Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,107 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 383 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Cesar G

Feb 17, 2020

I thought the course was great. Very much tailored towards learners with little to no computer science background.

By Adam R

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent course. Well taught and provides a strong conceptual foundation and a good start to coding in Python.

By Kun-Hua W

Nov 24, 2019

If you are dealing with project management and huge amount of data, I believe this course will be the best fit!

By Zhvecko

Jun 27, 2021

Well paced and fantastically put together. I especially appreciate that the videos were transcribed as a text.

By Dong Z

Jul 16, 2020

This is a great course for people have an interests in Computer Science. The thought process is very valuable.

By W J

Feb 8, 2021

This course is fantastic. I look forward to taking the specialization course from University of Pennsylvania.

By Saayan

Apr 17, 2020

Great! There are a lot things I learnt in this course that I can use in my life to solve real world problems.

By Jude F

Feb 11, 2022

Absolutely engaging, enlightening and educative. Great lecturers.

Week 4 was demanding but I found a way out.

By Son T N

May 25, 2020

The course is very well-structured to equip students with the foundation to start learning computer science.

By Yizhuo W

Feb 6, 2020

This course is extremely helpful for understanding the basics knowledge and skills about computer science.

By Leonardo J R A

May 3, 2021

Excellent way to learn to think. This should be taught in all grades and levels. Loved the instructors.

By Marc S

May 10, 2020

A very interesting, but demanding course that gives you new perspectives on how to challenge problems.

By Stefan M

Nov 22, 2018

Amazing! Highly professional course material and by far the best course on Coursera I've taken so far.

By Kathryn K

Sep 27, 2021

Excellent course! Appropriately challenging for a novice in the field. Well constructed modules also!

By Snow J

Sep 26, 2020

An amazing introductory course to someone who is interested in computer science! Highly recommend it!

By DONGHWI P

Aug 15, 2020

It was well structured program which make me to consider to join in further class like master degree.

By J D

Mar 6, 2020

Solid course for a beginner that makes you think and struggle which leads to learning and retention.

By Echo R

Sep 29, 2019

very useful! It will train you how to think like a computer, and hence to understand it how it works

By Mutyala S R C

Jul 23, 2021

A very good introductory course for the students who want pursue their career in computer science.

By Klara K

Jan 2, 2021

Very interesting course contents and amazing explanations, examples and assessments. Can recommend

By Adam M

Dec 31, 2018

Very well laid out. I see more folks taking advantage of this method of learning in the future.

By Michael L

Jun 10, 2020

An excellent and surprisingly applicable course not only for programming but to everyday life.

By eddy s l

Feb 29, 2020

This helped me a lot in structuring my thoughts when it comes to problem solving. Good indeed!

By Justine C O

Mar 15, 2022

Great course, loved the entire course module and how it help me with problem solving analysis

By Gopalakrishna R R

Apr 25, 2019

An in-depth theoretical and practical coverage of the four pillars of computational thinking.