Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Dental Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Dental Medicine by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
1,038 ratings
271 reviews

About the Course

The mouth is the window into human health. This course provides an overview of dental medicine to engage, educate, excite and assist you in improving the oral health of your patients and members of your community. We will review topics in dental medicine including scope of the field, what to expect in function, and some of the many ways that dysfunction may present for different patients. This will include discussions of mouth, jaw, and tooth anatomy, pathology, and treatment. We will talk about differences between patients and the unique roles that different members of the dental field may play in treatment depending on the patient and condition. This course starts from basic concepts and proceeds to review trends in current research and technology. We offer scientific background, some skills for patient evaluation and interview, and some suggestions for further learning for those interested in or involved in dental education....

Top reviews

EN
Jun 28, 2020

As a dental student, I would like to say that the course contributed a lot to the beginning of my career. I will certainly recommend it to many of my friends. I am very grateful for this opportunity

GG
Feb 10, 2017

THE COURSE WAS AWESOME.IT HAS ALL THE NECCESSARY INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR A DENTIST TO REVIEW ALL WHAT HAS BEEN TAUGHT AT DENTAL SCHOOL LEVEL.I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED MY TIME WHILE PURSUING THIS COURSE.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 268 Reviews for Introduction to Dental Medicine

By Gaurav G

Feb 11, 2017

THE COURSE WAS AWESOME.IT HAS ALL THE NECCESSARY INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR A DENTIST TO REVIEW ALL WHAT HAS BEEN TAUGHT AT DENTAL SCHOOL LEVEL.I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED MY TIME WHILE PURSUING THIS COURSE.

By Edson C L N

Jun 29, 2020

As a dental student, I would like to say that the course contributed a lot to the beginning of my career. I will certainly recommend it to many of my friends. I am very grateful for this opportunity

By Anjitha P

Jun 18, 2021

Bad i had made my payment for the course i didn't get my certificate

By Dominique S

Aug 9, 2021

I was initially worried that this course would be overly complex and difficult as a predental student but I was pleasantly surprised! This course showed me how much I have been able to learn about dentistry, dental pathology, and dental specialties. While there were chapters that were heavy in anatomy, the modules were easily digestible and very educational. Loved this course!

By Riya W

Jun 17, 2020

I am about to start studying undergraduate Dentistry and this was an amazing course to do in preparation for that. Really informative and engaging with useful and regular topic tests to solidify understanding. Thoroughly enjoyed completing this course.

By Amita R

Apr 1, 2021

It was a great course. I learned a lot about different aspects of oral health as well as dental medicine. I learned about different diseases and problems that patients might have and how these problems can be solved using medicine and technology.

By KRITI S

May 21, 2020

I completed this course today, and I just wanted to show my appreciation for all your efforts! I really enjoyed the way you guys constructed the videos and how you provided an outline on most of them. I appreciate your organization in each module

By Iara H

Jun 13, 2020

Great course! As a Pre-Dental student, I believe this is amazing to get a good idea of what Dental school is like and to make sure that this is what I like. I loved it and would totally recommend it to everyone that is curious about Dentistry.

By Rosana M L R

Sep 8, 2018

These teachers are geniuses.

They really have to study hard for all those years. I never thought there was so much on the mouth, and so complex what there was.

The course opens our mind, and I believe it makes appreciate more our dentist.

By Maha A

Sep 17, 2019

This course was so helpful , exciting , gave me a total idea about dentistry , specialties and made my studying for dental medicine easier .

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to enroll for this course it was great step for me .

By Dominika S

Apr 18, 2020

I find this course very interesting. Everything was explained in simple, but comprehensive way. I didn't know almost anything about dentistry when I started and I didn't have to repeat any lesson to understand the topic. Great done.

By Yi W T

Aug 16, 2021

This course was fantastic! It was broken down into sections that were really easy to follow with quizzes throughout the lectures, making it easier for me to understand what the professor was explaining whilst grabbing my attention.

By Chinnaya U

Oct 9, 2016

I absolutely loved this course! As someone who plans on going to dental school soon, this course was a great way to get my feet wet on a lot of topics. I definitely learned so much about dentistry that I had no idea about!

By Uanna n

Oct 3, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course like how to be a good dentist, knowing the details of ever field and anything new in dentistry, being aware of fields you can work in it after graduation and knowing more about teeth.

By Suzanne M F

Oct 2, 2016

Excellent class but A few spelling mistakes: fluoride/ flouride??

also grammar mistakes: affect/ effect;

is/are. Probably could be more challenging. I'm looking forward to the next class you make. Thanks so much

By Zosia P

Apr 4, 2021

Great course if you know you want to have something to do with dentistry in the future. I love how many topics were covered in the videos.

Thanks to this I know I want to study Dental Medicine in college!

By Dentist.Khalequzzaman B

Apr 28, 2020

I achieved a lot of knowledge! Its a wonderful course, Heartiest thanks to all stuff of coursera and All Honorable Teachers.Also thnx to Dr.Katherin Mam who gives Ans to our every Question. Love you all!

By Brandon G

Jul 3, 2017

As a future dental student, this course taught me the basics and really gave me a broad insight into dentistry. I am very eager to learn everything taught here and more in dental school! Thank you!

By Nick K

Aug 7, 2021

Although some parts maybe difficult to understand, these Professors do an amazing job at being descriptive and understandable at the same time. Great course if you are looking into Oral Medicine.

By Maria A C

Oct 15, 2017

Wonderful course for anyone interested to explore the different specialties in dentistry and also is a great opportunity to increase your background knowledge of what dentistry is really about.

By Nueva P

Mar 14, 2021

Muito bom!!! Aprendi muita coisa sobre a Odontologia, desde estruturas faciais até a doenças que podem afetar estas estruturas, como preveni-las e como tratar essas doenças. Recomendo muito!!!

By Ajeet S B

Apr 2, 2020

Thorough knowledge of each and every aspect of dentistry specially how to rule out diagnosis and treatment accordingly.Special focus on orofacial pain and its diagnosis is really appreciable.

By Ethan U

Oct 19, 2020

Really great introduction to the practice of dentistry. I would highly recommend to anyone considering applying to dental school as it'll allow you to see if dentistry is a good fit for you.

By Hna. M P B

Apr 30, 2020

Thank you very much for this course. I learned a lot and it has helped me to refresh knowledge and gain new ones before restarting my dental studies that I had to pause for several years.

By Brianna Y C

Apr 6, 2020

Good overview of dentistry. As a primary care doc I feel like I have a better understanding of the dental profession, appropriate referrals, and expectation management for patient care.