Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,363 ratings

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AK

Dec 13, 2022

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about Computation Thinking in an effortless manner. I am delighted with this course. Thanks to UPenn and Coursera for giving me this opportunity.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 459 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By W J

Feb 8, 2021

This course is fantastic. I look forward to taking the specialization course from University of Pennsylvania.

By Saayan

Apr 17, 2020

Great! There are a lot things I learnt in this course that I can use in my life to solve real world problems.

By Jude F

Feb 11, 2022

Absolutely engaging, enlightening and educative. Great lecturers.

Week 4 was demanding but I found a way out.

By Son T N

May 25, 2020

The course is very well-structured to equip students with the foundation to start learning computer science.

By Yizhuo W

Feb 6, 2020

This course is extremely helpful for understanding the basics knowledge and skills about computer science.

By Leonardo J R A

May 3, 2021

Excellent way to learn to think. This should be taught in all grades and levels. Loved the instructors.

By Marc S

May 10, 2020

A very interesting, but demanding course that gives you new perspectives on how to challenge problems.

By Stefan M

Nov 22, 2018

Amazing! Highly professional course material and by far the best course on Coursera I've taken so far.

By Kathryn K

Sep 27, 2021

Excellent course! Appropriately challenging for a novice in the field. Well constructed modules also!

By Snow J

Sep 26, 2020

An amazing introductory course to someone who is interested in computer science! Highly recommend it!

By Donghwi P

Aug 15, 2020

It was well structured program which make me to consider to join in further class like master degree.

By Haniel U V M

Jul 1, 2023

Good topics, I loved the activities, they're challenging concerning all the topics that were covered

By J D

Mar 6, 2020

Solid course for a beginner that makes you think and struggle which leads to learning and retention.

By Echo R

Sep 29, 2019

very useful! It will train you how to think like a computer, and hence to understand it how it works

By Sri R C M

Jul 23, 2021

A very good introductory course for the students who want pursue their career in computer science.

By Klara K

Jan 2, 2021

Very interesting course contents and amazing explanations, examples and assessments. Can recommend

By Adam M

Dec 31, 2018

Very well laid out. I see more folks taking advantage of this method of learning in the future.

By Michael L

Jun 10, 2020

An excellent and surprisingly applicable course not only for programming but to everyday life.

By eddy s l

Feb 29, 2020

This helped me a lot in structuring my thoughts when it comes to problem solving. Good indeed!

By Justine C O

Mar 15, 2022

Great course, loved the entire course module and how it help me with problem solving analysis

By Gopalakrishna R R

Apr 25, 2019

An in-depth theoretical and practical coverage of the four pillars of computational thinking.

By Brandon K

Apr 24, 2019

I really enjoyed the content! It was challenging and encouraged me to think outside the box.

By Astha S

Mar 19, 2020

Great learning from this course. Case studies was the most interesting part of the course.

By DoHyun d K

Apr 14, 2023

I am so happy to find this course at Coursera It helped me build strong foundation for CS.

By Jan F C I

Jun 18, 2020

I enjoyed learning with you! Thank you for all the fruitful words and lectures. Stay safe!