Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,107 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 383 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Priya C

Jul 5, 2020

The last 2 assignments had some issues in the results. Those need to be fixed to save us some time.

By Laura M

Apr 16, 2020

Muy interesante, especialmente para aquellos que estamos iniciandonos en entender este mundillo.

By Shalin M

Sep 23, 2019

The course is very well designed and taught, however the peer review system is a real pain.

By Alex g

May 18, 2020

4.7 - an excellent class although be prepared for some challenging problems sets!

By Tom F

Jun 26, 2020

Great introduction to computational thinking and coding.

By Sun T

Nov 5, 2019

The auto-grade assignment in Week 4 should be improved.

By GANDIKOTA R

Sep 5, 2021

Very good for good learners and beginers

By Nirvan

May 11, 2020

The last assignment had a few bugs

By Praveen K

Jul 7, 2020

The practice task is not enough.

By ank j

Jul 28, 2020

Very educational. Thank you

By chao w

Dec 25, 2019

great way to start with

By Kenny P

Sep 15, 2020

it was interesting

By Diyaben D P

Sep 3, 2021

good experience

By Thắng T T

Apr 29, 2022

so good

By MARAM N R

Sep 13, 2021

good

By Vanukuri V K R

Sep 9, 2021

4

By Jess

Jul 8, 2021

The first three weeks were very well presented and instructed. It was challenging and interesting for me (I don't have a computer science background). However, the pace and level of difficulty are accelerated in Week 4. You're expected to go from having no Python knowledge to being able to solve multiple-step programming assignments which the videos give a cursory explanation to. The videos would probably be sufficient for someone who already has a strong Python or programming background.

By Alexander M

Jun 19, 2021

T​he first 3 weeks of the course are very enlightening for someone new to computer science, but the fourth week of the course suffers from a significant difficulty spike when trying to answer questions involving python programming. Issues include expecting the learner to know concepts not mentioned in videos and a lack of help with python programming questions.

By Stephanie M

Jul 13, 2020

There are giant leaps in logic for the assignments using python. It was not friendly for someone with no python experience.

By Prasad K

Apr 2, 2019

Not very rigorous course. However, it is OK for an introductory course for non CS students.

By Vishal K

Aug 30, 2020

it was nice But not in deep.

By Kristin G

Aug 13, 2021

This course is well-intended, but falls short of its goals. Far too much time is spent on the very basic concepts (the 1st 3 weeks), leaving almost no time for learning the Python programming in the 4th week at the level they expect. If you get stuck, there is no support. No one answered the question I posted online, and when I emailed a question, I got a response that my question would be answered in days. Considering each section is only 1 week long, waiting days for an answer prevents me from submitting my project on time.

The projects all go one step beyond what you were taught, with no opportunities to practice incremental steps to develop the thought processes that would enable one to move independently to writing programming beyond the course materials. Also, basic program formats are not taught (when to use parantheses vs brackets, for example), so executing code results in error messages before one can get to the point of testing functions.

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating. Messages pop up in the middle of the videos telling me I'm meeting my learning goals, which then knock me out of the video, so I have to go back and find my place again. There are constant "add-on" purchase pressures and daily adverts trying to convince me to pursue a Masters when I hate the course I'm taking currently.

If you just need to get a certificate, go ahead and take this course. But if you actually want to see if programming is for you, take a real class. Or purchase a book for half the price of this course and teach yourself, as this course doesn't provide any benefits beyond what you can find in a book

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating.

By Baoshun Y

Oct 5, 2020

This course is disappointing. It does not provide useful information in the first 3 weeks, and rush to python introduction in the lask week without enough excise and clarification.

By Ryan L

Aug 1, 2019

Terrible. Too many bugs in the autograder. Need more specific guidelines for submission in section 4.8