Chevron Left
Back to Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life, The University of Edinburgh

4.7
1,270 ratings
326 reviews

About this Course

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Top reviews

By EL

Oct 12, 2015

Very interesting and engaging course. There are longer and more in-depth courses if you want them but if you want a concise overview of astrobiology on your own time, then this course is perfect!

By AH

Jan 18, 2016

Great course, Charles does a great job teaching the course! opens up the possibilities of the origins of life and other possible life in our solar system and universe. thanks to Coursera.

Filter by:

316 Reviews

By Peter Onodi

Apr 13, 2019

Very enthusiastic teacher. I expected a bit less biology intro, and more space stuff.

By Andrew L Davis

Apr 10, 2019

well presented, might need an update

By 张瑞

Mar 27, 2019

This course is very informative. Thank you. :)

By Amy King

Mar 06, 2019

Quite challenging but interesting enough to persist with

By Akshaya

Mar 03, 2019

this course gave a beutiful insight about astrobiolgy. in fact everything, i came across from this were fascinating

By Mirjam Blokker

Mar 01, 2019

interesting, but not very challenging. Just videos and questionnaires, not more challenging exercises

By James Guy

Feb 21, 2019

Very good and interesting course, serving as perfect introduction to Astrobiology,

By Rich Ippolito

Feb 21, 2019

Please mark me as completing this course. I did not pass all the tests, but I am only auditing

By Kamille Morales Lebrón

Feb 13, 2019

This course summarizes the study of astrobiology in very direct and clear lectures. Every topic relevant to the study is mentioned, including many historic events and discoveries. As someone who has been interested in astrobiology and has been exposed to this new field of study by collaborating in outreach with astrobiologists like Dr. Abel Mendez in Puerto Rico, this course provides a brief compendium and an open invitation to get involved. I look forward to more ways of learning astrobiology online.

By Gaeun Kim

Feb 08, 2019

Excellent course for learning basic concepts of Astrobiology. It covers various topics including microbiology, history, and social implications of finding extraterrestrial intelligence.