Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
12,370 ratings

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

2476 - 2500 of 2,546 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Ayan P

Sep 24, 2020

I started the course to gain knowledge in algorithms but I am disappointed. Of course there are lots of assignments to do which kind of upgrade your skills. But I am disappointed with the way of explanation. The explanations are just like reading scripts. Also, they don't give the problem statement properly. I assignments, you would find the title of the problem but not the actual problem statement.

The instructors are very knowledgeable but I don't think their explanations are right up to the mark, at least not for me.

By Rayeed R (

Nov 9, 2020

Course started out great but as time went on the quality kept dropping. Week 3 is where it started to go bad for me. The instructor kept jumbling words up and explanation was really poor. Later weeks most of the algorithms weren't properly explained and you have to actually google stuff and read and learn everything pretty much independently from elsewhere if you want to code up the problems. The blind test cases were really weird because you have no clue what went wrong and where it went wrong.

By Tsz Y W

Jul 28, 2016

These two stars go to the instructor in week 1. I left the course after week 3 because I couldn't tolerate the accents of the instructors. I got frustrated starting from week 2 where I have to reread the subtitles to understand the material. Please let someone who can speak English fluently teach the course, please. The course goes kinds of fast, this is first course of the Specialization and it quickly jumps to Greedy algorithm, really? In general Algorithm course, it is usually taught late.

By Diamaudix A L

Jun 28, 2022

Terrible course. I completed it solely for the purpose of giving it the rating it deserves.

If you got this course for free, you paid too much. Free Youtube videos are superior.

Insufficient videos for the assignments. Unbalanced weekly activities. Only two of six instructors can speak english with competancy. HORRIBLE project submission system. The list goes on and on.

Don't waste your time with this poor excuse for a course.

Coursera should not have let this through quality assurance.

By Emilio B

Jan 25, 2017

The videos and explanations are very poor. Most of the time the instructors are reading off a script, and everything feels fake. By reading off a script they are forced to "hand-wave" and do not explain concepts covered completely.

The only thing I liked about this course were the problem sets, which were interesting to do. Will not buy rest of specialization, feels like this is just a cash cow for UCSD.

By rctn r

Dec 27, 2022

To be honest, both your language and the presentation of the concepts were too complex and ambiguous for me. I mostly learned the concepts from youtube, I highly recommend Abdul Bari's videos, may be you can, actually you should study his style. This guy is something else. I appreciate your work but once again I understood the fact that knowing stuff and telling stuff are totally different worlds.

By Richard Z

May 4, 2019

I would say that the lecture part of this course is quite poor. The professor presents abstract concepts and pseudo-code without giving an example. It takes me a long time to figure out what the professor wants to say. He should've given out the example before explaining the concepts. The contents though is decent, and I learn a lot in his course.

By PRATIK A

Jun 4, 2017

Course content was good. Explanation of various problems, solutions and algorithms could be made easier to understand by providing more (intuitive) examples. Overall, the course is good at gaining broad understanding of the different paradigms of algorithms.

By Hussein F

Oct 18, 2021

The course is Highly dependable on math concepts and some of the examples are pure math,which means if some doesn't have a solid math foundation,it will be difficult for him to get the full concepts clearly , also the assisments is not effecient.

By Diachenko M D

Dec 8, 2022

This course provides lots of interesting programming tasks, but on the other hand, gives bad and complicated explanations for the problems, so you have to use YouTube, Medium, and all that stuff to find out how to solve the given problem.

By Morgan S

Dec 5, 2020

The lectures are well done; however, the course should be deprecated. There are no active mentors and the directions and exercises do not reconcile. Lastly, the PyCharm package is prone to bugs.

By Piyush J

Dec 20, 2019

I Didn't find it useful for learning as a beginner in algorithms and data structures. The level of the assignments was way too high than the content covered in the lectures and study material.

By Alexander T

Jun 5, 2017

The time claimed as required for this course is wildly off.. It takes at least 3 times more than 4 hours, allotted for the weekly assignments. In a way, this makes this course very expensive.

By Stavros M

Jan 8, 2021

Some instructors are unqualified to be instructors. They may be good as scientists but not for instructors. That may be sounds harsh but it is the truth. I would not reccommend it.

By Sammya M

Jun 3, 2020

Explanations are unnecessarily confusing and of very poor quality especially from week 5. One already has to be an expert in algorithms before taking this course.

By KISHOR

Dec 14, 2020

This courser does not give a good explanation of the topics specified in the course syllabus.

Without good resources it is very difficult to solve the problems .

By Sulthan k

Apr 25, 2020

The language of the lecturer is soo noisy and can't understand the words.

After Listening to the first lecture itself I'm unenrolling from the course.

By M A N

Jul 10, 2023

It's hard to follow, definitely not for beginners. But I have learned a lot of stuff about about different algorithms and BIG O notation.

By Diego J

May 4, 2016

Feedback in assignment is not good enough.

For example, for the points and segment, there are no correct answer in output as a reference.

By saksham s

Dec 30, 2020

Teachers and faculties are not very good at explanation. Moreover all of them had boring faces like they are not interested to teach us.

By Amit B

Sep 19, 2020

The content should be more beginner friendly. It quickly transitions pace to intermediate level. I found week 3 to 5 very difficult.

By kamal

Nov 16, 2017

The programming technique - like DP, Greedy could have been better. I had to go to other website to better understand the concepts.

By Alberto N

Jul 8, 2021

Poorly explanied in half of the course like Dynamic Programming, and all Pavel parts exluding the Change Problem

By José L S

Dec 16, 2021

Course was not clearly explained. I had difficulty following along with the course materials.

By Jian W

Aug 20, 2019

Some Algorithm are not clear, and the homework submission system is not friendly at all!