Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,743 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

SD

Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.

The instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

LB

Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,600 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Pham G K ( H

Sep 21, 2022

good

By eniola o

Jan 27, 2022

Great

By Kaneria j R b

May 17, 2020

janvi

By mohamed m

May 12, 2020

goood

By Ryheb Y

Apr 12, 2018

Great

By REEM M K A

Jul 19, 2023

good

By 涂志远

Jan 28, 2023

很有帮助

By Deleted A

May 22, 2021

good

By trangdthsa140215

Apr 5, 2021

good

By wisdom f

Oct 10, 2020

Good

By Favour O

Oct 10, 2020

Nice

By Aniketh D

Jun 18, 2020

nice

By Nay W L

May 8, 2020

nice

By Sameer

Oct 5, 2018

bj

By David W

Oct 14, 2022

e

By Sara R

Oct 12, 2022

By Renz M

Jun 26, 2021

By LanNTHSS150024

Jun 5, 2021

By Javairia N

Sep 13, 2020

.

By Henry W

Aug 23, 2017

T

By Anais D

Sep 20, 2021

Me gustó el curso. Si te lo tomas en serio puede ser muy enriquecedor y gratificante. Uno de sus puntos más fuertes, me temo que, también, es aquel en que más flaquea. El poder tener una retroalimentación por parte de los pares del curso es muy enriquecedor, tanto para la persona que la recibe como para la persona que la hace. A mí, personalmente, me motivó mucho saber que había gente leyendo mis cuentos, que tenían opiniones sobre mis personajes y que podían reportarme si habían disfrutado o no la lectura. En consecuencia, fui mejorando la calidad de mis escritos en cada entrega, ya no solo preocupándome de que tuvieran la estructura básica, que el curso pedía como requisito, sino también en hacer algo que lograra suscitar alguna emoción en mis lectores.

El punto débil de esta dinámica es que algunas de las opiniones recibidas son realmente mediocres. Incluso en mi última tarea, que para mí fue la más importante, recibí retroalimentación de una persona que simplemente colocó "Yes" en todas las casillas. Para las personas que tienen la mala suerte de recibir estos comentarios, significa una experiencia muy frustrante después de haberle dedicado tiempo y empeño a su trabajo. No sé si la solución a este problema tendría que ver con fiscalizar las retroalimentaciones o alguna implementación de otro orden, pero, hasta que se solucione, es sin duda el aspecto más decepcionante del curso.

Aún así rescato la oportunidad que entrega Wesleyan University con este curso. La información es entregada de manera muy clara y precisa, y, en general, es un gusto para cualquier escritor encontrar un espacio de tan fácil acceso para seguir aprendiendo sobre este bello arte.

By Swagata M

Jun 14, 2021

The course content is excellent, so is the instructor. As a beginner, I learnt too many things from this course about the craft of creative writing. From the ideas of plot, character and storylines, it successfully explains to its learners the proper ways to create a scene, constructing reliable characters and finally developing the story by concocting successive scenes. The assignments are so intelligently crafted that they help the learner accomplish all the goals promised by the course.

The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is the quite unsatisfactory experience of having my assignments reviewed by peers. After working hard on an assignment, it feels quite unfair when a peer gives a point with one-word answers or often without stating any review/feedback/comments explaining how my writing was. The system of peer-reviewed assignments itself needs to be reviewed by Coursera authorities. The best option would be the instructors themselves giving reviews. An alternative could be Coursera appointing a separate panel/group of reviewers able and accomplished in the field. Without honest and effective reviews, learning always remains incomplete.

Otherwise, the course gives excellent motivation and training in the craft of creating writing.

By Ganka G

May 18, 2024

The course has some very interesting and useful information when it comes to plot. The teacher is quite good at explaining and making everything understandable. Especially for a beginner who has never been in a writing course, I found it very useful. The only thing that disappointed me was the feedback process. To be honest, I think peer review is very helpful, but unfortunately a lot of people in the course don't take it seriously which kind of kills the point of it. I think that it will be a great improvement if the coordinators add a review process by a teacher. At the end of the day, I am paying 40 euros for this course which is not a lot, but it is also not little and I expect to have some serious feedback in order for me to know what I can improve on. I would understand if the course was free, but it is not. I don't think it is a great value for money since I am pretty sure that all this information can be found online for free. That is the only reason why I don't give it 5 stars.

By Wanda J

Jun 23, 2017

I enjoyed this course very much. The professor's lectures were easily understood and followed, and the guest speakers made each module much more clear. My only problems with the course were actually not with the course itself, but rather with the way the course is presented. Some things have been changed since the last time I took a Coursera course, namely the discussion forums, and personally I don't like the change. (Maintaining the same discussion forum, rather than having a new one for each successive group of learners. ) Learners are already being presented with a lot of information which, in some cases, can be difficult to grasp, and now they are also being asked to search through the forums to find someone they can ask for help, who may or may not still be around. Between that and trying to figure out where/who to ask for reviews so that you can get a grade for your work, it's a bit frustrating, All in all though, it's a good course.

By Yuko M

Sep 21, 2017

Great course with clear instructions mostly by watching a video (with text). I truly enjoyed this course and how thorough it was. I especially like the structure of the video--introduction, example, and interview with a novelist. Contrary to the course description, it's not meant for non-fiction writers. It's meant exclusively for aspiring novelists. I would recommend this course if you are a beginner. Intermediate or advanced students would find this too basic. It's beneficial mostly if you want to earn a certificate and mention it on your resume. If you're looking for a comprehensive course, I would look elsewhere because the course only touches the surface. Workshopping lacked constructive input from peers so if you're looking for peers to review your work, don't count on it. Teachers don't critique your work either. But, overall, course is well made, clear and a great boost for aspiring writers (beginner stage, though).