Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
5,372 ratings

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

DG

May 23, 2016

I like this course very much! Rope is the cleverest task I have ever done! Of course, I hope in future I will work on even more difficult problems, but this is pretty good already for me as a student!

PS

Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 905 Reviews for Data Structures

By Atharva T

Jun 5, 2020

The course is great in theory while in practice they should provide solutions for the questions that we were unable to solve so as to help and benefit us in the future. Please consider this review and improve upon all other courses of this specialization.

By Maksadbek

Nov 25, 2018

Some lectures give very limited information to understand the topic. Therefore I had to watch other lectures on YouTube. Hashtables topic have much more lectures(5 hours) for 1 week. But Binary Search Trees are splitted into 2 weeks with the same hours.

By Ayush M

Mar 6, 2017

For a beginner like me its totally going over the head. I mean i get the logic but if you guys can please give more code...

I am learning data structures for the first time and it is bit difficult for me to grasp it all and write codes in a week...

By SNEHAL K C

Sep 11, 2020

The course was little bit boring because of some of the speakers. It was little hard to understand their accent and along with that grasp everything needed.

Also the programming challenges I found a little hard but tried to do the best to solve.

By TONG W

Aug 3, 2017

The last part of this course is unsatisfied. It seems that the teacher in the last part is not very responsible for this course and he obviously has a bad preparation for this course.

By 121910303051 V S T

Dec 8, 2020

Needed easier conceptual understanding considering an average student also please make the assignment questions more understanding rather than just submissions.

By Siva G

Apr 21, 2020

You should provide option to download failed test cases, then we can further develop our solution by solving edge case and improve our skills.

By Mayur A 1

Apr 25, 2020

Some of the lectures were not explained in a good way. Like the lectures on Amortized analysis were not much effective, according to me.

By Pradeep P

Apr 12, 2018

Course has a slow pace by the time it reaches hashing and the videos only reads out the formulas.

By YOUZHI S

Aug 12, 2020

The programming exercises are not friendly at all for learners new to python and algorithms.

By Akshay P

Jun 1, 2020

Learned most of the part easily... had difficulties in some part. overall good course.

By Yanqin C

Dec 28, 2021

The accent from the instructor makes the class very difficult to understand.

By Long C

Sep 17, 2021

Staff support should be greatly improved. Now it is very insufficient.

By Irwan G

Jul 20, 2020

Daniel kane is terrible lecturer, used lots of vague terms

By Anurag C

Jul 10, 2021

A great course but with a poor format of assignments

By Việt A T

Jan 18, 2024

The Assiginment is too Hard

By Deleted A

Jul 5, 2020

Basics not covered

By MAVURI V S S

Jan 21, 2021

Good course

By Yu D

Mar 20, 2020

too hard

By Yash J

Nov 10, 2022

good

By Sri M S N

Nov 19, 2020

good

By HASAN N

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Abdulrahman A

Apr 4, 2017

none

By Mohit c

Oct 16, 2020

.

By Vivek N

Aug 18, 2016

Pros:

Effort has been taken in putting up the assignments.

Cons:

Quality of teaching is very poor and too fast to follow through . Instructors have rushed to present course material . I would not recommend this course . Princeton and Stanford offer much higher quality and presentation on the same topics.