Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,506 ratings

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

DK

Aug 11, 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM

Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 2,406 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Mustafa M

Apr 7, 2020

A good course for beginners to understand the basics of BigData and the history behind it. Learned basic definitions and understanding of terms used in BigData. Hand on practice to install VirtualBox and run hadoop basic commands in Cloudera Sandbox.

By Tariq A

Dec 27, 2019

I believe that I developed an understanding of the Introduction to big data. This is what I was interested in achieving. This is the first course I have taken from Online-learning.com and I feel that I am achieving a good understanding of big data.

By Oscar J M T

Sep 21, 2018

Creo que es un curso que explica muy bien las bases de Big Data y analítica. En ciertos momentos es demasiado básico pero es entendible pues esta orientado a muchos perfiles, no necesariamente experimentados en desarrollo de aplicaciones o analítica.

By Jaime R

Jun 4, 2021

F​or folks in industry, the first 2 weeks were painfully/needlessly slow. All material one knows, and quiz answers seemed a bit arbitrary at times. Week 3 was VERY useful material, the meat of gaps in my knowledge that I'm trying to address.

By Shreya V

Jul 23, 2017

This course gives the student an amazing exposure to the world of Big Data and in a very understandable way creates the concepts. The assignments really help in making the concepts stronger and give another level of confidence to the student.

By Monika B

Jan 18, 2017

Great introduction course. The pace is slow enough that a person without technical background should be able to follow it. However as you are not restricted to only do the current week task its also great for someone who had some experience.

By Eugene V

Feb 16, 2017

Good INTRODUCTION , an understanding of data management will help digest alot of it. But very simple and elegant course with only simple concepts to grasp which in reality covers big data pretty well! Excited to take the rest of the courses

By Chris V

Oct 12, 2016

If you're unfamiliar with how big data is processed and what makes it unique from "regular" data, this is a good introductory course. It provides sufficient detail to understand the key concepts, programs, and methodologies around Big Data.

By Marco A G O

Jul 24, 2019

Include more practical exercises per chapter, the student must wait until the end of the course for some on-hand laboratories. Add more details for some of the slides (Hadoop and Map-Reduce) so the student can use them for later reviews.

By Ingrid B

Mar 10, 2018

I didn't like the first assignment playing with the shapes in powerpoint; I almost quit and did a different specialization. Everything else was good. I felt very powerful "Enabling Virtualization" on my PC and getting Virtual Box to run.

By Fernanda G

Apr 4, 2018

Las primeras sesiones podrían condensarse más (aumentando la velocidad, no cortando contenido) y hacer más ejercicios de Hadoop al final, y explicar más sobre las aplicaciones de el mismo, o aplicar una herramienta alternativa también.

By Julien C

Oct 28, 2017

The speaking pace should be quite constant (sometimes it's slow, sometimes it's fast). Examples are useful. The Flamingo example is quite boring though. Interviews with experts are very useful to understand the application of Big Data.

By Richard W

Aug 3, 2017

The course gives a nice overview of the drivers of big data and the challenges of the process of acquiring value from it. Point of improvement: the video transcripts contain quite some errors, likely due to automatic speach conversion.

By Matteo B

Jan 6, 2018

The introduced concepts are quite useful, however the quality of the presentation is a bit poor (I mean the lady who teaches has a really poor screen presence and is not really very engaging).

Nevertheless, the course is quite good.

By Nester P

Jul 13, 2017

A good introduction to the terms and concepts of Big Data. I was personally hoping for more hands on work with the Hadoop framework (an assignment / homework would have been nice). The lectures seems to be quite monotone at times.

By Colin B

Nov 5, 2016

Excellent course for beginner in the world of big data. Some issues with the hands-on lab (maybe due to a change in Cloudera softs). Provided examples were not working as-is for me, because of some path issues. But great anyway.

By Tanmay G

Nov 6, 2017

Good course to give you an overview of Big Data; best thing being it includes Hadoop programming basics as well. Interesting as well as a bit challenging course to learn about Big Data.I would surely recommend this to a friend.

By piaoyang

Feb 24, 2020

The first two weeks' course is really academic style, introducing many conceptions ahead. It could be more concise.

The third week is useful, but it's short and not much in detail, maybe just enough for an introduction course.

By Jeff R

Jul 11, 2016

This course got upgraded from 2015 to 2016. I wish I did not have to take twice because all the assignments and material seemed the same. Maybe next time you upgrade give students the credit for the classes they already took.

By Rohit P

Apr 2, 2020

Nice course, very informative, only suggestion is to add details on how to install the Hadoop environment in Linux, rather than using an image to run on a VM in Windows or MAC. Programmers using Linux would benefit from it.

By Rafa G

Jul 18, 2019

I looked for many sources to get started in Big Data and, after a lot of filtering, I opted for UC San Diego. I am very satisfied although in the final exercise of this first course I found problems outside the script.

By P V

Dec 30, 2016

This is an introductory course which met my expectations, giving overview with a little hands-on experience. Though instructional skills were not to the mark, supporting material and assignment instructions were good.

By Abhinav S

Jun 29, 2017

It is a good course for someone looking to learn the basics. Some of the things might not get instantly clear but I am hoping that as we move forward through other courses in the series, the concepts will be clearer.

By Sahitesh R

Apr 14, 2018

Introsuction to the Big data was too boring. Please reduce the theoretical content to make it interesting. Week 3 material for Hadoop is awesome. Loved playing around with distributed file system for the first time

By Yugal A

Aug 25, 2017

Everything was good. Only CloudEra setup could have been explained better. Since I had used another Tutorial, I could see the missing links and proceed. Not sure if other people are running into simliar situations.