Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,363 ratings

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AK

Dec 13, 2022

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about Computation Thinking in an effortless manner. I am delighted with this course. Thanks to UPenn and Coursera for giving me this opportunity.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 459 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Deleted A

Jan 3, 2021

This was an incredibly helpful course and thorough introduction to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving. It was both challenging and rewarding. Because of this course, it inspires me to continue learning in this area and pursue opportunities in this field.

By Miguel S M

Sep 28, 2019

Very thorough starter course. I especially loved the composing algorithms , translating to pseudocode and coding into python exercises in the final week. While occasionally tricky, thinking through an exercise and finally solving it is satisfying. Thank you Upenn!

By Minh L

May 7, 2022

I really love this course and the fact that, this really helps me to visualize why I need to be good at Computational Thinking. It's not only for CS majors or any IT majors but it also can help to maximize and automate IRL problems that I will face in the future

By jamcinty

Aug 28, 2020

Great course! Ive got a degree in economics as well as nursing and wanted to get my feet wet as I'm thinking of switching careers. This course was fun and definitely a little challenging at the end. I would recommend it and can't wait to pick my next class.

By Carmen M

Nov 16, 2018

To think what a difference just a few weeks can make… thank you for awakening a desire in us propelling us forward into the world as computational thinking evangelists!

Know that you will be challenged, but true satisfaction awaits at the end-- priceless!!

By Chunbo C

Sep 23, 2022

This course is great! It could be challenging for the last week if you have never written a single line of code before , but I like how it focuses on the same examples, and just keep diving deeper into them. One of the best online courses I've attended!

By Yan L

May 28, 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

By Yegues S

Apr 17, 2023

Starts pretty boring for those that want to get into programming. I wanted to get into the Python aspect. I did appreciate how it breaks down the steps of pseudocode and preparing to write code. Very helpful and can knock this out in only 3-4 days tops.

By Mouad B

Jul 9, 2020

This course really gave more confidence to write code, i even discovered that i can solve problems and detect bugs in my code with a little time and focus, one of the best courses i have taken online, and would recommend to everyone, literally everyone

By David R G

Jan 13, 2019

The coding challenges were tough for me. I have some python experience from prior to the course but I’m really just still beginning to learn it. I don’t find coding to be intuitive yet, but I enjoy figuring out how to use it to solve a problem.

By Darran W

Aug 15, 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

By Bhavna V

May 1, 2023

For students who are completely new to Programming, this is a must to do course. It sets a strong foundation for Computational thinking for problem solving.

I feel I made the best choice by opting for this course. Thanking Penn University.

By Yongchao Q

Jun 22, 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)

By Ross T

Jul 7, 2019

Great course! I highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in getting started with computer science or computer programming. This course provides a good introduction to the thought processes and concepts used in these fields.

By ZHAO Y

Jul 6, 2020

I like week 4 particularly, because it compresses the basics of python into one week. I really like to see the outcomes of programming. In this way, I can see the outcomes immediately instead of starting with the "hello world" stuff.

By Alan R

Mar 30, 2020

I thought this course was great. The progression from manual deconstruction of a problem all the way to coding the problems in python was great. The lectures were very interesting and were easy to relate to real world situations.

By marc l

Jun 15, 2020

Sometimes you feel lonely, but this is a really agreeable experience once you figuring out, I recommend this introduction course for those who seek to catch a glimpse of the power of computer sciences and information technologies.

By Rushy R

Sep 24, 2019

A very good beginners course to learn how to take a computational approach to solving problems. For those who come from a non CS backgrounds and want to learn programming, this class is a great starting place, highly recommend!

By Howard P (

Apr 20, 2023

This course is the best intro to Software Programming I have ever learned in Coursera. The course introduces some fundamental concepts in coding. I recommend anyone with zero experience in coding to study this course first.

By Moeez K

Jan 9, 2022

I must say even though I started this course despite knowing some programming, still this course helped me a lot and showed that there is always something more out there that you can learn. Overall it was a fabulous course.

By Xinyi C S

Sep 10, 2019

In the course, I learned how to solve real world problems with computational thinking principles. I feel that I have accomplished a lot since I was able to write a python program solving a complex problem after this course.

By Theodore P

Jul 9, 2020

I very much loved the layout of the course and the method of delivery. As a deaf individual, I very much enjoyed the ability to read the lecture as the video played. A truly multi-dimensional sensory experience. Thank you!

By Aaron W

May 17, 2020

Extremely high quality course. It is extremely evident that a lot of time and effort went into it. I'm very thankful I took the course if only for the exposure to a different way to attack problems in a systematic manner.

By Shengyang X

Feb 9, 2019

This course is very good, and give me basic introductionary feelings and experience on how to computational thinking to solve problems and realize the solution by using Python codes. This is very efficient and powerful.

By Angela D

Dec 15, 2019

Really great beginner course for anyone looking to understand CS / programming fundamentals. The course does a really god job building a strong foundational element and then concluding with you writing your own program.