Chevron Left
Back to Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
2,588 ratings
650 reviews

About the Course

In order to make a difference in the health and well-being of a population, we must understand the burden of all problems and conditions that affect the population, as well as how well our efforts to mitigate these problems are actually working. This course provides you with some essential skills and tools that will enhance your ability to describe and understand the health of your community. The tools that epidemiologists use are in fact useful for all public health practitioners, including data scientists, program officials, agency leaders, and policymakers. Whether you are deeply enmeshed in your career and looking to augment your skills, or are looking to change career paths into the field of public health, this course will give you some of the practical knowledge and skills that we hope you can apply in your professional endeavors....

Top reviews

SF

Dec 7, 2020

Excellent course! Epidemiology is my passion and I realize how much I do not know about this subject and how eager I am to learn so much more!

Thank you John Hopkins for this amazing opportunity!

KG

Apr 2, 2020

The lessons are very helpful and the method of teaching is very straightforward. I just wish there would have been handouts for the exercises so that we can easily keep a file for future reference.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 657 Reviews for Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice

By Giovanni

Apr 7, 2020

This course Is a great Introduction Into using the tools for Epidemiology In Public Health Practice. I strongly recommend It for those who need to update their skills or who are getting started In the field. Only one suggestion: update the GIS section as so many of the data sources have changed. Other than that, great class.

By Yvonne S

Dec 29, 2020

The course has inspired me to search out other opportunities to learn how to map more data. I audited the course and think I'll come back to submit the quizzes and assignments. The directions to the GIS exercise have been updated and, though I struggled through, I felt accomplished with my map at the end of the course!

By tunde b

Apr 2, 2020

The completion of this course have me an in-depth insight into Epidemiology and Public Health Science which is a field I look forward to. The information was well explained with visual aids and exercises in order to understand easily. Thank you Aruna Chandran and John Hopkins University for putting this together.

By Bernadette F

Jun 6, 2020

I enjoyed this introductory course to epidemiology. Understanding problems that affect a population and developing plans to mitigate them to protect and improve public health is a noble occupation. The tools and skills needed are extensive. Thanks for introducing the essential ones for public health practice.

By Claudia M G Z

May 29, 2020

I really learn and enjoy the course, I will take the next 4 courses. I would like you to answer our doubts, in this course, to me, it was so difficult to use the software QGIS, because when I applied the symbology the map "relatively disappeared" (!!), I did it around 8 times.

Thank you very much :-)

By Sarah L S d F

Apr 17, 2020

This course had a easy to compreend language, dinamic and interactive. I loved to see simulations of real situations on the tests questions because it seems the knowlegde I had adquire can be easly used in real life. Also, it was important have a shown exemple while I was trying to do my own graphs.

By Lynn W

Mar 13, 2021

This was a great course, comprehensive at an introductory level, and extremely well-taught. The only improvement I can suggest is that the visual material, graphs, charts, etc., be in a form that can be copied or downloaded. I found that the screen shots I took were generally too small to read.

By Taliah D J

Mar 30, 2020

This was a great refresher course for Epidemiology. I appreciate the timing as it relates to the COVID-19 outbreak. This course allowed me to pull together public health ideas and facts that will give me the opportunity to help find trends of the spread of COVID-19 in my community.

Thank You.

By Erika J

Aug 24, 2020

Great content and great instructor - I found it very appropriate for my level (beginner) but it still allowed me to challenge myself during the exercises. Would recommend to anyone considering public health in their future career plans as a way to get started in learning about the field.

By Jhemari Q

Mar 30, 2020

This course was incredibly informative and interesting, and it made me appreciate the work that public health researchers and professionals do. While I had only a vague idea of what public health was before, I can now confidently explain the type of role it plays in our day-to-day lives.

By Princess M

Feb 15, 2022

It's a great course to understand the basics of data interpretation in epidemiology. I learned a lot, however you would need the program/tool to be able to see the information downloaded from census.gov The course was delivered in the right pace, and I'm excited to learn more!

By Clinton J

Sep 8, 2020

A very insightful and educational course for those who have a passion for the field of Epidemiology and Public Health, accurate lessons and well defined terms, thorough and in-depth explanations. Thank you Cousera, thank you John Hopkins University,and Thank you Aruna Chandran.

By Leah B C

Jun 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, as it augmented my public health knowledge and experience by providing me with more focus on the specific area of Epidemiology. I appreciated the ability to learn at my own pace and have practice activities incorporated into the course lessons.

By Lauren D

Mar 29, 2020

I enjoyed this course, and I liked that I could do it at my own pace. I found the information new and beneficial to my continued path towards public health and epidemiology. Instructions were well written and helped me learn skills that I did not have prior to this course.

By Funmilayo A

Jul 2, 2020

I am glad I joined this course.....Overall this course is highly insightful,resourceful and the right course for such as a time as this.

I would recommend this course for all Public Health Practitioners ,most especially epidemiologists.

I appreciate the privilege.

By Manuel F A R

Jun 7, 2020

Fue una increíble experiencia, espero que muchas más personas puedan aprender de este curso tan completo, eficaz y sencillo de aprender. Es fundamental la ayuda que va a presentar en mi diario vivir como profesional social, agradezco mucho todo su aprendizaje.

By Elesia H

Mar 30, 2020

I gained so much knowledge about epidemiology. Especially with the coronavirus making its way around the world, it is good to know how data is captured as far as statistics and knowing the numbers, we can see how fast viruses spread. This was a great course!

By Pavan A K

Apr 14, 2020

This course provided an in-depth overview of the epidemiological tools. Dr. Chandran explained all concepts clearly and kept me engaged with all the exercises. I am excited to use the new skill set I acquired from this course in public health researches.

By Nicole C

Mar 31, 2020

I believe this course's strongest attribute of this course is the lessons from week 4 that focus on QGIS mapping tools. I learned quite a bit about the tool and feel much more comfortable using the tool. I would recommend this as an introductory course.

By Daniel M

Jun 23, 2020

The instructor was easy to listen to and understand. The course topic was well done. The last section on using GIS and putting together a map could have been a bit better written and easier to follow. It was a bit confusing and move a bit too fast.

By Gan X Y

May 12, 2020

A well-elaborated course and a great exposure to understand public health.

However, the last week of course on "Basic Mapping of Epidemiology Data" doesn't applicable to those out of US, just like me.

Nevertheless, I have learnt lot from the course.

By Giovanny R A

May 15, 2020

I liked so much this course because in my career in Public Health I need to understand the indicators and the form for use them. I liked the introduction for use GIS in Epidemiology too.

Thank you Mrs. Aruna, I hope to see you in another course.

By Shivaprakash Y

Apr 22, 2020

Its good courses for people who dont have medical background. Being GIS expert , we need domain knowledge of Epidemiology or Public health. With this requirement background, i joined this course. And it went well and will continue to learn.

By Joshua

Apr 15, 2020

Amazing, course. The hands-on learning makes this course stand out. I particularly enjoyed the GIS mapping activity towards the end, and now I want to learn more about spatial mapping for public health research! Would recommend to a friend.

By S J

Apr 7, 2020

It helped me (beginner in PH) a lot to develop my skills in creating GRAPHS, how to get the data from trusted sources (weblinks provided) and gettting the awareness of the real time scenario .. it built confidence in me ...THANK YOU SO MUCH