Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.1
464 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

Top reviews

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 108 Reviews for Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

By Michael M

Jun 07, 2018

There are very small quizzes in the course, few examples, and unavailable background for old technologies. I have completed this course only for specialization.

By Katsiaryna S

Oct 31, 2016

This course is ok, but it gives only high level overview of cloud technologies. I will do the second part, but I will do a free version. I don't think that it's worse this money.

By Rakesh C

Jan 06, 2018

Good subject. The pace of the course is a little slow.

By Alex T

Jan 14, 2017

Not enough depth.

By Niels R

Jul 07, 2018

This course provides a lot of poorly structured information in quick succession. You're bombarded with acronyms and technical designations without recaps of what they stood for. At the end of each weekly session there is a very short quiz with questions that are weakly related to the course content and have subjective answers like "which application is best for purpose X". You can complete the quizes easily by retrying and won't typically come away from them feeling like you understood all of the material, let alone were able to prove that you did. It's kind of a worst of both world situation where the provided material is challenging, but the examination is not and you end up with a certificate that really doesn't stand for anything.

By Alexandre C

Jun 13, 2018

I think that some topics were handled a bit too superficially, obviously we can dig for more information, but I was expecting a little bit more, considering that I really liked the previous courses on the track.

By Miklós A R

Jul 16, 2017

The content is very good, the course gives a wide overview on the topics. On the other hand for me it was a bit slow and found many repetitions in the course videos, the exams could have been harder and could have helped to deepen understanding a bit more. I was lacking the programming assignments, as well.

By ShiBo Z

Oct 04, 2016

Wish there will be some lab assignments, for example doing some real work on AWS.

By Chau N

Jul 08, 2017

Lectures are a bit long, causing me to lose focus sometimes.

By Dhiraj s

Jan 15, 2017

Highly recommended .Wonderful course and good content but a bit slow ..Could have been faster.

By Margerite B

Jan 29, 2018

Very theoretical course. Lots of information. For me it was a little bit to much.

By Daren T

Sep 28, 2016

Consider adding a programming assignment to the course curriculum. Please address content issues in a timely manner. Thank you.

By Aditya K

Aug 01, 2018

I would have loved less content and more deep dive.

By gaurav

Jul 11, 2019

Should include some progrmming assignment. Also, some practice on the real cloud.

By AJ C

Jul 14, 2019

Relevant topics, bad lectures. Lots of Jargon, not enough context. Went straight into "how" technologies work without properly explaining why technologies were needed.

By Edwin G

Nov 11, 2019

It was difficult to follow the lectures quite often. Sentences weren't clear and consistent at times. The course more-or-less felt like it was being read from a prompt and not very engaging. I would like to have seen more enthusiasm from the lectures. In addition, I don't think that there was a lot of depth into the core technologies that built the tools that were taught. Basically, the course felt like it was more about tools than concepts. For example, I don't understand the point of spending 12 minutes talking about the DropBox API.

By Chuxing C

Sep 09, 2016

Coming out from two very good predecessors (C3, parts 1&2), this course is somewhat a disappointment. The contents are too broad without real focused depth, and too much time spent on background info in almost all lectures. There ought to be more hands-on practices, and the assessments should be more challenging towards understanding, rather than matching terms.

By Amar P R

Oct 13, 2016

It tries to cover a lot of ground. Lack of some practical tasks.

By Patrick W

May 29, 2017

very basic

By pengwei

Jan 27, 2017

sleepy lecture

By Yaron K

Aug 27, 2017

A list of Cloud technologies and Services, but without use-cases *clearly* highlighting the differences between them, their relative strengths and limitations and explaining what should be used when [except for the various Amazon storage offerings]. Gave it two stars and not one because the lecturers are enthusiastic about the subject matter and they did try to give use-cases.

By Anton T

May 06, 2018

Too vague. Hard to understand applicability and required environment for presented technologies.

By Kevin R

Sep 02, 2016

This course is neither high level nor low level. After having taking Cloud Computing Concepts Part I and 2 (which were excellent), I expected a continuation of the very deep level of technical material. This course doesn't do this. Instead it is sort of much higher level except that the instructor fails to stay at the high level and will suddenly go deep - but without providing the detail so that someone to whom this is new will be totally lost. Given that I was expecting the technical depth of CCC parts 1 and 2, I already had much of the knowledge that was presented and could figure out what the instructor was trying to present, but I felt bad for someone who wasn't already familiar with the material. It is my opinion that the course needs to be taken offline and redone.

Note: Apparently I took a prior version of CCC parts 1 and 2 so my comments on those two courses may or may not apply anymore.

By Olivier D

Nov 22, 2016

Interresting, but too easy to understand. Not much details. Very easy course, but you won't learn a lot.

By Gideon P

Jan 26, 2018

The teachers were just reading off of slides, quizzes were passable without ever watching the content, course followed no structure.