Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,976 ratings
734 reviews

About the Course

Everyday Parenting gives you access to a toolkit of behavior-change techniques that will make your typical day in the home easier as you develop the behaviors you would like to see in your child. The lessons provide step-by-step instructions and demonstrations to improve your course of action with both children and adolescents. Among many techniques, you will learn how even simple modifications to tone of voice and phrasing can lead to more compliance. The course will also shed light on many parenting misconceptions and ineffective strategies that are routinely used. The key to the course is practice. It is not enough to know the strategies; you have to do them to reap the rewards. Using the techniques on a temporary basis will lead to permanent change. Chances are your parenting is perfectly fine and working the way you would like. But if you have any frustrations with your child or would like improve your effectiveness in changing your child’s behavior, these videos will be a very useful guide. Subtitles available in Chinese and Spanish....

Top reviews

NB
Nov 6, 2019

Such amazing course, it’s useful and joyful to learn all the way through. I love it ! Thank you Coursera make learning easy to learn and share , I see the power of knowledge by E- sharing ! Wonderful!

SB
Oct 12, 2017

This is a must to do course for parents to be, parents and teachers. We need to build physically and mentally strong kids in future for this we need to adapt to these simple steps as per this course.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 729 Reviews for Everyday Parenting: The ABCs of Child Rearing

By Patricia W

Apr 22, 2019

very good

By Paulina F

Jan 27, 2019

Excellent

By Farah B

Jan 6, 2019

Wonderful

By Narelle S

May 7, 2018

Excellent

By Chioma M

Nov 19, 2020

awesome!

By Ana P J T

Aug 29, 2020

Love it!

By claudia e g f

May 25, 2020

Gracias!

By Georgios M

May 6, 2020

amazing!

By DAVID J R

May 4, 2020

¡Genial!

By Gennesis V

Apr 27, 2020

excelent

By yhy0077

Nov 26, 2019

非常好,很实用!

By uabti 2

Nov 19, 2017

Awesome!

By Connie G

Jun 3, 2020

I loved

By CHERUKU P

Jun 2, 2020

Useful

By Djurabayeva M

Jul 17, 2020

super

By EDEM A V

Jul 13, 2020

Great

By alejandro p

Feb 21, 2020

V

By Vivian H

Dec 28, 2020

Good course for a general take on parenting and offers some immediate tools. However, people coming to this resource may already be near the brink of needing stronger tools and intervention. A section highlighting where parents struggle the most or have the most resistance would be great. "My kid is melting down in a restaurant (store, etc.). What are my options?" or "My partner is not fully onboard, what is the best way to handle a situation where we disagree?" or "I am at step XYZ, and we seem to have lost progress or reversing course." Some was covered in the troubleshooting, but more modules on those would be useful.

By Ephie K

Feb 20, 2021

Overall very helpful, clear and motivating. The only thing I really missed was more diversity in the videos, especially parent / teacher / child inverviews or some videotaped examples of techniques - at the very least an example of a card and stickers.

The peer review part did not seem to be working though, I was only able to see one other assignment, but it would have been very helpful to read many more.

Thank you for the course!

By Mohammad T

Feb 6, 2018

I find this course pretty much useful for our day to day life. Lots of techniques are discussed here that can help parents and others in rearing children nicely. So I think those who are attending the course will be benefited too. Hope this course will be offered again in future for many more participants.

Thank you.

By Sonal D

Mar 12, 2020

This is a very good course for Parenting. Though all kids are different and there are no one technique suits all... this course suggests simple and easy to follow techniques. For example, something I loved to always keep in my mind is knowing and doing are different things.

By Khin

Feb 11, 2019

This course is very well designed with the clear intention to benefit parents and caregiver. Really appreciate the energy, enthusiasm and expert advise of the professor.

The assessments between the video makes things a lot easier to digest the concepts.

By Matthew D

Jul 16, 2020

This was a good course with a lot of useful/helpful information. There were typos in some of the transcripts, so for a paid course that was a little bit surprising, but overall this was an excellent course with many beneficial resources.

By Ji Y K

May 22, 2020

Good course, well explained and everything is easy to comprehend with simple examples. Would have liked a little more dynamic examples, perhaps with videos. Overall, it is a good course for parents dealing with young children.

By Jayme, C S

Jan 7, 2021

i have learned a lot from this course and hoping that i could apply everything that i have learned in the future. this was a great course and i recommend it to everyone especially to parents.