Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,902 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 995 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Hemang D G

Apr 23, 2020

very good examples to illustrate the various biases and challenging quizzes. Would have liked some explanations for answers for the latter quizzes as I couldn't answer a few queastions even after a re-quiz. Excellent introduction to Behavior Finance !

By Priya J

Mar 27, 2023

The course is beautifully structured and the course materials are extremely easy to understand. Even though I had no previous experience in the financial sector, the course material (videos, readings) helped make sure that I would understand it all.

By Sameer K

Aug 4, 2016

Excellent course. Quick and concise, but packed with hugely relevant theory for those in the financial services and investment management world. Well delivered and excellent tests to cement the knowledge. My thanks to the organisers for their work.

By César R P M

Aug 30, 2020

It is a short (3 weeks) but very complete course, with very useful explanation of each cognitive bias that affect our financial decisions. I recommend this course especially because the content that explains our behavior in the financial crisis.

By Benjamin G

Jul 26, 2017

Good mix of slide pdfs and videos to promote enough thoughtful discussion of the topic to feel like I learned something. Additionally, the quizzes were actually pretty challenging. I feel like those were excellent learning opportunities as well.

By Jiuyi C

Jun 2, 2023

Admittedly, some of the contents are challenging, especially the use of models and understanding of its application. This course spurs my interest in behavioral finance, and I believe this is a great transition for me to enter my college study.

By Jeremy R P L

Dec 21, 2016

I personally enjoy this course, really interesting in different points and open my vision in a way. I would like to be able to communicate directly with the professor because I was uncertain of my level of comprehension through certain parts.

By G N

Aug 10, 2020

after reading Kahneman's book, thought that I do know and can recognize them. It was overconfidence bias)).

Emma did a great job with short readings for each week.

Will try to see and recognize as much bias as you teach us, Emma. Thank you

By Isabel G

May 10, 2020

I think this course is very interesting. I will redistribute the lessons.

theme 2 was very difficult and theme 3 was too short.

It was very useful the corrections of theme 1´test ; why did you not include them in theme 2 and theme 3 ones?

By Sankar R

Aug 13, 2017

It was an awesome experience and the course was really informative and has helped me in understanding the concepts of Behavioral Finance. I Thank the faculty of the Duke University as well as the Coursera team for offering this course.

By Kedar J

Dec 6, 2017

Great Course! Everyone should take this to understand common biases that lead us to "irrational" decision making due to common behaviors hard wired in us.

The test result explanation should be included to further clarify the concepts.

By Lotus Q

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent Course with many useful example drawn from life. The tests are a good check on whether you have fully understood the material and a good opportunity to revise anything that is not clear. I really enjoyed taking this course.

By Yao Z A

Feb 6, 2020

The teachings are informative and well-paced. I love how the lectures are deconstructed to simplify the concepts to be learnt and the readings were illustrated by examples that were easy to follow. An enjoyable course to go through.

By Carlos F L P V

Apr 6, 2020

If you are good at self-study habits, this course will largely meet your expectations. This is not an easy one, but the material is very useful and broad. If you want to learn about Behavioral Finance at is glance, this is for you.

By ANRAN L

Feb 15, 2017

The way Emma explains theories are really clear. For students whose first language are not English, her speed of teaching is proper. I just finished the very first part "Utility of Money". Looking forward to learning more from her.

By Somil G

Feb 18, 2020

Wonderful course! Blends in learnings from Nudge and Thinking, Fast and Slow in a sensible and example-led way that creates curiosity an makes it fun! Quizzes are even better at encouraging good revision of the concepts! Loved it!

By Edo B F

Jun 26, 2019

This light course help me to identify biases that happen when we are making decision/seeing things, not only in financial market, but also in our daily life. Highly recommended for everyone who want to invest in financial market.

By Saleemah K

Oct 30, 2023

I greatly enjoyed this course and found it both engaging and informative. The course content was well-presented, and the instructor's support and interactivity were top-notch. Thank you for a valuable learning opportunity.

By H'ng Z H

Mar 5, 2022

This is a fun course to study. It covers the basic conventional economics theories and sufficiently addresses some common cognitive biases human always had that caused us to not follow what conventional economists suggest.

By Lukasz B

Jan 7, 2019

Great, synthesised knowledge from various fields: behavioral finance, psychology, markets, trading and history. Recommended to everyone who wants to participate in free market like stocks or forex, cryptocurrencies, etc.

By 三己28林佑頤

Feb 6, 2023

This course is wonderful with explicit details and easy to understand examples. The quizzes are a bit difficult, but I find them very helpful to have deeper understandings of the content. Overall, I learned a great deal.

By Ilse G

Jun 21, 2021

I absolutely loved learning about the different biases we succumb ourselves to when dealing with finances. It was really intriguing and this course opened my eyes and expanded my knowledge. Definitely worth your time!

By Bismith N

Aug 13, 2019

The course is really good to develop an understanding of the subject. The content is good and engaging. However, the videos could be a bit longer and should contain additional case studies and examples as well.

By Sara P

Dec 4, 2017

The course was very interesting; both the lectures and reading materials provided were useful and helped clarify a few concepts. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in behavioural finance and neuroeconomics.

By Giftstone P R K

Aug 12, 2022

Loved the Overall structure of the course. Felt like looking into a mirror understanding the behaviours of people in Financial MArket. Thank you Coursera & Duke university for aiding me financial. Grateful