Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,363 ratings

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AK

Dec 13, 2022

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about Computation Thinking in an effortless manner. I am delighted with this course. Thanks to UPenn and Coursera for giving me this opportunity.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 459 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Mingming Z

Jun 15, 2019

The instructors explains the concepts of programming very well. Love this course. A great compact programming 101 class for beginners!

By Carlos T

Feb 14, 2021

Great course! IThis is a great course if you have no previous knowledge on algorithms and computational thinking! Highly recommended!

By Luo L

Jul 22, 2020

Great course for beginners! I have gained a basic understanding of computer science, which really inspires me to dive into the area.

By vishnu b

May 21, 2020

Very well designed course, all doubts were cleared in very efficiently by the TAs.

great introductory course for Python programming !

By Arthasedit

Mar 28, 2023

I really loved this course and this is really useful not only my programming career but also everyday problem that I have to solve!

By Songly H

Nov 27, 2018

Great course, I really enjoyed learning about computational thinking for solving problem and especially, learning Python is fun!

By Jun T W

Oct 8, 2021

Recommended for those who are not having a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science. Patience is needed on some of the assignments.

By Ky A T H

May 19, 2021

Thanks for take financial aid this courses to me!!! It very helpful. Now, I can know and practice about Computational Thinking .

By Arun S

Aug 22, 2020

Amazing course to introduce concepts of computer science! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to dip their toes in this field!

By Daniel V

Oct 20, 2021

Great introductory course. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about a career, or possible career change into computer science.

By Alec C

Jan 23, 2019

Need to change process of grading assignments. Not all students understand that answer is correct and usually give lower grade.

By Christopher N

Nov 1, 2018

Great course with step by step breakdown of computational thinking, leading into algorithms and the basics of coding in Python.

By Dhruv A

Jun 4, 2020

Definitely recommend doing this course. A lot of problem-solving skill improvement. Response time by staff is very good too.

By Yee S L

May 27, 2019

Great introduction to computer science and programming. Tried a couple of other course, but found this one the most helpful.

By Festus O

Dec 12, 2019

The challenging assignments and projects made it more interesting and taught me to always pay attention to little details.

By Adewumi, A D

Feb 8, 2020

It was a great learning experience. I was able to understand steps to take before solving problems using code.

Thank you

By Deleted A

Apr 13, 2020

This course is one of the best courses I have come across .definitely will recommend the course if you are a beginner.

By Maiy L

Feb 10, 2019

Really great course in terms of usefulness of material, the way it is presented, and resources available for support.

By Manish G

Sep 27, 2020

Great intro. Pushed me hard to be self-sufficient. Really upped my confidence that I can do it. Ready for the MCIT!

By Cesar G

Feb 17, 2020

I thought the course was great. Very much tailored towards learners with little to no computer science background.

By Adam R

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent course. Well taught and provides a strong conceptual foundation and a good start to coding in Python.

By Kun-Hua W

Nov 24, 2019

If you are dealing with project management and huge amount of data, I believe this course will be the best fit!

By Suwen D

Oct 18, 2022

Love this course. Will explained all the concepts and allowed us to follow the steps to write code ourselves.

By Zhvecko

Jun 27, 2021

Well paced and fantastically put together. I especially appreciate that the videos were transcribed as a text.

By Dong Z

Jul 16, 2020

This is a great course for people have an interests in Computer Science. The thought process is very valuable.