamentals of AI in the legal field. I'm not a legal expert of any degree, but even I learnt quite a bit from the course videos and the supplementary reading material. The quizzes could be made a bit more difficult though, to be honest; I was able to do 3 of them without even watching the lectures. Still 5 stars for the good content.

By Arpita C

Oct 2, 2021

The Course is amazing. I t gives you all the basic knowledge you need related to AI and other sectors concerning Ai. One of the best courses.

My only query is Respected Teachers,

I have already done honor distinction assignment but my certificate is still regular. There is no honor distinction on my certificate yet.

Kindly help me

Thank You

Regards

By Chandrachud D

Jun 15, 2021

I absolutely loved this course. It was brilliantly crafted and very enjoyable, not to mention informative, to learn from. I am immensely grateful I signed up for AI and Law, and would like to show my sincerest gratitude towards every one of the teachers who were part of this journey. Much appreciated.

By Muhammad S

Oct 1, 2021

I am so satisfied by the quality of the course's contents. I can have lots of sources that help me with my research paper. I am forever grateful for having found this site and am going to keep learning. Thanks to all providers for the ideas that bring such excellent innovation in modern learning.

By Rebecca P

Sep 16, 2021

Very interesting course with a range of aspects of AI covered. There was flexibility in the choice of topic for the Honours essay, which I liked but the essay submission interface wasn't as good as in other courses. The multiple-choice assessments covered the key points but without difficulty.