Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,363 ratings

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

AK

Dec 13, 2022

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about Computation Thinking in an effortless manner. I am delighted with this course. Thanks to UPenn and Coursera for giving me this opportunity.

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 459 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Anisa R

Jan 26, 2020

I loved this course! It was a perfect introduction to computer science and basic programming. I had no prior experience, and I found it challenging but understandable. It was well-structured. I'm excited to learn more.

By Jeremy B

May 13, 2020

One of the best courses I've taken. I've been out of university level study for a while now, but this was a great way to learn an overview of computational thinking without much prior knowledge of computer science.

By Habib H S

Dec 14, 2018

Its really helpful for real life situation problem solving.In some cases maybe we know some of the terms which you will learn here but for using those in a organized way this course is really very helpful i think.

By Cristóbal H J

Nov 29, 2018

Really excellent course I highly recommend it. As a self taught programmer, I feel I have a gain a deeper understanding of what I'm doing. UPenn teaching quality is top notch, I want to go for the MCIT program now

By Huy Đ N H

May 26, 2021

The course is good. However, I have learnt Python basic so that the week4 is not very useful for me. In addition, there was 1 guy always gave low score although others gave high score and he commented "Not Good"

By Artem S

Feb 3, 2019

Great course for students that want to start solving difficult problems and understand the programming better. Great for students that think about teaching programming in the future and solve difficult problems.

By Ezekiel D

Apr 30, 2020

Thanks, alot for this course. it was super helpful, easy to follow, and me loving challenging task. this course allowed me experience that in a handful. Thank You coursera, Thank You University of Pennsylvania.

By Benjamin T

Dec 8, 2019

Really good course explaining the fundamentals of computational thinking. A must for people who are looking into doing computer science or any kind of software-related work and don't have a background in it.

By felipe a

Dec 10, 2020

This course is incredibly good, you don't need to have any knowledge to understand the topics. The last part of the course is an excellent introduction to Python and everything learned is put into practice.

By Jose L R H

May 31, 2020

Excellent course it was a great challenge to achieve but I think this is the best way to learn, I really recommend you if you have time to street a little try to solve the exercises that you can learn well

By Troy E

Dec 15, 2019

A very good overview of computational thinking! If it's your first time, you need to take this course. The courses uses real-life examples and unplugged programming, making learning relevant and personal.

By Craig D

Jun 8, 2019

Great Course!!! I would highly recommend this fo anyone. I have bachelors

and masters degrees in engineering and I found this course very helpful and plan to apply what I learned at my place of work. Thanks!

By Dean B

Jan 29, 2019

Although I knew a little Python before taking this course, I found that I still gained a lot of benefit from the problem-solving sections of this course. I also enjoying learning about different algorithms.

By Piotr

Sep 28, 2021

Very well prepared course, I really enjoyed completing it. One of the strongest points for me was the coherence and continuity of case studies - each week allowed you to expand on your previous work.

By Fabrício D K

Dec 24, 2019

Really great course about Computational Thinking and how to solve problems. Recommended for anyone interested in learning more about Computer Science and how computers can help us solve problems.

By Deleted A

Feb 6, 2021

A good introduction to computer science that sees some theoretical concepts discussed and demonstrated, before introducing you to simple algorithm design and problem-solving using Python.

By Joan I L

Feb 8, 2020

Great course - the non-programming parts (making flow charts etc) were actually more difficult than the programming (simple Python programming - my first time programming in python)

By Go T

Oct 2, 2019

It was amazing program to learn the computational thinking and the basic of python programming. Some tests were difficult for me, but it was good training to learn the programming.

By Blake B

Sep 8, 2021

Well structured - by unit 4 I was able to apply what we learned in previous units to solve programming challenges I would have otherwise found way too difficult to attempt.

By Gaurav S

Nov 17, 2018

Well taught with good examples and exercises that require thinking but still approachable. Very well laid out and taught. Definitely sparked an interest to go learn more.

By San L

Oct 15, 2020

Great overview of computational thinking. I recommend this course for anyone who's starting out in computer programming or any profession that involves problem solving.

By Ben S

May 6, 2020

I really enjoyed many parts of this course, and feel more confident in applying the tenants of computational thinking to problems I encounter from here on out. Thanks!

By Minh D

Oct 24, 2018

Value, conherence content, life-long skill for problem solving. It the best in Computational Thinking, you can also consider as good Introduction to Computer Sciences.

By Michael V

Nov 29, 2020

Great course! I really enjoyed this learning format and learned some fundamental computational thinking skills that I will be able to apply to programming and beyond.

By Raj K T

Sep 16, 2023

Very nice. Although the assignments were much tough then expected but still managed to complete them. Happy to share the certificate with other friends and families.