Chevron Left
Back to Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
460 ratings
94 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

Filter by:

76 - 90 of 90 Reviews for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

By Timothy M

Nov 14, 2019

Awesome!

By Miguel L

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent introduction to business statistics

By vivek s

May 20, 2017

Thanks!

By male i

Jan 12, 2017

good information shared

By Guilherme C

Dec 17, 2017

Comprehensive understanding of statistics and introduction to data.

By Yu Y

Jul 01, 2019

A good intro course for beginner. For engineers who already took statistical course at school, this course is a little simple.

By Guillermo N P

Sep 20, 2019

It is an excellent course for basic stadistics. The teacher makes it with her transparent explanations really easy to understand every concep

By Andras I

Nov 21, 2019

It was a good (re) introduction to the basics of statistics with 2 main problems:

1, I felt that the (compulsory) reading material (Online Statistics Education: An online multimedia Course of Study) actually provided more value than the videos - with the videos adding some Excel practical use cases.

2, There wasn't much "exploration and producing" of data in the course. I understand the basics of statistics are necessary but it would be just as important to introduce main data sources one can use for various economics research (given this is part of the Managerial Economics and Business Analysis specialisation).

Other than that, I found the course useful and would recommend it to someone lacking the basics of statistics or needs a refresher like I did.

By Thays C D

May 14, 2018

I really enjoy the course,it's very well made and helpful but I missed some estrategies as hypothesis and more diverse exercises. Even so, it's de basis and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to understant better how to analyse data.

By Tommy P

Jul 13, 2018

Worst Coursera course I've taken. Videos were too long, and repetitive. Assessments strayed from topics covered, and relied more on petty test taking tricks than actually assessing information learned. For example, questions that test your grammar skills more than your knowledge of statistics.

By Nicholas J B

Jun 13, 2018

Hard to understand teacher. Lots of material to cover and moves too fast through it.

By Nathaniel M

Nov 08, 2019

Videos were not very helpful in understanding the material. Professor simply read from a script and it was not enjoyable watching the recorded videos/easy to learn.

By Kevin C

Apr 17, 2019

Too many quiz questions that often have to go back to review videos and answers aren't clear after watching. Have to open MULTIPLE EXCEL files. Just open one with multiple tabs

By Jingting L

Sep 16, 2019

This course is a joke. As a former business analyst turned data scientist, I found numerous basic conceptual errors in its one and only peer review project. It does not cover much depth or breadth of topic either. Much of quiz work is repetitive motions of downloading a file and finding averages, medians, stdev etc. Data is the new oil and I expected a more thorough overview from this course.

By Chris K

Nov 07, 2019

Videos poorly correlated to graded questions