Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Ethics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Ethics by University of Michigan

4.6
112 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

What are the ethical considerations regarding the privacy and control of consumer information and big data, especially in the aftermath of recent large-scale data breaches? This course provides a framework to analyze these concerns as you examine the ethical and privacy implications of collecting and managing big data. Explore the broader impact of the data science field on modern society and the principles of fairness, accountability and transparency as you gain a deeper understanding of the importance of a shared set of ethical values. You will examine the need for voluntary disclosure when leveraging metadata to inform basic algorithms and/or complex artificial intelligence systems while also learning best practices for responsible data management, understanding the significance of the Fair Information Practices Principles Act and the laws concerning the "right to be forgotten." This course will help you answer questions such as who owns data, how do we value privacy, how to receive informed consent and what it means to be fair. Data scientists and anyone beginning to use or expand their use of data will benefit from this course. No particular previous knowledge needed....

Top reviews

LA

Jun 27, 2019

I really enjoyed the material and the way it was presented. Even though I am not new to the topic, still more avenues and perspectives were supported with very good examples. Very refreshing.

AY

Mar 18, 2019

Absolutely delightful to have Professor Jagadish walking us through the course. The course was informative and very stimulating. Opens up to a new world of data science ethics. Thank you!

Filter by:

26 - 41 of 41 Reviews for Data Science Ethics

By Keith C

Jun 03, 2019

The course has been well developed with the learner in mind. The material was interesting and covered some topics in which I was interested. The assessment aided the learning process.

It was relevant to the current environments.

By Yevhenii S

Jun 09, 2019

It is really good course, all described topics are highly important to know for everyone who working with data and information.

By Olaf M

Oct 01, 2019

Good, useful grounding in ethics.

By Michael T

Oct 01, 2019

Great course with lots of pertinent content and examples to use right away.

By Grzegorz K

Oct 06, 2019

Nice, introductory course to ethics in data science. It is a good starting point for ethics considerations in this area.

By Dmytro I

Mar 20, 2019

Good introductory course into the topic. Great lecturer. Think needs more deep dive into each topic with more diverse examples.

By Djoelja

Mar 30, 2019

Great materials. Very original. But I think the lecturer needs to smile and put more energy in his talk. Hope you're having a good day!

By Debra L T

Jan 29, 2019

Presenter did not vary tone, was not engaging and made it very difficult to follow.

By Isabel H

Mar 20, 2018

This is a good intro to the topic for data scientists with no prior background in ethics. As someone who has studied the philosophy of ethics (even if you've only taken one course in it) you'll likely be disappointed in the limited level of depth in terms of considering ethical theories. To be fair, the instructor does state this at the beginning of the course. My other issue I had with this course is that the assessment quizzes use true or false questions - which in my opinion represents a VAST simplification of the complexities of ethical questions. This kind of simplified black and white thinking is exactly what we do NOT want in the people creating and controlling our technology, so I was disappointed to see the assessment style encouraging it.

By Codrin K

Jul 02, 2018

Good overview of topics regarding ethics in data science.

By Hillary S

Sep 24, 2018

I really enjoy ethics courses and I liked that this related to something so ingrained in our daily lives: data. I think, in general, ethics lessons are undervalued so I am glad to see this one offered.

The professor was knowledgeable and did a good job. I would watch other courses with him teaching.

My only criticism would be that these ethics were mostly presented from one point of view. Ethics rules can be very subjective depending on who is applying them, so I think hearing from other professors as well as the one who taught it would be good.

By Reinhold L

Nov 04, 2018

A good overview of privacy, ethics, informational consent etc.

The numerous case studies were very informative, relevant and helpful for the daily work in Data Science.

By Okindo I

Aug 23, 2018

This is a good course, it is applicable to a wide range of fields.

I found it very helpful in my career.

Ethics is key in ever aspect of our life.

Thanks.

By Peter P

Feb 17, 2018

The course provides a good insight into some of the issues with the ethics of data science. Perhaps there is too much focus on data validity and not enough on ethics. This course shows that there is a need for systematic ethical enquiry into this subject.

By Katherine S

Jan 23, 2019

Good course. Challenging and thought provoking. The professor was very good, but, even if you complete all assignments, your certification and grade depends upon having others in the course go in and review your assignment. Even if you review more than you are required to review, if others don't review yours, you don't pass or get your certification. So, be aware of that if you are attending a class in the hopes of obtaining a certification. It is not guaranteed even if you do all of the work.

By Daithi M W

Mar 24, 2018

I've been disappointed with the course overall. it's a very interesting topic, one that's relevant to the times we live in. But I feel that many of the big questions are neither asked nor answered in the course.

The presenter's background is in engineering, not philosophy. This isn't a fundamental problem in itself, but it does mean that concepts are left very vaguely defined. So 'ethics' is, at one point, defined more or less as 'what's socially agreed-up'. But in the questions as well as the videos, the terminology shifts between 'ethically right/wrong', 'appropriate', 'have to do something,' 'by rights', 'legally', and lots more besides. So it's far from clear what the right or wrong position might be in many of the thought-experiments described in the quiz questions. What's more, if an action isn't in itself ethically right, that doesn't entail that it must be ethically wrong: it could be neither. There's virtually no input from other voices, too: no discussions with, say, experts in the field of data ethics, or moral philosophers, or whatever.

At one point in week 1, the presenter correctly points out that ''data ownership is really complex''. So it'd be useful to have a MOOC that makes it less complex: that asks hard questions, and critically examines the range of possible answers. Unfortunately, this MOOC isn't it.