Chevron Left
Back to The Evolving Universe

The Evolving Universe, Caltech

4.6
411 ratings
87 reviews

About this Course

This is an introductory astronomy survey class that covers our understanding of the physical universe and its major constituents, including planetary systems, stars, galaxies, black holes, quasars, larger structures, and the universe as a whole....

Top reviews

By JH

Jul 16, 2017

Wonderful course! A brief introduction to cosmology but with plenty of material to cover. I recommend researching for papers additionally to the material, but you'll need more time than 4 weeks.

By AH

Oct 19, 2015

Took this professor's course in Galaxies and Cosmology which was for 2nd year physics majors. I think this course is a more general course for non-physics-majors. Excellent course!

Filter by:

86 Reviews

By Rich Ippolito

Mar 15, 2019

Too difficult for the non-science minded.

By JEFFERSON BATISTA RIBEIRO DA SILVA

Mar 15, 2019

Gostei bastante do curso. Tive um pouco de dificuldade em não ser falante fluente de Inglês, porém pude aproveitar bem as matérias.

By Jakob Gidlund

Feb 23, 2019

Lots of interesting knowledge in this Course, nicely presented from comets and planets to stars and stellar lifecycles, further on to galaxies, quasars and dark matter, to finally Big Bang, Inflation and Dark Energy.

Lots of facts are presented and adequately explained, not only to their nature, but also the important issue of "How do we know this, and how sure can we be?".

The exams focus on your understanding of the subject and how everything's connected, rather than the factual details or numbers.

By jessekeiderling

Feb 16, 2019

good course. good content

speed it up to 1.5 - 2 x speed

By Mauro Benjamin Mistretta

Jan 16, 2019

Videos are taken from classes in the university and sometimes not really clear.

I have found few questions in the Quiz whose subject has not been covered in class.

The professor, during the class, too often asks questions to the audience and that does not give any benefit to the student here.

I honestly regret having applied to this course.

By Witold Rajkiewicz

Dec 29, 2018

excellent review of modern astronomy.

By Kaustubh Rajesh Gupta

Oct 21, 2018

Excellent course for beginners. just one issue: the audio is very soft and is often hard to hear even in full volume. it would be appreciated if the audio could be increased a bit

By Bảo Trương

Sep 07, 2018

Useful for every beginners starting to follow their dream of astrophysics

By Som Dev

Jun 07, 2018

excellent

By Joseph Guarnieri

Jun 06, 2018

Great course overall. Detailed coverage of the subject. Learnt a great deal of information. There is alot of content to cover and hence not much time is spent reinforcing concepts. Also, marks arent recorded in the free version of the course to allow you to track how youre progressing. Waiting to see if notification appears in completions. So far i havent seen a notification of course completion under completions or achievements. This may take some time to appear though.