Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,107 ratings
381 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 383 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Deleted A

Feb 6, 2021

A good introduction to computer science that sees some theoretical concepts discussed and demonstrated, before introducing you to simple algorithm design and problem-solving using Python.

By Joan I L

Feb 8, 2020

Great course - the non-programming parts (making flow charts etc) were actually more difficult than the programming (simple Python programming - my first time programming in python)

By Go T

Oct 2, 2019

It was amazing program to learn the computational thinking and the basic of python programming. Some tests were difficult for me, but it was good training to learn the programming.

By Blake B

Sep 8, 2021

Well structured - by unit 4 I was able to apply what we learned in previous units to solve programming challenges I would have otherwise found way too difficult to attempt.

By Gaurav S

Nov 17, 2018

Well taught with good examples and exercises that require thinking but still approachable. Very well laid out and taught. Definitely sparked an interest to go learn more.

By San L

Oct 15, 2020

Great overview of computational thinking. I recommend this course for anyone who's starting out in computer programming or any profession that involves problem solving.

By Ben S

May 6, 2020

I really enjoyed many parts of this course, and feel more confident in applying the tenants of computational thinking to problems I encounter from here on out. Thanks!

By Minh D

Oct 24, 2018

Value, conherence content, life-long skill for problem solving. It the best in Computational Thinking, you can also consider as good Introduction to Computer Sciences.

By Michael V

Nov 29, 2020

Great course! I really enjoyed this learning format and learned some fundamental computational thinking skills that I will be able to apply to programming and beyond.

By Karthikeyan N

Apr 16, 2020

Great course for non-programmers to refresh their basic computational thinking knowledge before taking more complex Machine Learning/Artificial Intelligence concepts

By Sonny T

Apr 15, 2020

Great course, this gave me the confidence I needed to pursue my MS in CS through UPenn. The Coursera platform is amazing and the forums are helpful when you're stuck

By Joshua B

Aug 30, 2021

I​ found this course to be an excellent introduction to both basic programming structures and the overall process of creating an algorithmic solution to problems.

By P. S

May 24, 2021

This is a really great foundational course if you are new to coding. It will give you a solid foundation for learning how to code later. I really enjoyed it too!

By HENGYAN T

Feb 25, 2019

I learned the methods to solve the problem with computational thinking and the course is really great. I will recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

By Yevgeny Y

Nov 13, 2018

More than yet another programming crash course. The only requirements here are your brain and desire to solve real-world problems. Simple and clear for everyone.

By Chian Y L

Mar 1, 2019

A very thorough and engaging experience for student. Lots of video and very good explanation of computer science concept and practical problems involving python

By Binny J

Jun 21, 2021

It was a nice course. The content was very indulging, thought provoking, very good for beginners to get addicted slowly on Computational Thinking in every day.

By Steven Y

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent and thoughtfully made introduction to computational thinking. It is a very useful launching point for getting into more advanced computing classes.

By Yaair A

Apr 10, 2020

Great content and well explained. There's a gap of pace in week 4 where the python content is condensed in one week, making the last assignment a bit vague.

By Yashwant S

Jan 14, 2019

This is a good short starter course for people leaping into IT and good refresher course for some. I could finish the audit (minus assignment) in two days

By Camilo J

Feb 15, 2019

Great course for an introduction to Computer Science. Learned a lot and enjoyed even more. The quality of the material (video production) is really goof.

By Han X

Feb 1, 2019

If you don't have programming experience, you may find the last module a bit challenge. But overall, it's a very good, structured, informative course.

By Jatin G

May 12, 2020

A very interactive and beneficial course , I say that this is the best course one should take before starting programming and competitive programming

By Daniel M

Feb 23, 2019

Great course for people new to computing, but also helpful for those who have dabbled in various languages but want to understand the bigger picture.

By Yacine B

May 25, 2019

Excellent foundational knowledge for problem solving, especially as it pertains to computer science, while not limited to it. Highly recommended.