Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,108 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 383 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Samuel K

Jun 8, 2020

This was a great introduction to computational thinking. All the lessons were clear and thorough and the quizzes/assignments were enlightening.

By Yingyue C

Jan 18, 2020

very solid introduction about the logic & computational thinking, which made the programming part later in the course makes a lot more sense.

By Donrapee S

Jul 12, 2020

great course :). It would be perfect if you can increase more volume for instructor. It's I really can'y hear the course while I'm in Subway

By chris y

Jul 28, 2019

helps student to think and approach problems in any field of studies. great starting course for student wants to get into computer science.

By Liu Y

May 8, 2020

I would definitely recommend this course for its step-by-step training for computational thinking. I learned a lot from each assignment!

By Masafumi S

Aug 5, 2019

This was my first time to think deeply about programming. I think this is a great course! I would defiantly like to recommend to people.

By Hassan M

Jan 31, 2021

The course was very well designed. The video lectures led into the quizzes and assignments well. I had a lot of fun taking the course.

By Mingming Z

Jun 15, 2019

The instructors explains the concepts of programming very well. Love this course. A great compact programming 101 class for beginners!

By Carlos T

Feb 14, 2021

Great course! IThis is a great course if you have no previous knowledge on algorithms and computational thinking! Highly recommended!

By Luo L

Jul 22, 2020

Great course for beginners! I have gained a basic understanding of computer science, which really inspires me to dive into the area.

By Vishnu B

May 21, 2020

Very well designed course, all doubts were cleared in very efficiently by the TAs.

great introductory course for Python programming !

By Songly H

Nov 27, 2018

Great course, I really enjoyed learning about computational thinking for solving problem and especially, learning Python is fun!

By Jun T W

Oct 8, 2021

Recommended for those who are not having a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science. Patience is needed on some of the assignments.

By Kỳ A T H

May 19, 2021

Thanks for take financial aid this courses to me!!! It very helpful. Now, I can know and practice about Computational Thinking .

By Arun S

Aug 22, 2020

Amazing course to introduce concepts of computer science! Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to dip their toes in this field!

By Daniel V

Oct 20, 2021

Great introductory course. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about a career, or possible career change into computer science.

By Alec C

Jan 23, 2019

Need to change process of grading assignments. Not all students understand that answer is correct and usually give lower grade.

By Christopher N

Nov 1, 2018

Great course with step by step breakdown of computational thinking, leading into algorithms and the basics of coding in Python.

By Dhruv A

Jun 4, 2020

Definitely recommend doing this course. A lot of problem-solving skill improvement. Response time by staff is very good too.

By Yee S L

May 27, 2019

Great introduction to computer science and programming. Tried a couple of other course, but found this one the most helpful.

By Festus O

Dec 12, 2019

The challenging assignments and projects made it more interesting and taught me to always pay attention to little details.

By Adewumi, A D

Feb 8, 2020

It was a great learning experience. I was able to understand steps to take before solving problems using code.

Thank you

By KSHITIJ G

Apr 13, 2020

This course is one of the best courses I have come across .definitely will recommend the course if you are a beginner.

By Maiy L

Feb 10, 2019

Really great course in terms of usefulness of material, the way it is presented, and resources available for support.

By Manish G

Sep 27, 2020

Great intro. Pushed me hard to be self-sufficient. Really upped my confidence that I can do it. Ready for the MCIT!