Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
11,719 ratings
2,470 reviews

About the Course

This online course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD

Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

2376 - 2400 of 2,425 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Alexander T

Jun 5, 2017

The time claimed as required for this course is wildly off.. It takes at least 3 times more than 4 hours, allotted for the weekly assignments. In a way, this makes this course very expensive.

By Stavros M

Jan 8, 2021

Some instructors are unqualified to be instructors. They may be good as scientists but not for instructors. That may be sounds harsh but it is the truth. I would not reccommend it.

By Sammya M

Jun 3, 2020

Explanations are unnecessarily confusing and of very poor quality especially from week 5. One already has to be an expert in algorithms before taking this course.

By KISHOR

Dec 14, 2020

This courser does not give a good explanation of the topics specified in the course syllabus.

Without good resources it is very difficult to solve the problems .

By Sulthan k

Apr 25, 2020

The language of the lecturer is soo noisy and can't understand the words.

After Listening to the first lecture itself I'm unenrolling from the course.

By Die J

May 4, 2016

Feedback in assignment is not good enough.

For example, for the points and segment, there are no correct answer in output as a reference.

By saksham

Dec 30, 2020

Teachers and faculties are not very good at explanation. Moreover all of them had boring faces like they are not interested to teach us.

By Amit B

Sep 19, 2020

The content should be more beginner friendly. It quickly transitions pace to intermediate level. I found week 3 to 5 very difficult.

By kamal

Nov 16, 2017

The programming technique - like DP, Greedy could have been better. I had to go to other website to better understand the concepts.

By Alberto N

Jul 8, 2021

Poorly explanied in half of the course like Dynamic Programming, and all Pavel parts exluding the Change Problem

By José L S

Dec 16, 2021

Course was not clearly explained. I had difficulty following along with the course materials.

By Jian W

Aug 20, 2019

Some Algorithm are not clear, and the homework submission system is not friendly at all!

By Bhushan N

May 14, 2021

Things are just too complicated. Course could have easily been made easy to understand.

By Sonia R

Jul 15, 2017

Teaching technique can be better and more interesting. Not so suitable for beginners.

By Ahmed M

Jun 6, 2020

Was useful to week 4

after that the explanation of the algorithms became very poor

By Sakib A K

Aug 21, 2020

Need To improve more about clearing the topics and also the assignment.

By SHREYASH

Jul 11, 2021

Videos are not sufficient to clear all the assignment problems.

By salman k

Apr 11, 2020

The course is not very specific for my subjects .

By Bharath K S

May 22, 2020

I genuinly couldn't follow it,Sorry!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Manthan P

Apr 18, 2022

Too fast explanations in DP section

By S T

Aug 13, 2020

it's very hard

By Emad E D A T

Oct 25, 2021

not good

By Vin T

Jun 29, 2020

I have just finished inspecting the first course, algorithm toolbox, to get a taste of the whole specialization and to compare other offerings in this e-platform.

I understand this is a difficult topic to teach but this is exactly the whole point of teaching ! Making complex topics simple to learn and digest.

This is my critique of the course in simple terms:

a) Quality of presentation slides; poor

b) Foreign english accent makes it difficult to follow

c) Disconnect between topics, I felt the three main techniques covered in the material were disjointed somehow. E.g. dynamic programming has serious gaps and the whole lessons felt like a big black box that you need to fill up with external resources (youtube, khan academy, google search)

d) mathematical background and terminology / jargon used overly bloated.

By Farshid M

Aug 11, 2019

Great material, review- but course setup is not efficient. programming assignments are failed with zero useful feedback, so debugging is unnecessarily too time consuming. In practice error messages are more informative. I am all for encouraging independence and not hand holding, but when the grader says "failed test 7/16, unknown signal 11", Just telling students to "test your code more" is not a good use of their time nor an efficient and effective way of teaching.

By Mohammad H T

Sep 9, 2021

Don't sign up for this course. The content delivery is poor. The way they designed the course homework is to test your code with many test cases. If your code fails, they don't share it with you what the test case is. You will spend a lot of time wasting to understand what's the problem with your code or algorithm. You can learn way more by spending same amount of time.