Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization with Tableau Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization with Tableau Project by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
380 ratings
62 reviews

About the Course

In this project-based course, you will follow your own interests to create a portfolio worthy single-frame viz or multi-frame data story that will be shared on Tableau Public. You will use all the skills taught in this Specialization to complete this project step-by-step, with guidance from your instructors along the way. You will first create a project proposal to identify your goals for the project, including the question you wish to answer or explore with data. You will then find data that will provide the information you are seeking. You will then import that data into Tableau and prepare it for analysis. Next you will create a dashboard that will allow you to explore the data in depth and identify meaningful insights. You will then give structure to your data story by writing the story arc in narrative form. Finally, you will consult your design checklist to craft the final viz or data story in Tableau. This is your opportunity to show the world what you’re capable of - so think big, and have confidence in your skills!...

Top reviews

SR
Sep 12, 2018

great content ever had on online. I love this course very much because this course helped me to make how to make story with a data. Thank you coursera. Keep it up!.

NN
Jun 12, 2019

This a chance for you to practice a visualization project by Tableau with full flow. Because it is a chance, so let do it as good as possible for your mastering.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 62 Reviews for Data Visualization with Tableau Project

By Amrita G

Feb 9, 2018

The course in itself is good but the peer review part is not very satisfactory. Some reviewers do not understand the lessons and review questions well and provides incorrect reviews.

By Mark A

Apr 5, 2018

While I think its great students get more practice with Tableau and storyboarding, no new material is presented in this course, and there's zero instructor involvement (everything is peer reviewed).

On that note.... I strongly feel that the Course Team needs to be involved with the first-pass approval of project selection. The most common subject matter I encountered amongst my peers was terrorism, some justifying based on metrics (which was quite unsettling). Several projects were incomplete (or did the absolute minimum), I would flag these for review by the course team, but they would get queued up for review again, showing that the course team is not reviewing these submissions.

By Wei W

May 22, 2018

Love the fact that course loaded with project assignments. I'm deduct 1 star because it doesn't allow me to proceed ahead of schedule. This course is only available about 4-5 times per year, I started on 5/20 and completed week 1 assignment on 5/22, but have to wait till 6/11 to

By Svetlana L

Aug 17, 2017

There is almost no instruction in this course. You just prepare a project and review what other people did. I don't like it because there are some technical mistakes, such as in the last milestone they ask you to submit a project proposal but do not provide any space where you can post a link. No involvement from course staff, either.

By Sundhara D M

Apr 24, 2020

The peer-review assignments are really like a Tableau live projects, after the completion of this course I am able to create innovative dashboards and storytelling for the data - Thanks for the Instructors who made learning like enjoying a video game.

By NGO T N

Jun 12, 2019

This a chance for you to practice a visualization project by Tableau with full flow. Because it is a chance, so let do it as good as possible for your mastering.

By Luca N

Nov 11, 2017

I expected the Capstone Project to be very different. In particular, I expected to have less freedom in choosing the project.

After successfully completing the course, I confirm that it would be much better to have some more guidance/limitations/constraints when choosing the project. I spent so much time looking for data and thinking about a project that I almost dropped out from the course at milestone 1.

If you choose a good project, it’s a very good way to make some practice.

By Grant I

Jan 22, 2018

This course is a rehash of everything learned in previous courses within the specialization. There was nothing new learned here. it is a repeat of the assignments you've already done, but now you do them in sequence back to back. I dropped this course and this specialization when I realized the final six weeks was nothing new,

By Vivian Y Q

Mar 30, 2018

Simple repetition of the previous classes, nothing new, not challenging either

By José A R N

Sep 19, 2018

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11).

I did this course to complete my CV in Data Visualization to the area of Data Science and Big Data.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

By Sushant K

Dec 15, 2020

Really enjoyed the course from start to end. It is a great introduction to the world of Data Visualization. The basics are really well established, so the tools(in this case Tableau) are just a way to implement these. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants a in depth kickstart on their Data Viz journey.

By Omar G C L

Feb 1, 2021

It is a great course. I like the principles and all the guidance through the different topics.

One can learn a lot of good practices in general, that's the best part you gain more experience with Tableau and you can also learn about data visualization techniques which you can apply everywhere.

By Suhaimi W C

Mar 10, 2021

Great final capstone project. I learned a lot by practicing what I just learned. Great structure of the course and experience what other peers did for their capstone projects. Highly recommend this course if you would like to get hands on experience and practice what you just learned.

By Dayli S

Jan 24, 2021

This course met my expectations.

It would be great to have another course focusing on formulas, parameter etc.

I would pay more if mentors are grading my assigments instead of peers. I think this would add more quality and recognition by employers to the coursera courses

By Amy B

Mar 31, 2018

Great course on data visualization fundamentals. That we got to apply them in Tableau is even better. Would love to see this team do a similar course for an open source viz software like RShiny or Pentaho.

By SAYANTA S R

Sep 12, 2018

great content ever had on online. I love this course very much because this course helped me to make how to make story with a data. Thank you coursera. Keep it up!.

By Timothy L

Dec 19, 2019

This course covers the basics and how to apply compelling story-telling and Gestalt principles to create engaging Tableau presentations.

By Jessica R

Oct 20, 2018

The final project was a great way to bring all the different concepts of the specialization together. I really enjoyed it.

By Maksym M

Jul 17, 2018

Great End to a Great Specialization. I couldn't recommend this more to someone wanting to start with Tableau.

By Pathy S N

Jul 22, 2020

I learn a lot about data visualization with tableau project. I really enjoy the learning process.

By narendra v

Jan 7, 2021

Best Course for Beginners. Sequence of course contents good and well explained by Instructor :)

By John S

Jul 9, 2020

Lots of fun - very challenging. Allowed me to pursue something that interested me.

By Ananya N

May 30, 2017

Great capstone project to practise your Tableau skillset on. Definitely worth it!

By Sofia L

Jun 18, 2020

I will always treasure this training since it change my view on visuals in 360!

By Hestia

May 6, 2020

Good study method. Enjoyed learning from peers and helping each other.