Chevron Left
Back to Mathematical Biostatistics Boot Camp 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematical Biostatistics Boot Camp 1 by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
295 ratings
64 reviews

About the Course

This class presents the fundamental probability and statistical concepts used in elementary data analysis. It will be taught at an introductory level for students with junior or senior college-level mathematical training including a working knowledge of calculus. A small amount of linear algebra and programming are useful for the class, but not required....

Top reviews

DH

Jun 05, 2017

I knew a lot about probability before starting this course, but I didn't know much of anything about frequentist statistics. This course helped me understand some tricky concepts.

PB

Jan 12, 2016

Very concise, well-presented course. This was my second time taking it as a refresher. Prof. Caffo does a great job presenting the materials. However, prepare to be challenged.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 63 Reviews for Mathematical Biostatistics Boot Camp 1

By Madhu S

Mar 28, 2018

I liked the course. Need good maths skills. Would prefer to have a review/HW after each lecture than at the end of each week.

By JOSE D J N R

May 19, 2020

I think this a good course for practicing concepts, but the quizzes are not quite appropriate for a beginner's course.

By Vivek

Sep 09, 2018

Great course, excellent homework/quizzes and comparatively rigorous treatment by a great Prof.

By Aaron B

Jul 03, 2017

A solid course on some of the fundamental principles of statistics and probability.

By Eva P

Nov 02, 2017

Very advanced, I liked instructor, the way he explained, very understandable!

By Francisco Q

Nov 16, 2015

It´s a very complete course, you need to know a littel bit of calculus.

By Adam L

Feb 10, 2017

Lectures are rigorous. Homework and Quiz problems are very helpful!

By Katarzyna M P

Dec 13, 2016

Nice course giving strong mathematical basis for statistics

By Abhishek B

Feb 23, 2016

Statistics was never this interesting! Thanks a ton Bryan!

By Julian R S

Nov 16, 2017

Great course which covers many aspects of statistics.

By Nart B A

Jul 21, 2016

A perfect introduction to mathematical statistics.

By Rakshanya S

Oct 26, 2017

Very useful course. Absolutely enjoyed learning .

By 王彭越

Sep 18, 2017

very interesting and able to follow!

By PULICANI S

Dec 05, 2019

Dense but well explained.

By Le B Y

Apr 23, 2019

Very good course.

By Hariz S

Feb 16, 2017

Good introduction

By MOHAMMAD G A A

Jun 19, 2020

A great course

By Lin H

Nov 05, 2015

great course

By Sai Y

Apr 08, 2018

Nice class!

By In K P

Sep 25, 2017

Great

By Ahmed E

Aug 24, 2018

Content is very good but please make it more MOOC friendly. More diagrams and animations to help visualize concepts would be useful. Also try to give more layman explanations for concepts getting through stats jargon was sometimes a struggle. Overall a pleasing course though!

By Peter W

May 04, 2016

Advanced level academic style statistics course. I liked the mathematical style of the course, which also brings me to the only one critics I have. The course is lacking a bit intuitive explanations. Otherwise, totally recommendable.

By Zixiao L

May 16, 2019

This course taught me a lot on statistics, but the courseware is a little boring for me. I think the courseware will be better if it becomes more vivid. Overall it is a very good course and I get a lot of expected knowledge.

By K J

Jun 01, 2017

Overall good lectures and good practice material. Certainly not an introductory stat course - requires working knowledge of calculus and basic biostats.